crosodo
County · Seat: Upper Marlboro · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Prince George's County, MD

Inside the permit report

What's in the Prince George's County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Prince George's County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Prince George's County
Table of contents
Your Prince George's County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Prince George's County?

All products in Maryland →
More Prince George's County resources
What's new for Maryland cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Prince George's County?
Start here

How to start in Prince George's County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Maryland cottage food rules in Prince George's County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Maryland cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially hazardous foods prepared in a residential kitchen, including non-PHF baked goods (breads, cookies, cakes, pies without perishable fillings), non-PHF candy (hard candies, brittles), acid-fruit jellies, jams, preserves and butters from enumerated fruits, and all other non-PHF foods produced by a licensed entity. Dry goods (spice blends, coffee, teas) and certain snacks (kettle corn, granola) are also permitted.). Prince George's County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $100,000. On-site / porch pickup in Prince George's County: Conditional. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Depends. Local inspection in Prince George's County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Maryland disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Maryland label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made by a cottage food business that is not subject to Maryland's food safety regulations.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Maryland county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Maryland county rules quiz

Prince George's County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Maryland statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Prince George's County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Prince George's County cottage food rules with Maryland agencies?

Prince George's County is a top-100 county by population in Maryland (pop. 957,189). Under Maryland's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 100000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Depends. Start with Maryland Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Prince George's County health and planning requirements via the health department and planning / zoning links on this page. Local notes for Prince George's County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Prince George's County has a specific web page on home food service that explicitly states zoning constraints generally prohibit residential food prep for public consumption, with cottage food as a named exception (for farmers markets and temporary events). The 2025 MDH guidelines confirm cottage food is allowed from home with sales at farmers markets, fairs, festivals, customer pickup, retail stores (up to 50%), and personal/mail delivery. No county health permit is issued for cottage food. County zoning compliance required. The county's DPIE page should be consulted for any home occupation permit applicable to the business operation itself. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Prince George's County?
State law applies

Tier: Good

Maryland has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Maryland cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Prince George's County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Prince George's County

State baseline: MD COMAR 10.15.03.27; annual cap $50,000

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Prince George's County explicitly allows cottage food production at home for sale at farmers markets and temporary events only. County zoning constraints generally do not allow residential property for food preparation for public consumption except for cottage food and B&B continental breakfast exemptions.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified; standard sanitation applies
Water supply
Potable water required; well water or public supply acceptable with appropriate testing
Handwashing
Standard sanitation required per MDH guidelines
Food storage
Standard food storage per COMAR 10.15.03; no additional county-specific requirements found
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
Health department investigates upon receipt of complaint. No routine inspections for cottage food.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
Cottage food businesses must comply with all applicable county and municipal laws. Contact Prince George's County Department of Permitting, Inspections and Enforcement (DPIE) for home occupation permit requirements. The county's official page states zoning constraints apply and cottage food is an exception to normal residential food production rules.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Conditional
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
State baseline: direct-to-consumer at farmers markets, fairs, festivals; customer pickup from home allowed per MDH 2025 guidelines; retail store sales allowed up to 50% of total. County page notes sales at farmers markets and temporary events specifically. Annual cap $50,000.
Max employees in home
unknown
Zoning code
Relevant code section
COMAR 10.15.03.27 (state baseline); Prince George's County zoning code (residential food production restrictions with cottage food exception)
Local notes

Prince George's County has a specific web page on home food service that explicitly states zoning constraints generally prohibit residential food prep for public consumption, with cottage food as a named exception (for farmers markets and temporary events). The 2025 MDH guidelines confirm cottage food is allowed from home with sales at farmers markets, fairs, festivals, customer pickup, retail stores (up to 50%), and personal/mail delivery. No county health permit is issued for cottage food. County zoning compliance required. The county's DPIE page should be consulted for any home occupation permit applicable to the business operation itself.

What does the Maryland cottage food statute say?
Maryland statute (state law)

Code of Maryland Regulations 10.15.03.27 - Farmer's Market, Bake Sales, and Cottage Food Business

Citation: MD COMAR 10.15.03.27
Verbatim excerpt

A. A cottage food business may offer for sale the homemade foods specified in §B of this regulation when the foods are: (1) Made in a private home kitchen; and (2) Offered or sold only in the State: (a) Subject to the requirements of §C(6) and (7) of this regulation, at a retail food store; or (b) Directly to a consumer: (i) At a farmer's market; (ii) At a bake sale; (iii) At a public event; (iv) By personal delivery; or (v) By mail order. B. The Department shall allow the preparation and sale of the following foods in accordance with §A: (1) Non-potentially hazardous hot-filled canned acid fruit jellies, jams, preserves, and butters; (2) Fruit butters made only from apples, apricots, grapes, peaches, plums, prunes, quince, or another fruit or fruit mixture that will produce an acid canned food; (4) Non-potentially hazardous baked goods; (6) Non-potentially hazardous candy. C. (1) The Department shall allow the owner of a cottage food business to sell only cottage food products processed and packaged in Maryland that are: (a) Produced or packaged in a residential kitchen; (b) Stored on the premises of the cottage food business; and (c) Prepackaged with a label that contains: name and address of the cottage food business or name, phone number, and identification number assigned by the Department; name of the product; ingredients in descending order by weight; net weight or volume; allergen information; nutritional information if any claim is made; and printed in 10 point or larger type: "Made by a cottage food business that is not subject to Maryland's food safety regulations." (6) Before the owner of a cottage food business may sell a cottage food product to a retail food store, the owner shall submit to the Department documentation of the owner's successful completion of a food safety course in the past 3 years approved by the Department and the American National Standards Institute.

Source: regs.maryland.gov/us/md/exec/comar/10.15.03.27 →
Full Maryland License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Prince George's County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Prince George's County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Prince George's County, Maryland?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. Cottage food businesses must comply with all applicable county and municipal laws. Contact Prince George's County Department of Permitting, Inspections and Enforcement (DPIE) for home occupation permit requirements. The county's official page states zoning constraints apply and cottage food is an exception to normal residential food production rules. State cottage food registration may also apply.

What cottage food path applies in Prince George's County?

Maryland cottage food rules are listed on this page. Follow the registration path shown here.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Prince George's County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Prince George's County. Ask Prince George's County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Maryland?

$100,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Prince George's County?

Apply via Prince George's County environmental health (princegeorgescountymd.gov). Official link: https://www.princegeorgescountymd.gov/departments-offices/health. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.

What foods can I sell under Maryland cottage food law in Prince George's County?

Non-potentially hazardous foods prepared in a residential kitchen, including non-PHF baked goods (breads, cookies, cakes, pies without perishable fillings), non-PHF candy (hard candies, brittles), acid-fruit jellies, jams, preserves and butters from enumerated fruits, and all other non-PHF foods produced by a licensed entity. Dry goods (spice blends, coffee, teas) and certain snacks (kettle corn, granola) are also permitted. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Maryland, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Prince George's County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Health department investigates upon receipt of complaint. No routine inspections for cottage food.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Prince George's County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Maryland report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Prince George's County cottage food reports

What permits in Prince George's County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Prince George's County county cottage food report
Prince George's County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Prince George's County.

Download county report
Cover of Maryland cottage food law PDF report
Maryland state report

Full Maryland License & Permit Guide (82 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Prince George's County.

Maryland law page

Free email alerts

Prince George's County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Prince George's County, with Maryland statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Prince George's County page based on?
Quick comparison

Prince George's County vs. bordering counties

RegulationPrince George's County
This county
Montgomery CountyAnne Arundel County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified; standard sanitation appliesState baseline appliesNo specific state cottage food pet restriction; general sanitation standards
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupConditionalYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupState baseline: direct-to-consumer at farmers markets, fairs, festivals; customer pickup from home allowed per MDH 2025 guidelines; retail …State baseline applies: direct-to-consumer sales. Cottage food cannot be sold outside Maryland. Montgomery County requires a Farmer's Marke…Direct-to-consumer sales: home, farmers markets, public events, personal delivery, mail order within Maryland. Sales to retail stores requi…
Home occupation permitConditionalConditionalYes
Local business licenseVariesVaries by cityVaries
RestrictionsPrince George's County explicitly allows cottage food production at home for sale at farmers markets and temporary events only. County zoni…Montgomery County follows Maryland state baseline for cottage food (COMAR 10.15.03.27). The state $50,000 annual cap applies. Montgomery Co…Non-potentially hazardous foods only. $50,000 annual gross sales cap. MDH review required for sales at retail stores (Class B equivalent); …
Food storageStandard food storage per COMAR 10.15.03; no additional county-specific requirements foundState baseline appliesStandard home kitchen storage for approved non-PHF foods
Population957,1891,056,910588,109
What other Maryland counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Maryland counties

Maryland
Pop. 1.06M
Maryland
Pop. 851K
Maryland
Pop. 588K
Maryland
Pop. 585K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Prince George's County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Maryland's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Prince George's County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Prince George's County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Prince George's County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Prince George's County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Prince George's County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Prince George's County, Maryland?
Yes — Maryland allows cottage food sales. $100,000 annual sales cap. Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Maryland Department of Health and the Prince George's County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Prince George's County?
Your Prince George's County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Prince George's County at a glance?
Official filing

File with Prince George's County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.

Apply via Prince George's County environmental health(princegeorgescountymd.gov)
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Prince George's County? State vs county rules and pets
Maryland rule (statewide)Prince George's County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Prince George's County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Prince George's County

    • Check with Prince George's County business license office
    • Check with Prince George's County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    MDH Guidelines for Cottage Food Businesses (September 2025 · Maryland Chapter 320 (HB0535T) — Health – General §21-301…

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Maryland

    • Selling to stores: check with Maryland Department of Health

    Prince George's County

    • Check with Prince George's County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Maryland

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Maryland Department of Health

    Prince George's County

    • Check with Prince George's County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Maryland · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Maryland Department of Health.

    Maryland · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Maryland Department of Health.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.