Cottage food law & license in Bergen County, NJ
What's in the Bergen County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Bergen County?
More Bergen County resources
What's new for New Jersey cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Bergen County?
How to start in Bergen County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under New Jersey cottage food rules in Bergen County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
New Jersey cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-TCS (non-time/temperature-control-for-safety) foods prepared in the operator's private home kitchen are allowed, including: baked goods (bread, cakes, cupcakes, cookies), candy and brittle, chocolate-covered nuts and dried fruit, dried fruit, dried herbs and seasonings, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, fruit jams/jellies/preserves, fruit pies and empanadas (excluding pumpkin), fudge, granola/cereal/trail mix, honey and sweet sorghum syrup, nuts and nut mixtures, nut butters, popcorn and caramel corn, roasted coffee and dried tea, vinegar and mustard, waffle cones and pizzelles, and other non-TCS foods upon written application.). Bergen County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $50,000. On-site / porch pickup in Bergen County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Yes. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Bergen County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with New Jersey disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free New Jersey label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “this food is prepared pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:24-11 in a home kitchen that has not been inspected by the Department of Health.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on New Jersey county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
New Jersey county rules quiz
Bergen County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the New Jersey statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Bergen County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Bergen County cottage food rules with New Jersey agencies?
Bergen County is a top-100 county by population in New Jersey (pop. 953,243). Under New Jersey's Poor-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 50000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with New Jersey Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Bergen County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Bergen County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit required. NJ cottage food law requires local zoning board approval as a prerequisite to the state permit application. Bergen County has 70 separate municipalities each with their own zoning boards — rules vary significantly. No specific Bergen County-level ordinance was found superseding or modifying the state framework. The state permit is $100 for 2 years, requires Food Protection Manager certification (not just a food handler card), proof of potable water, and approved foods from the NJ approved list. Local ordinances are not preempted. New Jersey was the last state to legalize cottage food (2021). Applications take 12-16 weeks for review. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Bergen County?
Tier: Poor
New Jersey has a Poor-tier cottage food law — heavy restrictions on products, channels, or permits, often requiring inspections or a commercial-kitchen rental. The state baseline is the bottleneck more than the county.
New Jersey cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Bergen County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Bergen County
State baseline: N.J.A.C. 8:24-11 et seq. (adopted Oct. 4, 2021); annual cap $50,000
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Must be operator's private home kitchen. Production must not occur in a rented or commercial kitchen. State permit ($100, 2-year) required before selling.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state rules; standard sanitation applies
- Water supply
- Proof of potable water required: water bill for municipal supply, or well test results for private well
- Handwashing
- Standard sanitation required; Food Protection Manager certification implies knowledge of proper handwashing
- Food storage
- Standard food storage practices per N.J.A.C. 8:24-11
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No home kitchen inspection required. Health authority may inspect upon complaint or suspected foodborne illness.
- Home occupation permit
- Yes
- Permit details
- NJ state law requires local zoning board approval confirming that the residential use for a cottage food operation is permitted before the state permit application is submitted. Each municipality in Bergen County has its own zoning board (Bergen County has 70 municipalities). Contact the applicable municipal zoning board for approval. State permit: $100 via NJ Dept. of Health, valid 2 years. Local ordinances are not preempted under NJ law.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct-to-consumer sales only. Online orders allowed but delivery must be in-person (no mail or third-party carrier). Sales may occur at home, farmers markets, farm stands, and direct-to-consumer events. No wholesale to restaurants or grocery stores. $50,000 annual cap.
- Max employees in home
- unknown
- Relevant code section
- N.J.A.C. 8:24-11; municipal zoning ordinances vary by municipality
NJ cottage food law requires local zoning board approval as a prerequisite to the state permit application. Bergen County has 70 separate municipalities each with their own zoning boards — rules vary significantly. No specific Bergen County-level ordinance was found superseding or modifying the state framework. The state permit is $100 for 2 years, requires Food Protection Manager certification (not just a food handler card), proof of potable water, and approved foods from the NJ approved list. Local ordinances are not preempted. New Jersey was the last state to legalize cottage food (2021). Applications take 12-16 weeks for review.
What does the New Jersey cottage food statute say?
New Jersey Administrative Code Title 8, Chapter 24, Subchapter 11 — Cottage Food Operator Permit (Sanitation in Retail Food Establishments, Food and Beverage Vending Machines and Cottage Food Operations)
Full New Jersey License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt§ 8:24-11.1 Requirement and procedure to obtain a Cottage Food Operator Permit (a) A person or entity that engages in the production, distribution, and/or sale of food to consumers shall: 1. Have a Cottage Food Operator Permit; or 2. Comply with applicable laws to retail food establishments. § 8:24-11.2 Authorized cottage food operator activity (a) A Cottage Food Operator Permit authorizes a holder thereof: 1. To produce cottage food products in the private kitchen of the operator's residence and at no other location; and 2. Subject to N.J.A.C. 8:24-11.5, to distribute cottage food products to consumers thereof without being subject to initial or periodic inspection by a health authority and other requirements applicable to retail food establishments pursuant to this chapter. § 8:24-11.3 Prohibited cottage food operator activity (b) The gross annual sales (that is, before deductions of taxes and operating expenses) that a cottage food operator generates from the sale of cottage food products shall not exceed $ 50,000. § 8:24-11.6 Application fees; permit duration; permit renewal (a) The fee to apply for a Cottage Food Operator Permit is $ 100.00. (b) A Cottage Food Operator Permit is valid for two years from date of issuance. (c) The fee to apply for renewal of a Cottage Food Operator Permit is $ 100.00. § 8:24-11.4 Cottage food point-of-sale notice, packaging, and labeling (c) A cottage food operator shall affix one or more labels or tags on cottage food that collectively state at least: the common name of the cottage food product; list of ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight; allergens statement; Cottage Food Operator's name and business name; Cottage Food Operator's Permit number; town or municipality and 'NJ'; and the statement: 'this food is prepared pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:24-11 in a home kitchen that has not been inspected by the Department of Health.'
Source: nj.gov/health/cottagefood/rules-resources/rules/ →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Bergen County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeBergen County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Bergen County, New Jersey?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Yes. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Bergen County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Bergen County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Bergen County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Bergen County. Ask Bergen County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in New Jersey?
$50,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Bergen County?
Apply via Bergen County environmental health (nj.gov). Official link: https://www.nj.gov/health/cottagefood/apply-renew. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under New Jersey cottage food law in Bergen County?
Non-TCS (non-time/temperature-control-for-safety) foods prepared in the operator's private home kitchen are allowed, including: baked goods (bread, cakes, cupcakes, cookies), candy and brittle, chocolate-covered nuts and dried fruit, dried fruit, dried herbs and seasonings, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, fruit jams/jellies/preserves, fruit pies and empanadas (excluding pumpkin), fudge, granola/cereal/trail mix, honey and sweet sorghum syrup, nuts and nut mixtures, nut butters, popcorn and caramel corn, roasted coffee and dried tea, vinegar and mustard, waffle cones and pizzelles, and other non-TCS foods upon written application. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by New Jersey, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Bergen County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No home kitchen inspection required. Health authority may inspect upon complaint or suspected foodborne illness.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every New Jersey report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeBergen County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Bergen County.
Download county reportFull New Jersey License & Permit Guide (69 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Bergen County.
New Jersey law pageFree email alerts
Bergen County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Bergen County, with New Jersey statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Bergen County page based on?
Where to verify Bergen County rules
Bergen County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Bergen County This county | Essex County | Hudson County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state rules; standard sanitation applies | Not specified; standard sanitation applies | Not specified; standard sanitation applies |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct-to-consumer sales only. Online orders allowed but delivery must be in-person (no mail or third-party carrier). Sales may occur at ho… | Direct-to-consumer only. Online orders allowed with in-person delivery. No mail/carrier delivery. No wholesale. $50,000 annual cap. | Direct-to-consumer only. Online orders with in-person delivery. No mail/carrier. No wholesale. $50,000 annual cap. |
| Home occupation permit | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Must be operator's private home kitchen. Production must not occur in a rented or commercial kitchen. State permit ($100, 2-year) required … | Must be operator's private home kitchen. State permit required ($100, 2-year). Food Protection Manager certification required. Local zoning… | Must be operator's private home kitchen. State permit required ($100, 2-year). Food Protection Manager certification required. Local zoning… |
| Food storage | Standard food storage practices per N.J.A.C. 8:24-11 | Standard food storage per N.J.A.C. 8:24-11 | Standard food storage per N.J.A.C. 8:24-11 |
| Population | 953,243 | 853,374 | 712,029 |
What other New Jersey counties can I compare?
Other New Jersey counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Bergen County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to New Jersey's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Bergen County bakers?
Bergen County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Bergen County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Bergen County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Bergen County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Bergen County at a glance?
File with Bergen County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Bergen County environmental health(nj.gov)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Bergen County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
New Jersey
Bergen County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
New Jersey
Bergen County
- Check with Bergen County business license office
- Check with Bergen County zoning office about home pickup
$100 state
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
New Jersey
- Selling to stores: check with New Jersey Department of Health
Bergen County
- Check with Bergen County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
New Jersey
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with New Jersey Department of Health
Bergen County
- Check with Bergen County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
New Jersey · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with New Jersey Department of Health.
New Jersey · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with New Jersey Department of Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.