Cottage food law & license in Smith County, KS
What's in the Smith County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Smith County?
More Smith County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Smith County?
How to start in Smith County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Kansas cottage food rules in Smith County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Kansas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Almost all nonperishable (non-TCS) foods can be sold directly to consumers anywhere, including out-of-state sales (with additional requirements). Allowed products include most baked goods, candies, dried goods, condiments, jams and jellies, nuts, snacks, and certain other shelf-stable items. Some perishable foods are allowed with restrictions (ready-to-eat items at events up to 6 times/year; certain TCS products up to 6 days/year without a license).). Smith County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Smith County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: No. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Smith County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Kansas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Kansas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer required by Kansas (exact wording may be set by statute or agency)
- Labels must include: business address, business name, ingredients, net amount/weight, and product name. No specific 'not inspected' statement is required by state law, though KDA guidance recommends it.
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Kansas county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Kansas county rules quiz
Smith County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Kansas statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Smith County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Smith County cottage food rules with Kansas agencies?
Smith County is a county in Kansas (pop. 3,561). Under Kansas's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Kansas Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Smith County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Smith County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Smith County is a small, rural western Kansas county (pop. ~3,583). No county-specific cottage food or home occupation ordinance was found. Defaulting to Kansas state baseline. State law (K.S.A. §65-689(d)(4)) is permissive for non-TCS foods sold direct to consumer with no registration or sales cap. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Smith County?
Tier: Great
Kansas's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.
Kansas cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Smith County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Smith County
State baseline: K.S.A. §65-689(d)(4)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Kansas cottage food law (K.S.A. §65-689(d)(4)) allows direct-to-consumer sales of non-TCS foods from a home kitchen with no registration, no sales cap, and no inspection requirement. Producers must label products with name, address, and the statement that the product was not prepared in a licensed facility.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- No specific pet restriction in Kansas state cottage food law.
- Water supply
- No specific state cottage food water testing requirement.
- Handwashing
- No specific state handwashing mandate for cottage food producers.
- Food storage
- Non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled for safety) shelf-stable foods only.
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection; complaint-driven only per state baseline.
- Home occupation permit
- No
- Permit details
- Smith County is a small rural Kansas county. No county-specific cottage food ordinance or home occupation permit requirement for cottage food was identified. State law does not require registration or permit for direct-to-consumer cottage food sales.
- Local business license
- No
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Yes
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct sales only. Sales at farmers markets, home pickup, roadside stands, and events permitted. No wholesale or retail indirect sales.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state statute.
- Relevant code section
- No specific Smith County cottage food or home occupation ordinance identified.
Smith County is a small, rural western Kansas county (pop. ~3,583). No county-specific cottage food or home occupation ordinance was found. Defaulting to Kansas state baseline. State law (K.S.A. §65-689(d)(4)) is permissive for non-TCS foods sold direct to consumer with no registration or sales cap.
What does the Kansas cottage food statute say?
Kansas Statutes Annotated §65-689(d)(4) — Food Establishment License Exceptions (Cottage Food Exemption); accompanied by Kan. Admin. Regs. §4-28-33
Full Kansas License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptK.S.A. § 65-689. Same; license requirements, fees, inspections, denial, hearing, display; exceptions (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in the business of conducting a food establishment or food processing plant unless such person shall have in effect a valid license therefor issued by the secretary. [...] (d) A license shall not be required by: (1) A plant or facility registered or licensed by the department of agriculture pursuant to article 7 of chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto [...] (2) A registered nonprofit organization that provides food without charge solely to people who are food insecure [...] (3) A location where prepackaged individual meals are distributed to persons eligible under the federal older Americans act. (4) A person who produces food for distribution directly to the end consumer, if such food does not require time and temperature control for safety or specialized processing, as determined by the secretary. (5) A person who serves food exclusively on interstate conveyances or common carriers. (6) A person operating a food establishment for less than seven days in any calendar year. [...] Kan. Admin. Regs. § 4-28-33. Sanitation and hygiene requirements for exempt food establishments. Each food establishment exempted from licensure in K.S.A. 65-689, and amendments thereto, shall meet the following requirements: Food preparation areas shall be protected from environmental contamination, including rain, dust, and pests. Food contact surfaces, including cutting boards, utensils, and dishes, shall be cleaned, rinsed, and sanitized before food-handling activities begin and also as necessary.
Source: nationalaglawcenter.org/wp-content/uploads/assets/cottagefood/Kansas.pdf →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Smith County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeSmith County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Smith County, Kansas?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: No. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Smith County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Smith County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Smith County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Smith County. Ask Smith County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Kansas?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Smith County?
Apply through Smith County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Smith County, Kansas — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Kansas cottage food law in Smith County?
Almost all nonperishable (non-TCS) foods can be sold directly to consumers anywhere, including out-of-state sales (with additional requirements). Allowed products include most baked goods, candies, dried goods, condiments, jams and jellies, nuts, snacks, and certain other shelf-stable items. Some perishable foods are allowed with restrictions (ready-to-eat items at events up to 6 times/year; certain TCS products up to 6 days/year without a license). County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Kansas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Smith County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: No routine inspection; complaint-driven only per state baseline.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Kansas report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeSmith County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Smith County.
Download county reportFull Kansas License & Permit Guide (275 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Smith County.
Kansas law pageFree email alerts
Smith County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Smith County, with Kansas statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Smith County page based on?
Where to verify Smith County rules
Smith County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Smith County This county | Osborne County | Jewell County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No specific pet restriction in Kansas state cottage food law. | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Yes | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct sales only. Sales at farmers markets, home pickup, roadside stands, and events permitted. No wholesale or retail indirect sales. | Direct delivery to consumer permitted in-state | Direct delivery to consumer permitted in-state |
| Home occupation permit | No | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | No | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Kansas cottage food law (K.S.A. §65-689(d)(4)) allows direct-to-consumer sales of non-TCS foods from a home kitchen with no registration, n… | No sales cap. No food handler cert required. Direct-to-consumer sales only; allowed at farm, farmers market, roadside stand, home, and even… | No sales cap. No food handler cert required. Direct-to-consumer sales only; allowed at farm, farmers market, roadside stand, home, and even… |
| Food storage | Non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled for safety) shelf-stable foods only. | Appropriate storage to maintain product safety | Appropriate storage to maintain product safety |
| Population | 3,583 | 3,421 | 2,920 |
What other Kansas counties can I compare?
Other Kansas counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Smith County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Kansas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Smith County bakers?
Smith County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Smith County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Smith County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Smith County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Smith County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Smith County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Smith County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Smith County
- Check with Smith County business license office
- Check with Smith County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Kansas
- Selling to stores: check with Kansas Department of Agriculture
Smith County
- Check with Smith County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Kansas
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Kansas Department of Agriculture
Smith County
- Check with Smith County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Kansas · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Kansas Department of Agriculture.
Kansas · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Kansas Department of Agriculture.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.