Cottage food law & license in Pike County, PA
What's in the Pike County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Pike County?
More Pike County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Pike County?
How to start in Pike County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Pennsylvania cottage food rules in Pike County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Pennsylvania cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially hazardous (non-TCS) foods that do not require refrigeration of the finished product are allowed, including baked goods, jams and jellies, beverages and drinks, acid/acidified/fermented foods (with specific testing requirements), candy, and other shelf-stable foods. Each food category has specific requirements detailed in the application packet.). Pike County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Pike County: Conditional. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Pike County: Yes. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Pennsylvania disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Pennsylvania label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer required by Pennsylvania (exact wording may be set by statute or agency)
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Pennsylvania county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Pennsylvania county rules quiz
Pike County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Pennsylvania statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Pike County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Pike County cottage food rules with Pennsylvania agencies?
Pike County is a county in Pennsylvania (pop. 58,996). Under Pennsylvania's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Pike County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Pike County: home kitchen allowed; inspection required; home occupation permit not required. No county-specific cottage food ordinance found for Pike County. State baseline (3 Pa.C.S. §§5721-5737) applies. Pike County is in northeastern PA near the Delaware Water Gap/Pocono area. Initial kitchen inspection and $35 fee required. Application must be submitted at least 60 days before operations begin. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Pike County?
Tier: Good
Pennsylvania has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Pennsylvania cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Pike County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Pike County
State baseline: 3 Pa.C.S. §§5721-5737
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Pennsylvania Limited Food Establishment requires registration ($35 for 2-year registration), an initial on-site kitchen inspection, and subsequent routine inspections. Non-potentially hazardous (non-TCS) foods only. No sales cap. Not available in Philadelphia County (not applicable here). Direct and limited indirect sales permitted.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Subject to standard food safety GMP requirements; inspection will verify.
- Water supply
- Water supply inspected as part of initial kitchen inspection.
- Handwashing
- Adequate handwashing facilities required and verified during kitchen inspection.
- Food storage
- Non-TCS, non-refrigerated products required; proper storage verified during inspection.
- Inspection required
- Yes
- Inspection trigger
- Initial inspection required before registration; subsequent routine inspections apply.
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- Pike County and local municipalities may require a home occupation permit. Operators should check with Pike County Planning Commission.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Conditional
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct and limited indirect sales permitted. Must apply at least 60 days before starting operations.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state statute.
- Relevant code section
- Pike County zoning (home occupation provisions); no specific cottage food county code identified.
No county-specific cottage food ordinance found for Pike County. State baseline (3 Pa.C.S. §§5721-5737) applies. Pike County is in northeastern PA near the Delaware Water Gap/Pocono area. Initial kitchen inspection and $35 fee required. Application must be submitted at least 60 days before operations begin.
What does the Pennsylvania cottage food statute say?
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, Title 3 – Agriculture, Chapter 57 – Food Protection, Subchapter B – Food Safety, Sections 5721–5737 (Food Safety Act)
Full Pennsylvania License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptAccording to the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture's Limited Food Establishment Application Packet (Rev 3/2024): "According to the Food Safety Act (3 Pa.C.S.A. §§5721 – 5737) '…it shall be the duty of every person operating a food establishment within this Commonwealth to register…'" The Limited Food Establishment program registers home-based and noncommercial food production sites that meet specific guidelines. In this program, we refer to 'limited food processors' or 'residential-style kitchens' as any kitchen meant for home use, regardless of location. These kitchens can only make non-hazardous foods that do not require refrigeration of the finished product. Given the restrictions and possible testing for home kitchens, close monitoring is essential. Registration involves inspection of the food production site on a routine basis by the Department. Registration includes sales direct from the production site including internet sales; however, businesses aiming to sell across state lines might also need FDA registration. A Retail Food Facility License may also be required for sales at an event or Farmer's Market. *This registration is not permitted in Philadelphia County.
Source: pa.gov/agencies/pda/food/food-safety/limited-food-establishment-.html →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Pike County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timePike County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Pike County, Pennsylvania?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Pike County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Pike County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Pike County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Pike County. Ask Pike County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Pennsylvania?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Pike County?
Apply via Pike County environmental health (pa.gov). Official link: https://pa.gov/agencies/pda/food/food-safety/limited-food-establishment-.html. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Pennsylvania cottage food law in Pike County?
Non-potentially hazardous (non-TCS) foods that do not require refrigeration of the finished product are allowed, including baked goods, jams and jellies, beverages and drinks, acid/acidified/fermented foods (with specific testing requirements), candy, and other shelf-stable foods. Each food category has specific requirements detailed in the application packet. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Pennsylvania, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Pike County?
Inspection: Yes. Trigger: Initial inspection required before registration; subsequent routine inspections apply.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Pennsylvania report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timePike County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Pike County.
Download county reportFull Pennsylvania License & Permit Guide (200 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Pike County.
Pennsylvania law pageFree email alerts
Pike County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Pike County, with Pennsylvania statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Pike County page based on?
Where to verify Pike County rules
Pike County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Pike County This county | Wayne County | Monroe County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Subject to standard food safety GMP requirements; inspection will verify. | Not specified in state cottage food law, but GMP requirements apply during inspection. | Home kitchen inspected; pets likely required away from food prep areas during production. |
| Inspection required | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site customer pickup | Conditional | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct and limited indirect sales permitted. Must apply at least 60 days before starting operations. | Direct-to-consumer and limited indirect sales allowed under LFE. Products may be sold at farmers markets, events, home, and to some retaile… | Direct sales from production site and internet sales included in registration. Farmers market sales may require separate Retail Food Facili… |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | Conditional | Conditional |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Pennsylvania Limited Food Establishment requires registration ($35 for 2-year registration), an initial on-site kitchen inspection, and sub… | Must apply for Limited Food Establishment (LFE) registration ($35 fee, 2-year registration). Initial on-site kitchen inspection required be… | Registration required with PA Department of Agriculture ($35 for 2-year registration). Initial on-site inspection required before registrat… |
| Food storage | Non-TCS, non-refrigerated products required; proper storage verified during inspection. | Products must be non-TCS; proper storage required per LFE requirements. | Non-refrigerated foods stored in sanitary conditions; assessed during inspection. |
| Population | 58,996 | 51,227 | 168,128 |
What other Pennsylvania counties can I compare?
Other Pennsylvania counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Pike County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Pennsylvania's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Pike County bakers?
Pike County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Pike County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Pike County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Pike County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Pike County at a glance?
File with Pike County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Pike County environmental health(pa.gov)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Pike County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Pennsylvania
Pike County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Pennsylvania
Pike County
- Check with Pike County business license office
- Check with Pike County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Pennsylvania
- Selling to stores: check with Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture
Pike County
- Check with Pike County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Pennsylvania
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture
Pike County
- Check with Pike County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Pennsylvania · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture.
Pennsylvania · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.