crosodo
County · Seat: Hardin · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Big Horn County, MT

Inside the permit report

What's in the Big Horn County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Big Horn County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Big Horn County
Table of contents
Your Big Horn County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Big Horn County?

All products in Montana →
More Big Horn County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Big Horn County?
Start here

How to start in Big Horn County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Montana cottage food rules in Big Horn County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Montana cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially-hazardous cottage food products prepared in the domestic residence are allowed and can be sold directly to consumers at farmers markets, events, from home, and at other locations. The Montana Local Food Choice Act (enacted 2021) additionally allows direct-to-consumer sales of virtually any homemade food — including potentially hazardous items like raw milk, meat, and eggs — between producer and informed end consumer without licensing, inspection, or labeling requirements.). Big Horn County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Big Horn County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Big Horn County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Montana disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Montana label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made in a home kitchen that is not subject to retail food establishment regulations or inspections.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Montana county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Montana county rules quiz

Big Horn County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Montana statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Big Horn County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Big Horn County cottage food rules with Montana agencies?

Big Horn County is a county in Montana (pop. 13,090). Under Montana's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Big Horn County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Big Horn County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. No county-specific cottage food or home occupation ordinances found for Big Horn County. County includes Crow Indian Reservation and Bighorn Canyon NRA. Governance follows state law. Recommend verifying with Big Horn County Planning and local health department for any local registration or business license requirements. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Big Horn County?
State law applies

Tier: Freedom

Montana has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.

Montana cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Big Horn County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Big Horn County

State baseline: Mont. Code §50-50-116 and §50-50-117 (cottage food); Mont. Code §§50-49-201 et seq. (Local Food Choice Act)

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Cottage food operations must register with local health authority under Mont. Code §50-50-117. Non-potentially-hazardous foods only under standard cottage food track (§50-50-116). Products sold direct-to-consumer at farmers markets, events, and from home; no consignment/retail/wholesale. The Montana Local Food Choice Act (Mont. Code §§50-49-201 et seq.) provides an additional pathway for direct producer-to-consumer sales of virtually any homemade food without licensing or inspection requirements, provided the sale is in-state and consumers are informed the food is unlicensed and uninspected. No sales cap under either track.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state cottage food law; individual county health departments may have additional requirements.
Water supply
Not specified in state cottage food law.
Handwashing
Standard food safety sanitation practices required; products must comply with applicable food standards.
Food storage
Products must be non-potentially hazardous (standard cottage food track) or properly disclosed as unlicensed/uninspected (MLFCA track). Proper storage to prevent contamination required.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection under standard cottage food law. Local health authority access may be granted upon complaint. Under MLFCA track, no inspection required.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
No specific Big Horn County cottage food or home occupation rules found. City of Hardin may have business license requirements. Recommend verifying with Big Horn County planning/zoning department.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct-to-consumer sales permitted at farmers markets, events, and from home. Under standard cottage food (§50-50-116), no consignment, retail, or wholesale sales. Under MLFCA, any direct producer-to-consumer in-state transaction is permissible if consumer is informed food is unlicensed/uninspected.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state cottage food law.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Mont. Code §50-50-116 and §50-50-117 (cottage food); Mont. Code §§50-49-201 et seq. (Local Food Choice Act)
Local notes

No county-specific cottage food or home occupation ordinances found for Big Horn County. County includes Crow Indian Reservation and Bighorn Canyon NRA. Governance follows state law. Recommend verifying with Big Horn County Planning and local health department for any local registration or business license requirements.

What does the Montana cottage food statute say?
Montana statute (state law)

Montana Code Annotated Title 50, Chapter 50, Part 1 — Retail Food Establishments: Cottage Food Operations; and Title 50, Chapter 49 — Montana Local Food Choice Act

Citation: Mont. Code §50-50-116 and §50-50-117 (cottage food); Mont. Code §§50-49-201 et seq. (Local Food Choice Act)
Verbatim excerpt

50-50-116. Conditions for cottage food operation exemption from licensure and routine facility inspection.(1) To acquire the status of not being a retail food establishment, a cottage food operation must meet the conditions in this section and shall register with a local health authority as provided in 50-50-117. (2) A cottage food operation shall: (a) follow department food standards as provided in rule, including applicable provisions implementing the 2013 United States food and drug administration food code; (b) package cottage food products and label the cottage food products prior to sale, including on the label, at a minimum, the following: (i) the name, address, city, state, and zip code of the cottage food operation; (ii) the name of the cottage food product; (iii) the ingredients of the cottage food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (iv) the net quantity, weight, count, or volume of the cottage food product; (v) allergen labeling as specified by federal and state labeling requirements; (vi) if a nutritional claim is made, an appropriate label if required by federal law; and (vii) the following statement, printed in at least the equivalent of 11-point font size in a color that provides a clear contrast to the background and is conspicuously placed on the principal label: "Made in a home kitchen that is not subject to retail food establishment regulations or inspections." (3) Providing cottage food products by consignment, including at a retail food establishment or through a wholesale establishment, is prohibited. (7) A cottage food operation that meets the requirements in this section is not a retail food establishment or a wholesale food establishment and is not subject to licensure or inspection requirements under Title 50, chapter 57, or this chapter. History: En. Sec. 1, Ch. 239, L. 2015.

Source: leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0500/part_0010/section_0160/0500-0500-0010-0160.html →
Full Montana License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Big Horn County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Big Horn County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Big Horn County, Montana?

State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Big Horn County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Big Horn County?

State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Big Horn County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Big Horn County. Ask Big Horn County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Montana?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Big Horn County?

Apply through Big Horn County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Big Horn County, Montana — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Montana cottage food law in Big Horn County?

Non-potentially-hazardous cottage food products prepared in the domestic residence are allowed and can be sold directly to consumers at farmers markets, events, from home, and at other locations. The Montana Local Food Choice Act (enacted 2021) additionally allows direct-to-consumer sales of virtually any homemade food — including potentially hazardous items like raw milk, meat, and eggs — between producer and informed end consumer without licensing, inspection, or labeling requirements. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Montana, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Big Horn County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: No routine inspection under standard cottage food law. Local health authority access may be granted upon complaint. Under MLFCA track, no inspection required.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Big Horn County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Montana report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Big Horn County cottage food reports

What permits in Big Horn County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Big Horn County county cottage food report
Big Horn County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Big Horn County.

Download county report
Cover of Montana cottage food law PDF report
Montana state report

Full Montana License & Permit Guide (185 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Big Horn County.

Montana law page

Free email alerts

Big Horn County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Big Horn County, with Montana statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Big Horn County page based on?
Quick comparison

Big Horn County vs. bordering counties

RegulationBig Horn County
This county
Carbon CountyRosebud County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state cottage food law; individual county health departments may have additional requirements.Not specified in state cottage food law; individual county health departments may have additional requirements.Pets must be excluded from kitchen during production
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect-to-consumer sales permitted at farmers markets, events, and from home. Under standard cottage food (§50-50-116), no consignment, ret…Direct-to-consumer sales permitted at farmers markets, events, and from home. Under standard cottage food (§50-50-116), no consignment, ret…Face-to-face transaction required. Online advertising allowed but actual sale must be in-person. No third-party delivery services. Producer…
Home occupation permitConditionalConditionalVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsCottage food operations must register with local health authority under Mont. Code §50-50-117. Non-potentially-hazardous foods only under s…Cottage food operations must register with local health authority under Mont. Code §50-50-117. Non-potentially-hazardous foods only under s…Must produce in primary residence kitchen. Pets must be excluded during production. No routine inspection. One-time $40 registration fee wi…
Food storageProducts must be non-potentially hazardous (standard cottage food track) or properly disclosed as unlicensed/uninspected (MLFCA track). Pro…Products must be non-potentially hazardous (standard cottage food track) or properly disclosed as unlicensed/uninspected (MLFCA track). Pro…Products stored appropriately; temporary vehicle storage for transport only
Population13,09010,6458,956
What other Montana counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Montana counties

Montana
Pop. 166K
Montana
Pop. 120K
Montana
Pop. 119K
Montana
Pop. 106K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Big Horn County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Montana's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Big Horn County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Big Horn County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Big Horn County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Big Horn County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Big Horn County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Big Horn County, Montana?
Yes — Montana allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. State permit required. Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 6, 2026. Confirm with Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services and the Big Horn County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Big Horn County?
Your Big Horn County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Big Horn County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Big Horn County? State vs county rules and pets
Montana rule (statewide)Big Horn County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Big Horn County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Big Horn County

    • Check with Big Horn County business license office
    • Check with Big Horn County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Mont. Code Ann. §50-49-203

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Montana

    • Selling to stores: check with Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services

    Big Horn County

    • Check with Big Horn County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Montana

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services

    Big Horn County

    • Check with Big Horn County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Montana · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services.

    Montana · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.