Cottage food law & license in Baltimore city, MD
What's in the Baltimore City permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Baltimore city?
More Baltimore city resources
What's new for Maryland cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Baltimore city?
How to start in Baltimore city
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Maryland cottage food rules in Baltimore city. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Maryland cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially hazardous foods prepared in a residential kitchen, including non-PHF baked goods (breads, cookies, cakes, pies without perishable fillings), non-PHF candy (hard candies, brittles), acid-fruit jellies, jams, preserves and butters from enumerated fruits, and all other non-PHF foods produced by a licensed entity. Dry goods (spice blends, coffee, teas) and certain snacks (kettle corn, granola) are also permitted.). Baltimore city cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $100,000. On-site / porch pickup in Baltimore city: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Depends. Local inspection in Baltimore city: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Maryland disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Maryland label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made by a cottage food business that is not subject to Maryland's food safety regulations.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Maryland county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Maryland county rules quiz
Baltimore city does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Maryland statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Baltimore city quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Baltimore city cottage food rules with Maryland agencies?
Baltimore city is a county in Maryland (pop. 584,548). Under Maryland's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 100000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Depends. Start with Maryland Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Baltimore city health and planning requirements. Local notes for Baltimore city: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Baltimore City is an independent city in Maryland (not part of any county). Same state baseline as Anne Arundel County. Maryland state cottage food guidelines explicitly say operators must comply with county/municipal laws and contact local zoning. Baltimore City has its own health department and zoning authority. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Baltimore city?
Tier: Good
Maryland has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Maryland cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Baltimore city zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Baltimore city
State baseline: MD COMAR 10.15.03.27
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Non-potentially hazardous foods only. $50,000 annual gross sales cap. Must comply with all applicable city laws and ordinances. Baltimore City is an independent city with its own health department regulations.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- No specific state cottage food pet restriction; general sanitation standards
- Water supply
- Municipal water supply (Baltimore City); no separate testing requirement for cottage food
- Handwashing
- Recommended but not explicitly required by state regulation
- Food storage
- Standard home kitchen storage for approved non-PHF foods
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- Complaint-based inspection only per Maryland state cottage food guidelines; Baltimore City Health Department may also have authority
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Baltimore City is an independent city (equivalent to a county) with its own health department and zoning code. Maryland state guidelines direct producers to 'contact your local permits, licensing and zoning department.' Baltimore City Zoning Code governs home occupations. Cottage food businesses must comply with city zoning, and a home occupation permit or business license from Baltimore City may be required. Baltimore City Health Department may have additional requirements.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct-to-consumer sales: home, farmers markets, public events, personal delivery, mail order within Maryland. Sales to retail stores require MDH review. $50,000 annual cap. No out-of-state sales.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state cottage food law
- Relevant code section
- Baltimore City Zoning Code (home occupation provisions). State: MD COMAR 10.15.03.27.
Baltimore City is an independent city in Maryland (not part of any county). Same state baseline as Anne Arundel County. Maryland state cottage food guidelines explicitly say operators must comply with county/municipal laws and contact local zoning. Baltimore City has its own health department and zoning authority.
What does the Maryland cottage food statute say?
Code of Maryland Regulations 10.15.03.27 - Farmer's Market, Bake Sales, and Cottage Food Business
Full Maryland License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptA. A cottage food business may offer for sale the homemade foods specified in §B of this regulation when the foods are: (1) Made in a private home kitchen; and (2) Offered or sold only in the State: (a) Subject to the requirements of §C(6) and (7) of this regulation, at a retail food store; or (b) Directly to a consumer: (i) At a farmer's market; (ii) At a bake sale; (iii) At a public event; (iv) By personal delivery; or (v) By mail order. B. The Department shall allow the preparation and sale of the following foods in accordance with §A: (1) Non-potentially hazardous hot-filled canned acid fruit jellies, jams, preserves, and butters; (2) Fruit butters made only from apples, apricots, grapes, peaches, plums, prunes, quince, or another fruit or fruit mixture that will produce an acid canned food; (4) Non-potentially hazardous baked goods; (6) Non-potentially hazardous candy. C. (1) The Department shall allow the owner of a cottage food business to sell only cottage food products processed and packaged in Maryland that are: (a) Produced or packaged in a residential kitchen; (b) Stored on the premises of the cottage food business; and (c) Prepackaged with a label that contains: name and address of the cottage food business or name, phone number, and identification number assigned by the Department; name of the product; ingredients in descending order by weight; net weight or volume; allergen information; nutritional information if any claim is made; and printed in 10 point or larger type: "Made by a cottage food business that is not subject to Maryland's food safety regulations." (6) Before the owner of a cottage food business may sell a cottage food product to a retail food store, the owner shall submit to the Department documentation of the owner's successful completion of a food safety course in the past 3 years approved by the Department and the American National Standards Institute.
Source: regs.maryland.gov/us/md/exec/comar/10.15.03.27 →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Baltimore City’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeBaltimore city cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Baltimore city, Maryland?
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Baltimore City is an independent city (equivalent to a county) with its own health department and zoning code. Maryland state guidelines direct producers to 'contact your local permits, licensing and zoning department.' Baltimore City Zoning Code governs home occupations. Cottage food businesses must comply with city zoning, and a home occupation permit or business license from Baltimore City may be required. Baltimore City Health Department may have additional requirements. State cottage food registration may also apply.
What cottage food path applies in Baltimore city?
Maryland cottage food rules are listed on this page. Follow the registration path shown here.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Baltimore city?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Baltimore city. Ask Baltimore city environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Maryland?
$100,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Baltimore city?
Apply through Baltimore city environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Baltimore city, Maryland — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Maryland cottage food law in Baltimore city?
Non-potentially hazardous foods prepared in a residential kitchen, including non-PHF baked goods (breads, cookies, cakes, pies without perishable fillings), non-PHF candy (hard candies, brittles), acid-fruit jellies, jams, preserves and butters from enumerated fruits, and all other non-PHF foods produced by a licensed entity. Dry goods (spice blends, coffee, teas) and certain snacks (kettle corn, granola) are also permitted. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Maryland, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Baltimore city?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Complaint-based inspection only per Maryland state cottage food guidelines; Baltimore City Health Department may also have authority. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Maryland report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeBaltimore city cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Baltimore city.
Download county reportFull Maryland License & Permit Guide (82 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Baltimore city.
Maryland law pageFree email alerts
Baltimore city Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Baltimore city, with Maryland statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Baltimore city page based on?
Where to verify Baltimore city rules
Baltimore city vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Baltimore City This county | Anne Arundel County | Baltimore County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No specific state cottage food pet restriction; general sanitation standards | No specific state cottage food pet restriction; general sanitation standards | Not specified; standard sanitation applies |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct-to-consumer sales: home, farmers markets, public events, personal delivery, mail order within Maryland. Sales to retail stores requi… | Direct-to-consumer sales: home, farmers markets, public events, personal delivery, mail order within Maryland. Sales to retail stores requi… | Farmers markets, fairs, festivals, customer pickup from home, retail stores (up to 50% of sales), and personal/mail delivery within Marylan… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Yes | Conditional |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Non-potentially hazardous foods only. $50,000 annual gross sales cap. Must comply with all applicable city laws and ordinances. Baltimore C… | Non-potentially hazardous foods only. $50,000 annual gross sales cap. MDH review required for sales at retail stores (Class B equivalent); … | State baseline applies. Non-potentially hazardous foods only. Annual cap $50,000. Cottage food businesses must comply with applicable count… |
| Food storage | Standard home kitchen storage for approved non-PHF foods | Standard home kitchen storage for approved non-PHF foods | Standard food storage per MDH guidelines |
| Population | 584,548 | 588,109 | 850,737 |
What other Maryland counties can I compare?
Other Maryland counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Baltimore city page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Maryland's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Baltimore city bakers?
Baltimore city baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Baltimore city — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Baltimore city? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Baltimore city?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Baltimore city at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Baltimore city? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Baltimore city
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Baltimore city
- Check with Baltimore city business license office
- Check with Baltimore city zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
MDH Guidelines for Cottage Food Businesses (September 2025 · Maryland Chapter 320 (HB0535T) — Health – General §21-301…
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Maryland
- Selling to stores: check with Maryland Department of Health
Baltimore city
- Check with Baltimore city zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Maryland
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Maryland Department of Health
Baltimore city
- Check with Baltimore city zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Maryland · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Maryland Department of Health.
Maryland · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Maryland Department of Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.