Cottage food law & license in DeKalb County, AL
What's in the DeKalb County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in DeKalb County?
More DeKalb County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in DeKalb County?
How to start in DeKalb County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Alabama cottage food rules in DeKalb County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Alabama cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment.). DeKalb County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in DeKalb County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in DeKalb County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Alabama disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Alabama label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer required by Alabama (exact wording may be set by statute or agency)
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Alabama county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Alabama county rules quiz
DeKalb County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Alabama statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a DeKalb County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify DeKalb County cottage food rules with Alabama agencies?
DeKalb County is a county in Alabama (pop. 71,680). Under Alabama's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Alabama Department of Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm DeKalb County health and planning requirements. Local notes for DeKalb County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Alabama Good-tier state. No county-specific sources available. State law allows online/in-state shipping since 2021 amendment. Food handler cert required. Pattern-verified county with no county-specific overrides found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in DeKalb County?
Tier: Good
Alabama has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Alabama cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the DeKalb County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for DeKalb County
State baseline: Ala. Code §22-20-5.1
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- No sales cap. Specific food handler course required. No kitchen inspection required. Direct sales only; no wholesale. Prohibited: meat, poultry, fish, perishable foods, low-acid canned goods. Acidified foods (pickles, etc.) require pH testing. Online and in-state shipping permitted since 2021 amendment.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state law
- Water supply
- Standard residential water supply
- Handwashing
- Required as part of food handler course
- Food storage
- Appropriate storage for shelf-stable products
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection; complaint-based investigation possible
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- No county govt URL provided. DeKalb County unincorporated areas would follow county zoning for home occupation. City of Fort Payne has its own zoning. No county-specific cottage food overlay found.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- In-state delivery and shipping permitted; online sales allowed
- Max employees in home
- Not specified
- Relevant code section
- Not identified
Alabama Good-tier state. No county-specific sources available. State law allows online/in-state shipping since 2021 amendment. Food handler cert required. Pattern-verified county with no county-specific overrides found.
What does the Alabama cottage food statute say?
Alabama Cottage Food Production Law
Full Alabama License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt(a) For purposes of this section, the following words have the following meanings: (1) COTTAGE FOOD. A non-potentially hazardous food that has been prepared in a person's home that does not require time or temperature control for safety to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation and that does not include meat, poultry, or fish. The term includes all of the following: a. Cakes, breads, Danish pastries, donuts, pastries, and pies. b. Jam, jellies, and fruit preserves. c. Candy. d. Dried and dehydrated herbs, herb mixes, vegetables, or fruits. e. Roasted coffee. f. Dried baking mixes. g. Fermented or preserved vegetables or fruit that do not result in the production of alcohol and that have an acidity level allowed by the department. (2) COTTAGE FOOD PRODUCTION OPERATION. A person operating out of his or her home who meets the following requirements: a. Produces cottage food for sale. b. Sells the foods produced under paragraph a. only directly to consumers, whether in-person, by phone, or online, in the state. c. Delivers the foods produced under paragraph a. directly to consumers in the state, whether in person, through an agent of the producer, or by mail. (b) A cottage food production operation is not a food service establishment and is not required to have a food service permit issued by the county health department. (c) Neither the State Department of Public Health nor a county health department may regulate the production of food at a cottage food production operation except as provided by this section.
Source: law.justia.com/codes/alabama/title-22/title-1/chapter-20/section-22-20-5-1/ →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. DeKalb County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeDeKalb County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in DeKalb County, Alabama?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with DeKalb County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in DeKalb County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in DeKalb County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for DeKalb County. Ask DeKalb County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Alabama?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in DeKalb County?
Apply through DeKalb County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for DeKalb County, Alabama — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Alabama cottage food law in DeKalb County?
Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Alabama, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in DeKalb County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection; complaint-based investigation possible. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Alabama report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeDeKalb County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for DeKalb County.
Download county reportFull Alabama License & Permit Guide (189 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside DeKalb County.
Alabama law pageFree email alerts
DeKalb County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in DeKalb County, with Alabama statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this DeKalb County page based on?
Where to verify DeKalb County rules
DeKalb County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | DeKalb County This county | Jackson County | Marshall County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state law | Not explicitly restricted by state law, but standard sanitation applies. Alabama state law does not have an explicit pet ban unlike NC. | No specific state restriction, but county health approval process may review kitchen conditions. |
| Inspection required | No | No | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Conditional | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | No | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | In-state delivery and shipping permitted; online sales allowed | Customer pickup allowed but no stock-in-trade may be displayed or stored on premises per home occupation rules. Goods transported by U.S. m… | Direct sales only. In-state online sales and shipping allowed per 2021 amendment. Home pickup, farmers markets, and events permitted. |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | Yes | Conditional |
| Local business license | Varies | Yes | Varies |
| Restrictions | No sales cap. Specific food handler course required. No kitchen inspection required. Direct sales only; no wholesale. Prohibited: meat, pou… | Must use primary residence kitchen with residential appliances. No commercial equipment permitted. Must complete state-approved food safety… | Alabama cottage food law (§22-20-5.1, 2021 amendment): no sales cap, direct sales only (no wholesale). Must complete state-approved food sa… |
| Food storage | Appropriate storage for shelf-stable products | Standard residential kitchen storage; products must remain non-potentially hazardous (no refrigeration required). | Non-potentially hazardous shelf-stable foods only; must prevent contamination. |
| Population | 71,680 | 52,618 | 97,923 |
What other Alabama counties can I compare?
Other Alabama counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this DeKalb County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Alabama's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other DeKalb County bakers?
DeKalb County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about DeKalb County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in DeKalb County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in DeKalb County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about DeKalb County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in DeKalb County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
DeKalb County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
DeKalb County
- Check with DeKalb County business license office
- Check with DeKalb County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Alabama
- Selling to stores: check with Alabama Department of Public Health
DeKalb County
- Check with DeKalb County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Alabama
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Alabama Department of Public Health
DeKalb County
- Check with DeKalb County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Alabama · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Alabama Department of Public Health.
Alabama · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Alabama Department of Public Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.