Cottage food law & license in Lincoln County, OR
What's in the Lincoln County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Lincoln County?
More Lincoln County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Lincoln County?
How to start in Lincoln County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Oregon cottage food rules in Lincoln County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Oregon cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Packaged, non-potentially-hazardous foods made in a residential dwelling are permitted, including baked goods, confectionery items, coffee beans, teas, popcorn, jams, jellies, honey, syrups, fruit butters, nut mixes, repackaged freeze-dried foods, repackaged dried and dehydrated foods, and powdered drink mixes. Cannabis-containing foods are excluded. Direct sales to end users are permitted in any manner — from home, online, through the mail, and at events.). Lincoln County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $50,000. On-site / porch pickup in Lincoln County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Depends. Local inspection in Lincoln County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Oregon disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Oregon label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is homemade, is not prepared in an inspected food establishment”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Oregon county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Oregon county rules quiz
Lincoln County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Oregon statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Lincoln County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Lincoln County cottage food rules with Oregon agencies?
Lincoln County is a county in Oregon (pop. 50,334). Under Oregon's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 50000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Depends. Start with Oregon Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Lincoln County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Lincoln County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Oregon's SB 643 (2023) expanded the residential dwelling food law: raised cap to $50,000, expanded product list, permitted online/mail/event sales, and relaxed pet rules. Food handler certification required. Lincoln County is a coastal Oregon county with Newport as the county seat. No county-specific rules found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Lincoln County?
Tier: Good
Oregon has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Oregon cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Lincoln County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Lincoln County
State baseline: ORS §616.723
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Must be residential dwelling kitchen. Non-potentially hazardous foods only. Annual sales cap $50,000 (CPI-adjusted per SB 643, 2023). Food handler certification (ORS §624.570) required. Products cannot be sold to institutions (caterers, schools, day cares, hospitals, nursing homes, correctional facilities, restaurants).
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Pets may not be in the food preparation area (but elsewhere in dwelling is acceptable per SB 643, 2023).
- Water supply
- Not specified in state cottage food law.
- Handwashing
- Standard sanitation practices required per food handler certification.
- Food storage
- Products must be non-potentially hazardous and packaged at the residential dwelling.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection for residential dwelling operations. No license required for direct-to-consumer sales under $50,000.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- No specific Lincoln County cottage food ordinances found. Lincoln County and its cities (Newport, Lincoln City, Toledo) have separate zoning codes. Home occupation permits may be required for home-based food businesses. Recommend verifying with Lincoln County Planning Department and relevant municipality.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct-to-consumer sales allowed at home, online, by mail, and at events. Retail sales to stores permitted under specific conditions. No sales to institutions.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state cottage food law.
- Relevant code section
- ORS §616.723; SB 643 (2023); Lincoln County zoning codes
Oregon's SB 643 (2023) expanded the residential dwelling food law: raised cap to $50,000, expanded product list, permitted online/mail/event sales, and relaxed pet rules. Food handler certification required. Lincoln County is a coastal Oregon county with Newport as the county seat. No county-specific rules found.
What does the Oregon cottage food statute say?
Oregon Revised Statutes §616.723, Food establishments in residential dwellings (as amended by Oregon SB 643, 2023 Regular Session)
Full Oregon License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt616.723. (1) As used in this section: (a) "Food" and "food establishment" have the meanings given those terms in ORS 616.695. "Food" does not include any article containing cannabis. (b) "Potentially hazardous" means requiring temperature control due to the capacity to support the rapid and progressive growth of infectious microorganisms or the growth of toxic microorganisms. (c) "Retailer" means a person who engages in the business of selling consumer goods to retail buyers. "Retailer" includes coffee shops and excludes restaurants. (2) ORS 616.695 to 616.755 do not apply to a food establishment if: (a) The food establishment is located in a residential dwelling; (b) The foods prepared at the food establishment for public distribution are packaged and not potentially hazardous, including but not limited to baked goods, confectionary items, coffee beans, teas, popcorn, jams, jellies, honey, syrups, fruit butters, nut mixes, repackaged freeze-dried foods, repackaged dried and dehydrated foods and powdered drink mixes; (c) The food bears on its label a statement and product information as described in subsection (6) of this section informing consumers that the product is not prepared in an inspected food establishment; (d) The annual gross sales of foods prepared at the food establishment do not exceed $50,000, adjusted annually for inflation pursuant to the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers, West Region (All Items); and (e) Each individual involved in the preparation of food at the food establishment for public distribution has successfully completed a food handler training program and holds a certificate issued under ORS 624.570.
Source: olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/SB643 →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Lincoln County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeLincoln County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Lincoln County, Oregon?
Home occupation permit: Conditional. No specific Lincoln County cottage food ordinances found. Lincoln County and its cities (Newport, Lincoln City, Toledo) have separate zoning codes. Home occupation permits may be required for home-based food businesses. Recommend verifying with Lincoln County Planning Department and relevant municipality. State cottage food registration may also apply.
What cottage food path applies in Lincoln County?
Oregon cottage food rules are listed on this page. Follow the registration path shown here.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Lincoln County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Lincoln County. Ask Lincoln County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Oregon?
$50,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Lincoln County?
Apply through Lincoln County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Lincoln County, Oregon — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Oregon cottage food law in Lincoln County?
Packaged, non-potentially-hazardous foods made in a residential dwelling are permitted, including baked goods, confectionery items, coffee beans, teas, popcorn, jams, jellies, honey, syrups, fruit butters, nut mixes, repackaged freeze-dried foods, repackaged dried and dehydrated foods, and powdered drink mixes. Cannabis-containing foods are excluded. Direct sales to end users are permitted in any manner — from home, online, through the mail, and at events. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Oregon, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Lincoln County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection for residential dwelling operations. No license required for direct-to-consumer sales under $50,000.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Oregon report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeLincoln County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Lincoln County.
Download county reportFull Oregon License & Permit Guide (122 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Lincoln County.
Oregon law pageFree email alerts
Lincoln County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Lincoln County, with Oregon statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Lincoln County page based on?
Where to verify Lincoln County rules
Lincoln County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Lincoln County This county | Tillamook County | Polk County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Pets may not be in the food preparation area (but elsewhere in dwelling is acceptable per SB 643, 2023). | Pets not allowed in food preparation area during food production per ORS 616.723 / ODA rules. Label must note presence of pets in home if a… | Pets must be excluded from the production area during cottage food preparation. |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Conditional | Conditional |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct-to-consumer sales allowed at home, online, by mail, and at events. Retail sales to stores permitted under specific conditions. No sa… | Direct sales to end users permitted from home, online, through the mail, and at events. Sales to retailers permitted under specific conditi… | Cottage foods may be sold from home, online, by mail, at events, and to retailers (with labeling/signage requirements for retailers). |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Must be residential dwelling kitchen. Non-potentially hazardous foods only. Annual sales cap $50,000 (CPI-adjusted per SB 643, 2023). Food … | Residential dwelling allowed. Only non-potentially-hazardous foods permitted. Annual sales cap $50,000 (CPI-adjusted; $51,200 in 2025). Can… | Oregon cottage food exemption (ORS §616.723): non-PHF foods produced in primary home kitchen for direct sales up to $51,200/year (2025 cap)… |
| Food storage | Products must be non-potentially hazardous and packaged at the residential dwelling. | Non-potentially-hazardous shelf-stable foods must be stored appropriately. Separate storage for cottage food ingredients, packaging, and la… | Ingredients, containers, labels kept separate from household foods in closed storage. Separate refrigeration for perishable ingredients. Cl… |
| Population | 50,334 | 27,036 | 87,600 |
What other Oregon counties can I compare?
Other Oregon counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Lincoln County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Oregon's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Lincoln County bakers?
Lincoln County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Lincoln County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Lincoln County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Lincoln County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Lincoln County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Lincoln County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Lincoln County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Lincoln County
- Check with Lincoln County business license office
- Check with Lincoln County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Oregon
- Selling to stores: check with Oregon Department of Agriculture
Lincoln County
- Check with Lincoln County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Oregon
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Oregon Department of Agriculture
Lincoln County
- Check with Lincoln County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Oregon · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Oregon Department of Agriculture.
Oregon · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Oregon Department of Agriculture.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.