Cottage food law & license in Cheatham County, TN
What's in the Cheatham County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Cheatham County?
More Cheatham County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Cheatham County?
How to start in Cheatham County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Tennessee cottage food rules in Cheatham County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Tennessee cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Any non-time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS) homemade food item produced at the producer's private residence is allowed, including baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and more. No prescribed list of allowed foods – the broad exemption covers all non-TCS homemade foods.). Cheatham County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Cheatham County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Cheatham County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Tennessee disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Tennessee label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced at a private residence that is exempt from state licensing and inspection. This product may contain allergens.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Tennessee county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Tennessee county rules quiz
Cheatham County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Tennessee statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Cheatham County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Cheatham County cottage food rules with Tennessee agencies?
Cheatham County is a county in Tennessee (pop. 41,184). Under Tennessee's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Tennessee Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Cheatham County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Cheatham County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. No county-specific cottage food ordinance found for Cheatham County, TN. Applied Tennessee Food Freedom Act state baseline (Tenn. Code §53-1-125, eff. July 1, 2022). Cheatham County is in middle TN adjacent to Nashville metro (seat: Ashland City) and may have more developed home occupation zoning. County zoning for home occupation should be verified locally. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Cheatham County?
Tier: Good
Tennessee has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Tennessee cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Cheatham County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Cheatham County
State baseline: Tenn. Code §53-1-125 (Food Freedom Act)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Tennessee Food Freedom Act (Tenn. Code §53-1-125, effective July 1, 2022) broadly allows any non-TCS homemade food from a private residence. No license, permit, inspection, or registration required. No sales cap. No labeling requirements beyond a disclosure statement.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- No specific pet restriction in state law; standard food safety hygiene practices apply.
- Water supply
- No specific state cottage food water supply requirement.
- Handwashing
- No specific state cottage food handwashing mandate; standard hygiene practices recommended.
- Food storage
- No specific state cottage food storage requirement; non-TCS foods must be stored appropriately.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- DOH may investigate only in connection with a foodborne illness investigation; no routine or complaint-only inspection authority for cottage food.
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- Cheatham County is adjacent to the Nashville metro area and may have more developed zoning regulations including home occupation permits. Operators should check with Cheatham County Planning in Ashland City.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Broad — direct and indirect sales permitted. Online, in-person, delivery, farmers markets, retail stores all allowed under Tennessee Food Freedom Act.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state law.
- Relevant code section
- Cheatham County Zoning Code (home occupation provisions); no specific cottage food county code identified.
No county-specific cottage food ordinance found for Cheatham County, TN. Applied Tennessee Food Freedom Act state baseline (Tenn. Code §53-1-125, eff. July 1, 2022). Cheatham County is in middle TN adjacent to Nashville metro (seat: Ashland City) and may have more developed home occupation zoning. County zoning for home occupation should be verified locally.
What does the Tennessee cottage food statute say?
Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 53 – Food, Drugs and Cosmetics, Chapter 1 – General Provisions, Part 1, Section 53-1-125 (Tennessee Food Freedom Act, Public Chapter No. 862, SB 693)
Full Tennessee License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptBE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE: SECTION 1. This act is known and may be cited as the "Tennessee Food Freedom Act." ... SECTION 3. Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 53, Chapter 1, Part 1, is amended by adding the following as a new section: (a) Notwithstanding part 2 of this chapter, or another law to the contrary, except as provided in this section, the production and sale of homemade food items under this chapter are exempt from all licensing, permitting, inspecting, packaging, and labeling laws of this state, except when the department of health is investigating a reported foodborne illness. (b) The exemption under subsection (a) only applies if the following conditions are satisfied: Non-time/temperature control for safety food homemade food items must be sold either by: The producer to the consumer in person or remotely... county, municipal, and other political jurisdictions [may not restrict] production and sale of homemade food items.
Source: publications.tnsosfiles.com/acts/112/pub/pc0862.pdf →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Cheatham County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeCheatham County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Cheatham County, Tennessee?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Cheatham County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Cheatham County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Cheatham County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Cheatham County. Ask Cheatham County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Tennessee?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Cheatham County?
Apply through Cheatham County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Cheatham County, Tennessee — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Tennessee cottage food law in Cheatham County?
Any non-time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS) homemade food item produced at the producer's private residence is allowed, including baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and more. No prescribed list of allowed foods – the broad exemption covers all non-TCS homemade foods. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Tennessee, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Cheatham County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: DOH may investigate only in connection with a foodborne illness investigation; no routine or complaint-only inspection authority for cottage food.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Tennessee report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeCheatham County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Cheatham County.
Download county reportFull Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Cheatham County.
Tennessee law pageFree email alerts
Cheatham County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Cheatham County, with Tennessee statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Cheatham County page based on?
Where to verify Cheatham County rules
Cheatham County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Cheatham County This county | Dickson County | Robertson County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No specific pet restriction in state law; standard food safety hygiene practices apply. | No specific TN state or Dickson County rule. | Not specified in state law. |
| Inspection required | No | No | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Broad — direct and indirect sales permitted. Online, in-person, delivery, farmers markets, retail stores all allowed under Tennessee Food F… | No channel restrictions; direct, online, retail, delivery all permitted. | Sales at farmers markets, grocery stores, roadside stands, events, online with in-state shipping. TCS foods in-person direct sales only. Sa… |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Tennessee Food Freedom Act (Tenn. Code §53-1-125, effective July 1, 2022) broadly allows any non-TCS homemade food from a private residence… | All non-TCS homemade foods from producer's private residence. No license, permit, inspection, or sales cap. | Must be produced at a private residence. Non-TCS foods allowed without license or permit. 2025 amendment allows most TCS foods but must be … |
| Food storage | No specific state cottage food storage requirement; non-TCS foods must be stored appropriately. | Products must be non-TCS. | TCS foods require appropriate temperature controls. |
| Population | 41,184 | 54,563 | 73,297 |
What other Tennessee counties can I compare?
Other Tennessee counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Cheatham County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Tennessee's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Cheatham County bakers?
Cheatham County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Cheatham County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Cheatham County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Cheatham County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Cheatham County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Cheatham County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Cheatham County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Tennessee
Cheatham County
- Check with Cheatham County business license office
- Check with Cheatham County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Tennessee
- Selling to stores: check with Tennessee Department of Agriculture
Cheatham County
- Check with Cheatham County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Tennessee
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Tennessee Department of Agriculture
Cheatham County
- Check with Cheatham County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Tennessee · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Tennessee Department of Agriculture.
Tennessee · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Tennessee Department of Agriculture.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.