Cottage food law & license in Stillwater County, MT
What's in the Stillwater County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Stillwater County?
More Stillwater County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Stillwater County?
How to start in Stillwater County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Montana cottage food rules in Stillwater County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Montana cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially-hazardous cottage food products prepared in the domestic residence are allowed and can be sold directly to consumers at farmers markets, events, from home, and at other locations. The Montana Local Food Choice Act (enacted 2021) additionally allows direct-to-consumer sales of virtually any homemade food — including potentially hazardous items like raw milk, meat, and eggs — between producer and informed end consumer without licensing, inspection, or labeling requirements.). Stillwater County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Stillwater County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Stillwater County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Montana disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Montana label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made in a home kitchen that is not subject to retail food establishment regulations or inspections.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Montana county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Montana county rules quiz
Stillwater County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Montana statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Stillwater County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Stillwater County cottage food rules with Montana agencies?
Stillwater County is a county in Montana (pop. 8,978). Under Montana's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Stillwater County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Stillwater County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Montana Freedom-tier state. 2021 Local Food Choice Act preempts local ordinances statewide. No Stillwater County-specific cottage food or home occupation ordinances found. State baseline applied. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Stillwater County?
Tier: Freedom
Montana has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.
Montana cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Stillwater County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Stillwater County
State baseline: Mont. Code §50-50-116 and §50-50-117 (cottage food); Mont. Code §§50-49-201 et seq. (Local Food Choice Act)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Must produce in primary residence kitchen. Pets must be excluded during production. No routine inspection. One-time $40 registration fee with local Environmental Health Agency. Direct-to-consumer sales only within Montana. Farmers market sales exempt from registration.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Pets must be excluded from kitchen during production
- Water supply
- Standard residential water supply
- Handwashing
- Sanitary food preparation operations required
- Food storage
- Products stored appropriately; temporary vehicle storage for transport only
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- Consumer complaint or illness investigation only
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- Stillwater County is a rural county in south-central Montana near Billings. No formal county-level home occupation ordinances found specific to cottage food. The 2021 Montana Local Food Choice Act preempts local restrictions on homemade food sales. Cottage food registration ($40 one-time fee) administered through local Environmental Health office.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Face-to-face transaction required. Online advertising allowed but actual sale must be in-person. No third-party delivery services. Producer may deliver directly to purchaser.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified
- Relevant code section
- Not identified; state law governs
Montana Freedom-tier state. 2021 Local Food Choice Act preempts local ordinances statewide. No Stillwater County-specific cottage food or home occupation ordinances found. State baseline applied.
What does the Montana cottage food statute say?
Montana Code Annotated Title 50, Chapter 50, Part 1 — Retail Food Establishments: Cottage Food Operations; and Title 50, Chapter 49 — Montana Local Food Choice Act
Full Montana License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt50-50-116. Conditions for cottage food operation exemption from licensure and routine facility inspection.(1) To acquire the status of not being a retail food establishment, a cottage food operation must meet the conditions in this section and shall register with a local health authority as provided in 50-50-117. (2) A cottage food operation shall: (a) follow department food standards as provided in rule, including applicable provisions implementing the 2013 United States food and drug administration food code; (b) package cottage food products and label the cottage food products prior to sale, including on the label, at a minimum, the following: (i) the name, address, city, state, and zip code of the cottage food operation; (ii) the name of the cottage food product; (iii) the ingredients of the cottage food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (iv) the net quantity, weight, count, or volume of the cottage food product; (v) allergen labeling as specified by federal and state labeling requirements; (vi) if a nutritional claim is made, an appropriate label if required by federal law; and (vii) the following statement, printed in at least the equivalent of 11-point font size in a color that provides a clear contrast to the background and is conspicuously placed on the principal label: "Made in a home kitchen that is not subject to retail food establishment regulations or inspections." (3) Providing cottage food products by consignment, including at a retail food establishment or through a wholesale establishment, is prohibited. (7) A cottage food operation that meets the requirements in this section is not a retail food establishment or a wholesale food establishment and is not subject to licensure or inspection requirements under Title 50, chapter 57, or this chapter. History: En. Sec. 1, Ch. 239, L. 2015.
Source: leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0500/chapter_0500/part_0010/section_0160/0500-0500-0010-0160.html →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Stillwater County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeStillwater County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Stillwater County, Montana?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Stillwater County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Stillwater County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Stillwater County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Stillwater County. Ask Stillwater County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Montana?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Stillwater County?
Apply through Stillwater County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Stillwater County, Montana — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Montana cottage food law in Stillwater County?
Non-potentially-hazardous cottage food products prepared in the domestic residence are allowed and can be sold directly to consumers at farmers markets, events, from home, and at other locations. The Montana Local Food Choice Act (enacted 2021) additionally allows direct-to-consumer sales of virtually any homemade food — including potentially hazardous items like raw milk, meat, and eggs — between producer and informed end consumer without licensing, inspection, or labeling requirements. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Montana, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Stillwater County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Consumer complaint or illness investigation only. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Montana report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeStillwater County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Stillwater County.
Download county reportFull Montana License & Permit Guide (185 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Stillwater County.
Montana law pageFree email alerts
Stillwater County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Stillwater County, with Montana statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Stillwater County page based on?
Where to verify Stillwater County rules
Stillwater County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Stillwater County This county | Carbon County | Sweet Grass County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Pets must be excluded from kitchen during production | Not specified in state cottage food law; individual county health departments may have additional requirements. | Pets must be excluded from kitchen during production |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Face-to-face transaction required. Online advertising allowed but actual sale must be in-person. No third-party delivery services. Producer… | Direct-to-consumer sales permitted at farmers markets, events, and from home. Under standard cottage food (§50-50-116), no consignment, ret… | Face-to-face transaction required. Online advertising allowed but actual sale must be in-person. No third-party delivery services. Producer… |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | Conditional | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Must produce in primary residence kitchen. Pets must be excluded during production. No routine inspection. One-time $40 registration fee wi… | Cottage food operations must register with local health authority under Mont. Code §50-50-117. Non-potentially-hazardous foods only under s… | Must produce in primary residence kitchen. Pets must be excluded during production. No routine inspection. One-time $40 registration fee wi… |
| Food storage | Products stored appropriately; temporary vehicle storage for transport only | Products must be non-potentially hazardous (standard cottage food track) or properly disclosed as unlicensed/uninspected (MLFCA track). Pro… | Products stored appropriately; temporary vehicle storage for transport only |
| Population | 9,642 | 10,645 | 3,737 |
What other Montana counties can I compare?
Other Montana counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Stillwater County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Montana's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Stillwater County bakers?
Stillwater County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Stillwater County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Stillwater County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Stillwater County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Stillwater County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Stillwater County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Stillwater County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Stillwater County
- Check with Stillwater County business license office
Want store shelves? → Step 2
Mont. Code Ann. §50-49-203 · Home occupational uses are allowed without a development …
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Montana
- Selling to stores: check with Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services
Stillwater County
- Check with Stillwater County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Montana
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services
Stillwater County
- Check with Stillwater County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Montana · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services.
Montana · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.