Crosodocrosodo
Research9 min read·August 19, 2026
Sarah Baker · Compliance research

Do pets block a microbakery? A 50-state look at the kitchen rule people actually mean

In a lot of counties the story is that you need a separate room for the dog. That is usually not the written cottage-food rule. Here is what state law actually says — and the few paths that really are a dwelling-level ban.

Short answer
Sometimes, not usually. For most cottage-food exemptions the written rule is *pets out of the kitchen while you are producing* — not “get rid of the dog” and not “build a second kitchen.” The hard disqualifier is a smaller set of inspected home-processor / home-bakery paths. Sales caps, allowed foods, and inspections are usually the bigger barriers. If you have indoor pets and you need one of those inspected paths, pets can be *the* blocker.
Download Pets and Microbakeries 2026 (PDF)
Free 50-state + DC survey — official sources, path splits, and what “separate room” actually means. Sign in required.

People say this a lot in county Facebook groups: *I would start a microbakery, but they make you keep the pets in a separate room from the kitchen.* That sentence mixes three different rules. One is real and common. One is real and rare. One is folklore.

  1. During production (common). While bread is in the mixer, the dog is not in the kitchen. Children, laundry, and dinner service wait. After you pack the last loaf, the kitchen is a home kitchen again. Kentucky writes this in 902 KAR 45:090. Oregon writes it in ORS 616.723 and then *requires a label that names the pet species*. Washington’s RCW 69.22 keeps everyone but the permittee out of the kitchen during processing.
  2. Dwelling ban (rare). Pets that come into the home at any time — even overnight — disqualify the path. North Carolina’s Home Processor program is the national example. NCDA&CS says so on the official Home Processor page and treats indoor pets as pests under 21 CFR 117 Subpart B. Ohio’s $10 Home Bakery license (refrigerated bakery, not cottage food) says no pets in the home.
  3. Separate dedicated kitchen (almost never the cottage-food rule). Cottage-food statutes are built around the *home* kitchen. A latching door between the kitchen and the rest of the house (Virginia’s inspected VDACS home-food-processing materials) is not the same thing as building a commissary in the garage.

Is this a county rule or a state rule?

Mostly state-level. We already store a `pet_restrictions` sentence on every county in the zoning file. When you read all 3,143 of them, you do not get 3,143 local pet ordinances. You get a few hundred unique sentences, and most of those are the same state baseline copied onto every county: “not specified,” “GMP applies,” “state baseline applies.”

True county or town overlays show up where local health actually administers the cottage-food start — California Class A/B environmental health, Alabama county label approval, Massachusetts boards of health, Illinois local health registration. Even there, the usual written line is still “no animals in the food-prep area during operations,” not a county-by-county separate-room building code.

Look up your county anyway
The rule is usually the state’s. The sentence on file for your county can still be the one an inspector printed on a checklist. Use the pets-in-the-kitchen picker — same county list as What permits, including independent cities. Fairfax City is not Fairfax County.

What the 50-state survey found

Statute silent
18 jurisdictions — food-freedom and no-permit cottage laws that never mention pets (TX, FL, GA after HB 398, WY, TN, AR…)
Recommended only
12 — agency or GMP language says keep pets out while you bake; the cottage statute does not
Written during production
6 — CA, KY, LA, NH, OR, WA
Inspector may require
9 — CT, DE, DC, HI, MA, NJ, PA, RI, plus AL county approval
Path split
5 — ME, NY, OH, VA, VT (cottage/exemption vs inspected home bakery / processor)
Dwelling disqualify
1 — North Carolina Home Processor

Add silent + recommended and you get 30 of 51 jurisdictions where pets are not a written cottage-food limiter. That is the typical U.S. county. The baker who cannot start because of the dog is usually on North Carolina Home Processor, Ohio Home Bakery (not Ohio cottage food), or an inspected residential-kitchen permit in a New England or Mid-Atlantic state.

Directory
Browse the free cottage food directory

50 states + DC, county zoning, and free PDF reports.

Get the full PDF — 51-row table and sources
Every state headline, cottage path, inspected-path note, and official URL.

The states people actually mean

North Carolina — the whole house, at any time

North Carolina does not have a cottage-food *statute*. It has a Home Processor inspection. NCDA&CS asks, on the official page: *Do you have a pet that comes into your home at any time (even if only at night)?* If yes, you cannot manufacture from that kitchen. Indoor pets are classified as pests under 21 CFR 117 Subpart B as the agency applies it to a house. A closed bedroom door is not the workaround the program describes. The usual workaround is a commissary.

Ohio — two paths, only one is a pet ban

Ohio cottage food (shelf-stable bakery) does not mention pets and does not inspect. Ohio Home Bakery (O.R.C. 911.02, $10/year) is for refrigerated bakery — cheesecake, cream pie, pumpkin pie. ODA’s Home Bakery page: *No pets are permitted in the home.* If you only sell cottage-food loaves, the Home Bakery sentence does not apply. If you need the Home Bakery license, it does.

Oregon — pets stay; the label names them

ORS 616.723 says the department may not prohibit sales because pets live in the dwelling, and shall keep pets out of the food-preparation area. ODA’s cottage-food FAQ (Q22) repeats it and requires the label to declare the species — dog, cat, rabbit. That is the opposite of a dwelling ban, and it is the cleanest statute in the country on this question.

Virginia — a latching door on the inspected path

VDACS home-food-processing permit materials talk about excluding pets from prep, storage, packaging, and equipment-cleaning areas, often via a solid latching door. That is the inspected home-processor path, not a folklore “you must have a second kitchen” cottage rule. Independent cities (Fairfax City, Alexandria, Virginia Beach) are their own government. Do not read a Fairfax County note onto Fairfax City.

What is usually the actual limiter

If you already have indoor pets and you are trying to stay on a no-permit cottage-food path, pets are rarely the thing that stops you. The things that stop people are still the ones on the What permits stack:

  • The food is not on the allowed list (cream fillings, cheesecake, bone broth)
  • The sales cap is too low for the plan
  • The state requires a license and an inspection you did not budget
  • Zoning / home-occupation / a local business license
  • You need wholesale, interstate, or a storefront — which is not cottage food

Pets become *the* limiter when the only legal path for that product is an inspected home processor or home bakery that applies food-manufacturing GMP to the whole dwelling. That is a real, documented problem in North Carolina. It is a real problem on Ohio Home Bakery. It is not the default rule in Texas, Florida, or Georgia after HB 398.

This is not about selling pet treats
Household pets in a human-food kitchen are a different legal topic from selling pet treats. Minnesota and Virginia have separate pet-food tracks. Do not mix the two.

How to use the lookup

We built a picker and a county page for this one question — same 3,143 counties and independent cities as the rest of Crosodo. Each page leads with the state rule, says whether a separate room is actually required, and only treats the county zoning sentence as an overlay when it is not “state baseline / not specified.” Empty cells stay empty. We do not invent a county pet ban.

Look up pets in your kitchen
State + county picker · 50-state table · official sources

How to cite

Suggested citation: Crosodo Research, *Pets and Microbakeries 2026* (August 2026), available at crosodo.com/reports/pets-and-microbakeries-2026.pdf. Confirm the live agency page before you change housing or turn down a path. Rules change. This is not legal advice.

Crosodo Journal entries are recipe, craft, and cottage-food notes for home bakers. Recipes assume an active starter and basic equipment. Cottage food sales are governed by your state's law — start with the free state directory, check a product with Can I sell this?, or grab a label template. Not legal advice.

more from the blog

keep reading

Research

Cottage Food Permit Statistics 2026: how many home bakers are actually permitted?

New Crosodo national report: hard counts of cottage food permits and registrations by state, Minnesota’s 10-year churn series, and why “a few thousand permits per state per year” is only true in a handful of programs.

Business

Cottage food vs. commercial kitchen: when to switch

A practical, numbers-driven guide for home bakers deciding whether to outgrow cottage food and move to a commercial or shared-use kitchen. Includes the 4 trigger points, real cost comparisons, and the tax/insurance math.

Business

Top 50 Most Baker-Friendly Counties (Crosodo Index 2026)

Our data-driven Crosodo Index ranks U.S. counties by how permissive the combined state + local rules are for home cottage food bakers. Here are the current top 50 — plus where else we're surfacing the Index across the site.

Research

Is marshmallow fluff with butter shelf-stable?

Cottage bakers treat fluff-and-butter filling like American buttercream. The law does not name that mix. The test is whether the finished filling needs time or temperature control — and fluff is not the same food as handmade marshmallows.

Research

Cottage Food Fees 2026: what 3,143 counties actually charge to start

New Crosodo national report: 2,508 counties are a researched $0 cottage-food application fee. Eight states publish a flat dollar. California and a handful of local-health states leave the cell empty on purpose.

Research

Official cottage food label examples

A visual gallery of real cottage food labels from official state, county, state-library, and public-university sources—with currency notes and direct links.