Cottage food law & license in Queen Anne's County, MD
What's in the Queen Anne's County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Queen Anne's County?
More Queen Anne's County resources
What's new for Maryland cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Queen Anne's County?
How to start in Queen Anne's County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Maryland cottage food rules in Queen Anne's County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Maryland cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially hazardous foods prepared in a residential kitchen, including non-PHF baked goods (breads, cookies, cakes, pies without perishable fillings), non-PHF candy (hard candies, brittles), acid-fruit jellies, jams, preserves and butters from enumerated fruits, and all other non-PHF foods produced by a licensed entity. Dry goods (spice blends, coffee, teas) and certain snacks (kettle corn, granola) are also permitted.). Queen Anne's County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $100,000. On-site / porch pickup in Queen Anne's County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Depends. Local inspection in Queen Anne's County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Maryland disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Maryland label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made by a cottage food business that is not subject to Maryland's food safety regulations.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Maryland county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Maryland county rules quiz
Queen Anne's County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Maryland statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Queen Anne's County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Queen Anne's County cottage food rules with Maryland agencies?
Queen Anne's County is a county in Maryland (pop. 50,316). Under Maryland's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 100000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Depends. Start with Maryland Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Queen Anne's County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Queen Anne's County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Maryland's cottage food program has a $50,000 annual cap (COMAR 10.15.03.02B(17-1)). Emergency rule effective 11/27/2024, exp. 5/26/2025. On-Farm Home Processing License also available for farmers to sell pickles, dried fruit, hot sauces up to $40,000. Queen Anne's County is on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. No county-specific cottage food ordinances found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Queen Anne's County?
Tier: Good
Maryland has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Maryland cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Queen Anne's County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Queen Anne's County
State baseline: MD COMAR 10.15.03.27
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Non-potentially hazardous foods only. Annual revenue cap $50,000. Non-PHF baked goods, candy, acid-fruit jellies/jams, dry goods, snacks permitted. Complaint-based inspection only. Registration optional unless selling through retail stores (free online ID number).
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state cottage food regulations.
- Water supply
- Not specified in state cottage food regulations.
- Handwashing
- Standard sanitation practices; no specific requirement in state cottage food rules.
- Food storage
- Products must not require refrigeration; non-PHF only.
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection. Maryland DOH may inspect upon complaint.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Queen Anne's County may require a home occupation permit for home-based businesses in residential zoning districts. County is largely rural/suburban on the Eastern Shore. Recommend verifying with Queen Anne's County Planning and Zoning.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct-to-consumer and some indirect sales allowed. Retail store sales permitted with food handler certification; online/mail permitted. No out-of-state sales.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state cottage food regulations.
- Relevant code section
- MD COMAR 10.15.03.27; Queen Anne's County Zoning Code (home occupation provisions)
Maryland's cottage food program has a $50,000 annual cap (COMAR 10.15.03.02B(17-1)). Emergency rule effective 11/27/2024, exp. 5/26/2025. On-Farm Home Processing License also available for farmers to sell pickles, dried fruit, hot sauces up to $40,000. Queen Anne's County is on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. No county-specific cottage food ordinances found.
What does the Maryland cottage food statute say?
Code of Maryland Regulations 10.15.03.27 - Farmer's Market, Bake Sales, and Cottage Food Business
Full Maryland License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptA. A cottage food business may offer for sale the homemade foods specified in §B of this regulation when the foods are: (1) Made in a private home kitchen; and (2) Offered or sold only in the State: (a) Subject to the requirements of §C(6) and (7) of this regulation, at a retail food store; or (b) Directly to a consumer: (i) At a farmer's market; (ii) At a bake sale; (iii) At a public event; (iv) By personal delivery; or (v) By mail order. B. The Department shall allow the preparation and sale of the following foods in accordance with §A: (1) Non-potentially hazardous hot-filled canned acid fruit jellies, jams, preserves, and butters; (2) Fruit butters made only from apples, apricots, grapes, peaches, plums, prunes, quince, or another fruit or fruit mixture that will produce an acid canned food; (4) Non-potentially hazardous baked goods; (6) Non-potentially hazardous candy. C. (1) The Department shall allow the owner of a cottage food business to sell only cottage food products processed and packaged in Maryland that are: (a) Produced or packaged in a residential kitchen; (b) Stored on the premises of the cottage food business; and (c) Prepackaged with a label that contains: name and address of the cottage food business or name, phone number, and identification number assigned by the Department; name of the product; ingredients in descending order by weight; net weight or volume; allergen information; nutritional information if any claim is made; and printed in 10 point or larger type: "Made by a cottage food business that is not subject to Maryland's food safety regulations." (6) Before the owner of a cottage food business may sell a cottage food product to a retail food store, the owner shall submit to the Department documentation of the owner's successful completion of a food safety course in the past 3 years approved by the Department and the American National Standards Institute.
Source: regs.maryland.gov/us/md/exec/comar/10.15.03.27 →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Queen Anne's County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeQueen Anne's County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Queen Anne's County, Maryland?
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Queen Anne's County may require a home occupation permit for home-based businesses in residential zoning districts. County is largely rural/suburban on the Eastern Shore. Recommend verifying with Queen Anne's County Planning and Zoning. State cottage food registration may also apply.
What cottage food path applies in Queen Anne's County?
Maryland cottage food rules are listed on this page. Follow the registration path shown here.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Queen Anne's County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Queen Anne's County. Ask Queen Anne's County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Maryland?
$100,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Queen Anne's County?
Apply through Queen Anne's County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Queen Anne's County, Maryland — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Maryland cottage food law in Queen Anne's County?
Non-potentially hazardous foods prepared in a residential kitchen, including non-PHF baked goods (breads, cookies, cakes, pies without perishable fillings), non-PHF candy (hard candies, brittles), acid-fruit jellies, jams, preserves and butters from enumerated fruits, and all other non-PHF foods produced by a licensed entity. Dry goods (spice blends, coffee, teas) and certain snacks (kettle corn, granola) are also permitted. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Maryland, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Queen Anne's County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: No routine inspection. Maryland DOH may inspect upon complaint.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Maryland report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeQueen Anne's County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Queen Anne's County.
Download county reportFull Maryland License & Permit Guide (82 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Queen Anne's County.
Maryland law pageFree email alerts
Queen Anne's County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Queen Anne's County, with Maryland statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Queen Anne's County page based on?
Where to verify Queen Anne's County rules
Queen Anne's County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Queen Anne's County This county | Talbot County | Caroline County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state cottage food regulations. | Local health department standards apply; typically animals must be excluded from food prep areas. | Local health department standards apply; typically animals must be excluded from food prep areas. |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct-to-consumer and some indirect sales allowed. Retail store sales permitted with food handler certification; online/mail permitted. No… | Direct-to-consumer sales permitted. Retail store sales require prior MDH approval. | Direct-to-consumer sales permitted. Retail store sales require prior MDH approval. Food safety training recommended but not required for st… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Non-potentially hazardous foods only. Annual revenue cap $50,000. Non-PHF baked goods, candy, acid-fruit jellies/jams, dry goods, snacks pe… | Annual gross sales capped at $50,000. Must produce in residential kitchen in Maryland. Must comply with all applicable county and municipal… | Annual gross sales capped at $50,000. Must produce in residential kitchen in Maryland. Must comply with all applicable county and municipal… |
| Food storage | Products must not require refrigeration; non-PHF only. | Products must be stored on premises of the cottage food business. Shelf-stable non-potentially hazardous foods only. | Products must be stored on premises of the cottage food business. Shelf-stable non-potentially hazardous foods only. |
| Population | 50,316 | 37,663 | 33,320 |
What other Maryland counties can I compare?
Other Maryland counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Queen Anne's County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Maryland's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Queen Anne's County bakers?
Queen Anne's County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Queen Anne's County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Queen Anne's County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Queen Anne's County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Queen Anne's County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Queen Anne's County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Queen Anne's County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Queen Anne's County
- Check with Queen Anne's County business license office
- Check with Queen Anne's County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
MDH Guidelines for Cottage Food Businesses (September 2025 · Maryland Chapter 320 (HB0535T) — Health – General §21-301…
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Maryland
- Selling to stores: check with Maryland Department of Health
Queen Anne's County
- Check with Queen Anne's County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Maryland
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Maryland Department of Health
Queen Anne's County
- Check with Queen Anne's County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Maryland · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Maryland Department of Health.
Maryland · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Maryland Department of Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.