Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Oregon Report Guide · 122 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: Klamath Falls · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Klamath County, OR

Can I sell cottage food from home in Klamath County, Oregon?
Yes — Oregon allows cottage food sales under a Good-tier law (cap: 50000). Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Oregon Department of Agriculture and the Klamath County health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Klamath County Permits 101 for Klamath County, Oregon (68 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Klamath County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Klamath County?

Oregon cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Klamath County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Klamath County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Klamath County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Klamath County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Oregon cottage food rules in Klamath County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Oregon cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Packaged, non-potentially-hazardous foods made in a residential dwelling are permitted, including baked goods, confectionery items, coffee beans, teas, popcorn, jams, jellies, honey, syrups, fruit butters, nut mixes, repackaged freeze-dried foods, repackaged dried and dehydrated foods, and powdered drink mixes. Cannabis-containing foods are excluded. Direct sales to end users are permitted in any manner — from home, online, through the mail, and at events.). Klamath County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $50,000. On-site / porch pickup in Klamath County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Depends. Local inspection in Klamath County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Oregon disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Oregon label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is homemade, is not prepared in an inspected food establishment”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Klamath County is a county in Oregon (pop. 69,506). Under Oregon's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 50000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Depends. Start with Oregon Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Klamath County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Klamath County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Oregon Good-tier state with $50,000 cap and food handler cert required. Klamath County is rural high-desert region. No county-specific sources available. Pattern county. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Klamath County cottage food reports

What permits in Klamath County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Klamath County county cottage food report
Klamath County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Klamath County.

Download county report
Cover of Oregon cottage food law PDF report
Oregon state report

Full Oregon License & Permit Guide (122 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Good

Oregon has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Oregon cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Klamath County

State baseline: ORS §616.723

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Annual sales cap $50,000. Food handler certification required. No kitchen inspection required. Registration required for some operations (domestic kitchen business license from ODA). Limited indirect sales allowed. No TCS foods. Non-PHF shelf-stable foods only.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state law
Water supply
Standard residential water supply
Handwashing
Required as part of food handler certification
Food storage
Appropriate storage for non-PHF products
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection; complaint-based possible
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
No county govt URL provided. Klamath County unincorporated areas follow county zoning. City of Klamath Falls has its own zoning and business licensing. No county-specific cottage food overlay identified.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Limited indirect sales via designated venues; direct delivery permitted in-state
Max employees in home
Not specified
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Not identified
Local notes

Oregon Good-tier state with $50,000 cap and food handler cert required. Klamath County is rural high-desert region. No county-specific sources available. Pattern county.

Oregon statute (state law)

Oregon Revised Statutes §616.723, Food establishments in residential dwellings (as amended by Oregon SB 643, 2023 Regular Session)

Citation: ORS §616.723
Verbatim excerpt

616.723. (1) As used in this section: (a) "Food" and "food establishment" have the meanings given those terms in ORS 616.695. "Food" does not include any article containing cannabis. (b) "Potentially hazardous" means requiring temperature control due to the capacity to support the rapid and progressive growth of infectious microorganisms or the growth of toxic microorganisms. (c) "Retailer" means a person who engages in the business of selling consumer goods to retail buyers. "Retailer" includes coffee shops and excludes restaurants. (2) ORS 616.695 to 616.755 do not apply to a food establishment if: (a) The food establishment is located in a residential dwelling; (b) The foods prepared at the food establishment for public distribution are packaged and not potentially hazardous, including but not limited to baked goods, confectionary items, coffee beans, teas, popcorn, jams, jellies, honey, syrups, fruit butters, nut mixes, repackaged freeze-dried foods, repackaged dried and dehydrated foods and powdered drink mixes; (c) The food bears on its label a statement and product information as described in subsection (6) of this section informing consumers that the product is not prepared in an inspected food establishment; (d) The annual gross sales of foods prepared at the food establishment do not exceed $50,000, adjusted annually for inflation pursuant to the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers, West Region (All Items); and (e) Each individual involved in the preparation of food at the food establishment for public distribution has successfully completed a food handler training program and holds a certificate issued under ORS 624.570.

Source: olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/SB643
Full Oregon License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Klamath County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Klamath County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (68 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Klamath County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Klamath County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Klamath County, Oregon?

Home occupation permit: Varies. No county govt URL provided. Klamath County unincorporated areas follow county zoning. City of Klamath Falls has its own zoning and business licensing. No county-specific cottage food overlay identified. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Oregon guide at https://crosodo.com/states/oregon.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Klamath County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection; complaint-based possible. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Oregon cottage food law in Klamath County?

Packaged, non-potentially-hazardous foods made in a residential dwelling are permitted, including baked goods, confectionery items, coffee beans, teas, popcorn, jams, jellies, honey, syrups, fruit butters, nut mixes, repackaged freeze-dried foods, repackaged dried and dehydrated foods, and powdered drink mixes. Cannabis-containing foods are excluded. Direct sales to end users are permitted in any manner — from home, online, through the mail, and at events. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Oregon, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Oregon?

Oregon state law lists cottage food sales at 50000. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Klamath County?

Home occupation permit: Varies. No county govt URL provided. Klamath County unincorporated areas follow county zoning. City of Klamath Falls has its own zoning and business licensing. No county-specific cottage food overlay identified.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Oregon License & Permit Guide (122 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Oregon License & Permit Guide (122 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Klamath County vs. bordering counties

RegulationKlamath County
This county
Douglas CountyLake County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state lawPets may not be in food preparation area but their presence elsewhere in the dwelling no longer disqualifies (SB 643).Pets not allowed in food preparation area during food production per ORS 616.723 / ODA rules. Label must note presence of pets in home if a…
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupLimited indirect sales via designated venues; direct delivery permitted in-stateOregon allows direct sales at home, online, mail, and events. Retail sales to stores permitted under specific conditions (with Domestic Kit…Direct sales to end users permitted from home, online, through the mail, and at events. Sales to retailers permitted under specific conditi…
Home occupation permitVariesVariesConditional
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsAnnual sales cap $50,000. Food handler certification required. No kitchen inspection required. Registration required for some operations (d…Oregon allows packaged non-PHF foods from residential dwelling. $50,000 annual cap (SB 643, 2023, CPI-adjusted). Food handler certification…Residential dwelling allowed. Only non-potentially-hazardous foods permitted. Annual sales cap $50,000 (CPI-adjusted; $51,200 in 2025). Can…
Food storageAppropriate storage for non-PHF productsNon-PHF packaged products only. Cannabis products expressly excluded. Refrigerated products not permitted.Non-potentially-hazardous shelf-stable foods must be stored appropriately. Separate storage for cottage food ingredients, packaging, and la…
Population69,506111,3227,869
Crosodo Forum

Klamath County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Klamath County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Oregon counties

Oregon
Pop. 808K
Oregon
Pop. 600K
Oregon
Pop. 421K
Oregon
Pop. 382K
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Klamath County, Oregon

Reach home bakers in Klamath County, Oregon. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Oregon's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Klamath County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.