Cottage food law & license in Davidson County, TN
What's in the Davidson County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Davidson County?
More Davidson County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Davidson County?
How to start in Davidson County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Tennessee cottage food rules in Davidson County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Tennessee cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Any non-time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS) homemade food item produced at the producer's private residence is allowed, including baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and more. No prescribed list of allowed foods – the broad exemption covers all non-TCS homemade foods.). Davidson County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Davidson County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Davidson County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Tennessee disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Tennessee label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced at a private residence that is exempt from state licensing and inspection. This product may contain allergens.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Tennessee county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Tennessee county rules quiz
Davidson County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Tennessee statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Davidson County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Davidson County cottage food rules with Tennessee agencies?
Davidson County is a top-100 county by population in Tennessee (pop. 709,786). Under Tennessee's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Tennessee Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Davidson County health and planning requirements via the health department and planning / zoning links on this page. Local notes for Davidson County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Davidson County/Nashville Metro follows Tennessee Food Freedom Act state baseline. State broadly deregulates non-TCS homemade food. Nashville is Tennessee's capital and largest city. No Davidson County-specific cottage food ordinance restricting state law found. Nashville Metro likely has home occupation permit requirements as a business matter (separate from food safety). Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Davidson County?
Tier: Good
Tennessee has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Tennessee cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Davidson County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Davidson County
State baseline: Tenn. Code §53-1-125 (Food Freedom Act, eff. July 1, 2022)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- State baseline: any non-TCS homemade food from private residence. No license, permit, inspection, or labeling requirements at state level. Davidson County/Nashville Metro consolidated government may have local business requirements.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified under Food Freedom Act
- Water supply
- Potable water implied; no specific state requirement
- Handwashing
- No specific state requirement under Food Freedom Act
- Food storage
- No specific state requirements
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- State DOH may investigate suspected foodborne illness or immediate public health threat only.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Nashville/Davidson Metro is a consolidated city-county government. Contact Metropolitan Nashville Planning Department and the Metro Codes & Building Safety Department for home occupation requirements. Nashville has a home occupation permit process (Metro Code §17.16.030 or similar zoning provisions).
- Local business license
- Yes
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Tennessee Food Freedom Act: no restrictions on sales venues or methods for non-TCS foods. Direct-to-consumer, online, delivery, events, farmers markets all permitted. County seat blank in input — Nashville is the county seat.
- Max employees in home
- unknown
- Relevant code section
- Tenn. Code §53-1-125; Nashville Metro Code for home occupations
Davidson County/Nashville Metro follows Tennessee Food Freedom Act state baseline. State broadly deregulates non-TCS homemade food. Nashville is Tennessee's capital and largest city. No Davidson County-specific cottage food ordinance restricting state law found. Nashville Metro likely has home occupation permit requirements as a business matter (separate from food safety).
What does the Tennessee cottage food statute say?
Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 53 – Food, Drugs and Cosmetics, Chapter 1 – General Provisions, Part 1, Section 53-1-125 (Tennessee Food Freedom Act, Public Chapter No. 862, SB 693)
Full Tennessee License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptBE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE: SECTION 1. This act is known and may be cited as the "Tennessee Food Freedom Act." ... SECTION 3. Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 53, Chapter 1, Part 1, is amended by adding the following as a new section: (a) Notwithstanding part 2 of this chapter, or another law to the contrary, except as provided in this section, the production and sale of homemade food items under this chapter are exempt from all licensing, permitting, inspecting, packaging, and labeling laws of this state, except when the department of health is investigating a reported foodborne illness. (b) The exemption under subsection (a) only applies if the following conditions are satisfied: Non-time/temperature control for safety food homemade food items must be sold either by: The producer to the consumer in person or remotely... county, municipal, and other political jurisdictions [may not restrict] production and sale of homemade food items.
Source: publications.tnsosfiles.com/acts/112/pub/pc0862.pdf →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Davidson County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeDavidson County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Davidson County, Tennessee?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Davidson County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Davidson County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Davidson County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Davidson County. Ask Davidson County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Tennessee?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Davidson County?
Apply via Davidson County environmental health (nashville.gov). Official link: https://www.nashville.gov/departments/health. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Tennessee cottage food law in Davidson County?
Any non-time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS) homemade food item produced at the producer's private residence is allowed, including baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and more. No prescribed list of allowed foods – the broad exemption covers all non-TCS homemade foods. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Tennessee, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Davidson County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: State DOH may investigate suspected foodborne illness or immediate public health threat only.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Tennessee report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeDavidson County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Davidson County.
Download county reportFull Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Davidson County.
Tennessee law pageFree email alerts
Davidson County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Davidson County, with Tennessee statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Davidson County page based on?
Where to verify Davidson County rules
Davidson County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Davidson County This county | Rutherford County | Williamson County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified under Food Freedom Act | No specific state restriction; general sanitation applies | Not specified in state statute; no state inspection requirement |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Tennessee Food Freedom Act: no restrictions on sales venues or methods for non-TCS foods. Direct-to-consumer, online, delivery, events, far… | Direct and indirect sales allowed; farmers markets, events, online, retail stores all permitted | All sales channels allowed under TN Food Freedom Act: farmers markets, grocery stores, roadside stands, events, online orders, and in-state… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Varies | Yes |
| Local business license | Yes | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | State baseline: any non-TCS homemade food from private residence. No license, permit, inspection, or labeling requirements at state level. … | Non-TCS foods only; label required; no state permit or inspection; produced at producer's private residence | All non-TCS homemade food products allowed with no license, permit, inspection, or labeling requirements from state (Tennessee Food Freedom… |
| Food storage | No specific state requirements | Sanitary storage at residence | Non-TCS foods only; no refrigerated finished products |
| Population | 709,786 | 343,727 | 248,897 |
What other Tennessee counties can I compare?
Other Tennessee counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Davidson County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Tennessee's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Davidson County bakers?
Davidson County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Davidson County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Davidson County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Davidson County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Davidson County at a glance?
File with Davidson County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Davidson County environmental health(nashville.gov)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Davidson County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Davidson County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Tennessee
Davidson County
- Check with Davidson County business license office
- Check with Davidson County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Tennessee
- Selling to stores: check with Tennessee Department of Agriculture
Davidson County
- Check with Davidson County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Tennessee
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Tennessee Department of Agriculture
Davidson County
- Check with Davidson County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Tennessee · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Tennessee Department of Agriculture.
Tennessee · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Tennessee Department of Agriculture.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.