Cottage food law & license in Cherokee County, AL
Crosodo ladder · not a license
How the ladder works- 0Not selling
- 1Sell from home
- 2Stores & markets
- 3Commercial kitchen
Most bakers start here. Step 2: check your county.
What do you want to do?
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz.
File with Cherokee County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Cherokee County environmental health(alabamapublichealth.gov)Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Permit Guide PDF after checkout
Can I sell this in Cherokee County?
All products in Alabama →What's in the Cherokee County permit report


How to start in Cherokee County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Alabama cottage food rules in Cherokee County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Alabama cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment.). Cherokee County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Cherokee County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Cherokee County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Alabama disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Alabama label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer required by Alabama (exact wording may be set by statute or agency)
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Cherokee County is a county in Alabama (pop. 25,069). Under Alabama's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Alabama Department of Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Cherokee County health and planning requirements via the health department links on this page. Local notes for Cherokee County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Cherokee County is a rural county in northeast Alabama. State law governs cottage food. No county-level overrides found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
Cherokee County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Cherokee County.
Download county reportFull Alabama License & Permit Guide (189 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Cherokee County.
Alabama law pageTier: Good
Alabama has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Alabama cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Cherokee County
State baseline: Ala. Code §22-20-5.1 (AL cottage food law)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Must produce non-potentially hazardous foods only (no meat/poultry/fish). Sales direct to consumer only within Alabama. Must complete ADPH-approved food safety course. Must submit cottage food review form to Cherokee County Health Department.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state statute.
- Water supply
- Not specified in state statute.
- Handwashing
- Not specified in state statute; covered by food safety course.
- Food storage
- Not specifically regulated.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- Cottage food operations not subject to routine inspection per §22-20-5.1(b).
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- No state requirement. Cherokee County is rural/mountainous in northeast Alabama. No county-level home occupation ordinance found.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Yes
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct to consumer only within Alabama.
- Max employees in home
- Not regulated at state level for cottage food.
- Relevant code section
- Ala. Code §22-20-5.1
Cherokee County is a rural county in northeast Alabama. State law governs cottage food. No county-level overrides found.
Alabama Cottage Food Production Law
Full Alabama License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt(a) For purposes of this section, the following words have the following meanings: (1) COTTAGE FOOD. A non-potentially hazardous food that has been prepared in a person's home that does not require time or temperature control for safety to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation and that does not include meat, poultry, or fish. The term includes all of the following: a. Cakes, breads, Danish pastries, donuts, pastries, and pies. b. Jam, jellies, and fruit preserves. c. Candy. d. Dried and dehydrated herbs, herb mixes, vegetables, or fruits. e. Roasted coffee. f. Dried baking mixes. g. Fermented or preserved vegetables or fruit that do not result in the production of alcohol and that have an acidity level allowed by the department. (2) COTTAGE FOOD PRODUCTION OPERATION. A person operating out of his or her home who meets the following requirements: a. Produces cottage food for sale. b. Sells the foods produced under paragraph a. only directly to consumers, whether in-person, by phone, or online, in the state. c. Delivers the foods produced under paragraph a. directly to consumers in the state, whether in person, through an agent of the producer, or by mail. (b) A cottage food production operation is not a food service establishment and is not required to have a food service permit issued by the county health department. (c) Neither the State Department of Public Health nor a county health department may regulate the production of food at a cottage food production operation except as provided by this section.
Source: law.justia.com/codes/alabama/title-22/title-1/chapter-20/section-22-20-5-1/ →
Cherokee County Permit Guide — $26 $13
Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
This page stays free. One-time $26 · this county’s PDF + workspace · add other counties free
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs it
Cherokee County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Cherokee County, Alabama?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Cherokee County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Cherokee County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Cherokee County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Cherokee County. Ask Cherokee County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Alabama?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Cherokee County?
Apply via Cherokee County environmental health (alabamapublichealth.gov). Official link: https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/cherokee/. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Alabama cottage food law in Cherokee County?
Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Alabama, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Cherokee County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: Cottage food operations not subject to routine inspection per §22-20-5.1(b).. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
These two are only if you also sell in other counties.
Full Alabama PDF (189 pages) — not just Cherokee County.

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Alabama License & Permit Guide (189 pages).

Where to verify Cherokee County rules
Cherokee County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Cherokee County This county | Cleburne County | DeKalb County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state statute. | Not specified in state statute. | Not specified in state law |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Yes | Yes | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct to consumer only within Alabama. | Direct to consumer only within Alabama. | In-state delivery and shipping permitted; online sales allowed |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Must produce non-potentially hazardous foods only (no meat/poultry/fish). Sales direct to consumer only within Alabama. Must complete ADPH-… | Must produce non-potentially hazardous foods only (no meat/poultry/fish). Sales direct to consumer only within Alabama. Must complete ADPH-… | No sales cap. Specific food handler course required. No kitchen inspection required. Direct sales only; no wholesale. Prohibited: meat, pou… |
| Food storage | Not specifically regulated. | Not specifically regulated. | Appropriate storage for shelf-stable products |
| Population | 25,069 | 15,144 | 71,680 |
Cherokee County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Cherokee County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Other Alabama counties
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Advertise here
Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise in Cherokee County, Alabama
Reach home bakers in Cherokee County, Alabama. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.
Learn about placementsYour business here
Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.
Post in the local discussionAds are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Alabama's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.