crosodo
County · Seat: Saint John · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Stafford County, KS

Inside the permit report

What's in the Stafford County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Stafford County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Stafford County
Table of contents
Your Stafford County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Stafford County?

All products in Kansas →
More Stafford County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Stafford County?
Start here

How to start in Stafford County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Kansas cottage food rules in Stafford County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Kansas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Almost all nonperishable (non-TCS) foods can be sold directly to consumers anywhere, including out-of-state sales (with additional requirements). Allowed products include most baked goods, candies, dried goods, condiments, jams and jellies, nuts, snacks, and certain other shelf-stable items. Some perishable foods are allowed with restrictions (ready-to-eat items at events up to 6 times/year; certain TCS products up to 6 days/year without a license).). Stafford County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Stafford County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: No. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Stafford County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Kansas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Kansas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer required by Kansas (exact wording may be set by statute or agency)
  • Labels must include: business address, business name, ingredients, net amount/weight, and product name. No specific 'not inspected' statement is required by state law, though KDA guidance recommends it.

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Kansas county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Kansas county rules quiz

Stafford County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Kansas statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Stafford County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Stafford County cottage food rules with Kansas agencies?

Stafford County is a county in Kansas (pop. 4,054). Under Kansas's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Kansas Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Stafford County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Stafford County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Stafford County is a small, rural south-central Kansas county (pop. ~4,129). No county-specific cottage food or home occupation ordinance was found. Defaulting to Kansas state baseline. State law (K.S.A. §65-689(d)(4)) is permissive for non-TCS foods sold direct to consumer with no registration or sales cap. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Stafford County?
State law applies

Tier: Great

Kansas's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Kansas cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Stafford County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Stafford County

State baseline: K.S.A. §65-689(d)(4)

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Kansas cottage food law (K.S.A. §65-689(d)(4)) allows direct-to-consumer sales of non-TCS foods from a home kitchen with no registration, no sales cap, and no inspection requirement. Products must be labeled with producer name, address, and a disclaimer that the food was not prepared in a licensed facility.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific pet restriction in Kansas state cottage food law.
Water supply
No specific state cottage food water testing requirement.
Handwashing
No specific state handwashing mandate for cottage food producers.
Food storage
Non-TCS (non-temperature-controlled for safety) shelf-stable foods only.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection; complaint-driven only per state baseline.
Home occupation permit
No
Permit details
Stafford County is a small rural Kansas county. No county-specific cottage food ordinance or home occupation permit requirement for cottage food was identified. State law does not require registration or permit for direct-to-consumer cottage food sales.
Local business license
No
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Yes
Delivery / pickup
Direct sales only. Sales at farmers markets, home pickup, roadside stands, and events permitted. No wholesale or retail indirect sales.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state statute.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
No specific Stafford County cottage food or home occupation ordinance identified.
Local notes

Stafford County is a small, rural south-central Kansas county (pop. ~4,129). No county-specific cottage food or home occupation ordinance was found. Defaulting to Kansas state baseline. State law (K.S.A. §65-689(d)(4)) is permissive for non-TCS foods sold direct to consumer with no registration or sales cap.

What does the Kansas cottage food statute say?
Kansas statute (state law)

Kansas Statutes Annotated §65-689(d)(4) — Food Establishment License Exceptions (Cottage Food Exemption); accompanied by Kan. Admin. Regs. §4-28-33

Citation: K.S.A. §65-657
Verbatim excerpt

K.S.A. § 65-689. Same; license requirements, fees, inspections, denial, hearing, display; exceptions (a) It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in the business of conducting a food establishment or food processing plant unless such person shall have in effect a valid license therefor issued by the secretary. [...] (d) A license shall not be required by: (1) A plant or facility registered or licensed by the department of agriculture pursuant to article 7 of chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto [...] (2) A registered nonprofit organization that provides food without charge solely to people who are food insecure [...] (3) A location where prepackaged individual meals are distributed to persons eligible under the federal older Americans act. (4) A person who produces food for distribution directly to the end consumer, if such food does not require time and temperature control for safety or specialized processing, as determined by the secretary. (5) A person who serves food exclusively on interstate conveyances or common carriers. (6) A person operating a food establishment for less than seven days in any calendar year. [...] Kan. Admin. Regs. § 4-28-33. Sanitation and hygiene requirements for exempt food establishments. Each food establishment exempted from licensure in K.S.A. 65-689, and amendments thereto, shall meet the following requirements: Food preparation areas shall be protected from environmental contamination, including rain, dust, and pests. Food contact surfaces, including cutting boards, utensils, and dishes, shall be cleaned, rinsed, and sanitized before food-handling activities begin and also as necessary.

Source: nationalaglawcenter.org/wp-content/uploads/assets/cottagefood/Kansas.pdf →
Full Kansas License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Stafford County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Stafford County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Stafford County, Kansas?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: No. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Stafford County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Stafford County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Stafford County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Stafford County. Ask Stafford County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Kansas?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Stafford County?

Apply through Stafford County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Stafford County, Kansas — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Kansas cottage food law in Stafford County?

Almost all nonperishable (non-TCS) foods can be sold directly to consumers anywhere, including out-of-state sales (with additional requirements). Allowed products include most baked goods, candies, dried goods, condiments, jams and jellies, nuts, snacks, and certain other shelf-stable items. Some perishable foods are allowed with restrictions (ready-to-eat items at events up to 6 times/year; certain TCS products up to 6 days/year without a license). County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Kansas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Stafford County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: No routine inspection; complaint-driven only per state baseline.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Stafford County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Kansas report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Stafford County cottage food reports

What permits in Stafford County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Stafford County county cottage food report
Stafford County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Stafford County.

Download county report
Cover of Kansas cottage food law PDF report
Kansas state report

Full Kansas License & Permit Guide (275 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Stafford County.

Kansas law page

Free email alerts

Stafford County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Stafford County, with Kansas statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Stafford County page based on?
Quick comparison

Stafford County vs. bordering counties

RegulationStafford County
This county
Edwards CountyPawnee County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific pet restriction in Kansas state cottage food law.No specific pet restriction in state cottage food law; good sanitary practices required.Not specified in state law
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageYesConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect sales only. Sales at farmers markets, home pickup, roadside stands, and events permitted. No wholesale or retail indirect sales.Direct-to-consumer only. Sales allowed at home, farmers markets, events, roadside stands, online with delivery within Kansas. No wholesale …Direct delivery to consumer permitted in-state
Home occupation permitNoVariesVaries
Local business licenseNoVariesVaries
RestrictionsKansas cottage food law (K.S.A. §65-689(d)(4)) allows direct-to-consumer sales of non-TCS foods from a home kitchen with no registration, n…Kansas exempts non-TCS (shelf-stable) homemade foods sold direct-to-consumer from food establishment licensing requirements (K.S.A. §65-689…No sales cap. No food handler cert required. Direct-to-consumer sales only; allowed at farm, farmers market, roadside stand, home, and even…
Food storageNon-TCS (non-temperature-controlled for safety) shelf-stable foods only.Non-TCS (shelf-stable) foods only; no refrigeration-required products.Appropriate storage to maintain product safety
Population4,1292,8496,347
What other Kansas counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Kansas counties

Kansas
Pop. 611K
Kansas
Pop. 523K
Kansas
Pop. 179K
Kansas
Pop. 168K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Stafford County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Kansas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Stafford County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Stafford County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Stafford County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Stafford County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Stafford County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Stafford County, Kansas?
Yes — Kansas allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no home occupation permit required. Last verified May 6, 2026. Confirm with Kansas Department of Agriculture and the Stafford County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Stafford County?
Your Stafford County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Stafford County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Stafford County? State vs county rules and pets
Kansas rule (statewide)Stafford County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Stafford County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Stafford County

    • Check with Stafford County business license office

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Kansas Department of Agriculture — Food Sales at Farmers'… · Home occupations that are customarily incidental to the p…

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Kansas

    • Selling to stores: check with Kansas Department of Agriculture

    Stafford County

    • Check with Stafford County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Kansas

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Kansas Department of Agriculture

    Stafford County

    • Check with Stafford County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Kansas · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Kansas Department of Agriculture.

    Kansas · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Kansas Department of Agriculture.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.