Cottage food law & license in Tulsa County, OK
What's in the Tulsa County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Tulsa County?
More Tulsa County resources
What's new for Oklahoma cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Tulsa County?
How to start in Tulsa County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Oklahoma cottage food rules in Tulsa County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Oklahoma cottage food rules control what you may make at home (The Homemade Food Freedom Act covers a broad range of homemade food products including beverages, baked goods, and any food produced and packaged at a residence, provided it is not an alcoholic beverage, unpasteurized milk, or cannabis product. Non-time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (non-TCS) foods with pH 4.6 or below or water activity 0.85 or below are fully exempt from licensing. Time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (TCS) foods are also allowed but require food safety training.). Tulsa County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $75,000. On-site / porch pickup in Tulsa County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Tulsa County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Oklahoma disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Oklahoma label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a private residence that is exempt from government licensing and inspection.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Oklahoma county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Oklahoma county rules quiz
Tulsa County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Oklahoma statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Tulsa County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Tulsa County cottage food rules with Oklahoma agencies?
Tulsa County is a top-100 county by population in Oklahoma (pop. 668,923). Under Oklahoma's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 75000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Oklahoma State Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Tulsa County health and planning requirements via the health department and planning / zoning links on this page. Local notes for Tulsa County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Tulsa County follows Oklahoma state 'Freedom' tier baseline. Tulsa is Oklahoma's second-largest city. The Homemade Food Freedom Act is very permissive. No Tulsa County-specific modification of state law found. The Tulsa Health Department (tulsa-health.org) is the relevant local health agency. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Tulsa County?
Tier: Freedom
Oklahoma has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.
Oklahoma cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Tulsa County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Tulsa County
State baseline: 2 O.S. §5-4.1 through §5-4.6 (Homemade Food Freedom Act, 2021; cap $75,000)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Oklahoma 'Freedom' tier: all homemade food products produced at residence allowed. No registration for non-TCS foods. TCS foods require food safety training. Alcoholic beverages, unpasteurized milk, and cannabis products prohibited.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in statute
- Water supply
- Potable water; state baseline
- Handwashing
- Food safety training required for TCS food sellers
- Food storage
- TCS foods must be stored at proper temperatures; standard practices for non-TCS
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No registration or inspection required for non-TCS foods.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- City of Tulsa may have home occupation permit requirements for home-based businesses. Contact Tulsa Planning Office for home occupation or accessory use provisions. Tulsa County governs unincorporated areas. State food freedom law does not address local zoning preemption for home occupation purposes.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Oklahoma Homemade Food Freedom Act: broad direct and limited indirect sales. Online, events, home sales permitted. $75,000 annual cap.
- Max employees in home
- unknown
- Relevant code section
- 2 O.S. §5-4.1 through §5-4.6; Tulsa City zoning code for home occupations
Tulsa County follows Oklahoma state 'Freedom' tier baseline. Tulsa is Oklahoma's second-largest city. The Homemade Food Freedom Act is very permissive. No Tulsa County-specific modification of state law found. The Tulsa Health Department (tulsa-health.org) is the relevant local health agency.
What does the Oklahoma cottage food statute say?
Oklahoma Statutes Title 2, Sections 5-4.1 through 5-4.6, Homemade Food Freedom Act (formerly Home Bakery Act of 2013, as amended by HB 1032, eff. November 1, 2021)
Full Oklahoma License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptSection 5-4.1 This act shall be known and may be cited as the "Homemade Food Freedom Act". Section 5-4.2 As used in the Homemade Food Freedom Act: 1. "Home food establishment" shall mean a business on the premises of a residence in which prepared homemade food products are created for sale or resale at farmers markets, on site, at cooperatives, through membership-based buying clubs or for delivery, if the business has gross annual sales of prepared food of less than Seventy-five Thousand Dollars ($75,000.00). Gross annual sales includes all sales of prepared food produced by the business at any location; and 2. "Delivered" shall mean transferred to the customer, either immediately upon sale or at a time thereafter; 3. "Homemade food product" shall mean food, including a beverage, which is produced and, if packaged, packaged at a residence; provided, however, homemade food product shall not mean alcoholic beverages or unpasteurized milk or cannabis or marijuana products; 4. "Non-time- or -temperature-controlled for safety" shall mean food that does not require time or temperature control for safety to limit the rapid and progressive growth of infectious or toxigenic microorganisms, including foods that have a pH level of four and six-tenths (4.6) or below or a water activity (aw) of 0.85 or below. Section 5-4.3 A. A home food establishment may sell prepared food on site, by delivery, at a farmers market, through a cooperative, or through a membership-based buying club.
Source: oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/health/health2/aem-documents/protective-health/consumer-health-services/food-service/HB1032-ENR.pdf →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Tulsa County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeTulsa County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Tulsa County, Oklahoma?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Tulsa County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Tulsa County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Tulsa County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Tulsa County. Ask Tulsa County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Oklahoma?
$75,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Tulsa County?
Apply via Tulsa County environmental health (tulsa-health.org). Official link: https://tulsa-health.org. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Oklahoma cottage food law in Tulsa County?
The Homemade Food Freedom Act covers a broad range of homemade food products including beverages, baked goods, and any food produced and packaged at a residence, provided it is not an alcoholic beverage, unpasteurized milk, or cannabis product. Non-time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (non-TCS) foods with pH 4.6 or below or water activity 0.85 or below are fully exempt from licensing. Time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (TCS) foods are also allowed but require food safety training. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Oklahoma, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Tulsa County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No registration or inspection required for non-TCS foods.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Oklahoma report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeTulsa County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Tulsa County.
Download county reportFull Oklahoma License & Permit Guide (239 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Tulsa County.
Oklahoma law pageFree email alerts
Tulsa County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Tulsa County, with Oklahoma statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Tulsa County page based on?
Where to verify Tulsa County rules
Tulsa County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Tulsa County This county | Rogers County | Wagoner County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in statute | No specific restriction under Oklahoma Homemade Food Freedom Act. | No specific statutory restriction. |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Oklahoma Homemade Food Freedom Act: broad direct and limited indirect sales. Online, events, home sales permitted. $75,000 annual cap. | Direct and indirect sales allowed per Oklahoma Homemade Food Freedom Act. Retail, online, farmers markets, events all permitted for non-TCS… | Direct and some indirect sales permitted under the Homemade Food Freedom Act. Non-TCS foods may be sold through third-party vendors/retail … |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Oklahoma 'Freedom' tier: all homemade food products produced at residence allowed. No registration for non-TCS foods. TCS foods require foo… | Oklahoma Homemade Food Freedom Act (2 O.S. §5-4.1 through §5-4.6): $75,000 annual sales cap. No registration, no inspection required. Non-T… | Oklahoma Homemade Food Freedom Act: extremely permissive. $75,000 annual sales cap. All homemade food products allowed (including beverages… |
| Food storage | TCS foods must be stored at proper temperatures; standard practices for non-TCS | Non-TCS foods are broadly allowed; TCS foods require food safety training before sale. | No specific statutory requirement. |
| Population | 668,923 | 95,870 | 82,269 |
What other Oklahoma counties can I compare?
Other Oklahoma counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Tulsa County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Oklahoma's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Tulsa County bakers?
Tulsa County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Tulsa County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Tulsa County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Tulsa County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Tulsa County at a glance?
File with Tulsa County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Tulsa County environmental health(tulsa-health.org)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Tulsa County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Tulsa County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Tulsa County
- Check with Tulsa County business license office
Want store shelves? → Step 2
Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food, and Forestry — … · Tulsa County Zoning Code (Oct. 2024) — Sec. 8.120 Home Oc…
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Oklahoma
- Selling to stores: check with Oklahoma State Department of Health
Tulsa County
- Check with Tulsa County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Oklahoma
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Oklahoma State Department of Health
Tulsa County
- Check with Tulsa County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Oklahoma · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Oklahoma State Department of Health.
Oklahoma · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Oklahoma State Department of Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.