Cottage food law & license in Rutherford County, TN

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep
Rutherford County Permits 101 for Rutherford County, Tennessee (70 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Tennessee cottage food — common first products
County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.
What's in the Rutherford County permit report


How to start in Rutherford County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Tennessee cottage food rules in Rutherford County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Tennessee cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Any non-time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS) homemade food item produced at the producer's private residence is allowed, including baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and more. No prescribed list of allowed foods – the broad exemption covers all non-TCS homemade foods.). Rutherford County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Rutherford County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Rutherford County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Tennessee disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Tennessee label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced at a private residence that is exempt from state licensing and inspection. This product may contain allergens.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Rutherford County is a county in Tennessee (pop. 343,727). Under Tennessee's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Tennessee Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Rutherford County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Rutherford County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. TN Food Freedom Act is permissive. No Rutherford County-specific cottage food restrictions found. Fast-growing county near Nashville; local municipalities may have home business zoning rules. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
Rutherford County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Rutherford County.
Download county reportFull Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Tier: Good
Tennessee has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Tennessee cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Rutherford County
State baseline: Tenn. Code §53-1-125 (Food Freedom Act); no registration, no inspection, no sales cap; home kitchen allowed; direct and indirect sales
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Non-TCS foods only; label required; no state permit or inspection; produced at producer's private residence
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- No specific state restriction; general sanitation applies
- Water supply
- Potable water at residence
- Handwashing
- Standard handwashing practices
- Food storage
- Sanitary storage at residence
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection; complaint possible
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- Tennessee does not preempt local zoning. Rutherford County and City of Murfreesboro may have home occupation permit requirements; operator should check with Rutherford County Planning or city zoning
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct and indirect sales allowed; farmers markets, events, online, retail stores all permitted
- Max employees in home
- Not specified
- Relevant code section
- Not identified
TN Food Freedom Act is permissive. No Rutherford County-specific cottage food restrictions found. Fast-growing county near Nashville; local municipalities may have home business zoning rules.
Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 53 – Food, Drugs and Cosmetics, Chapter 1 – General Provisions, Part 1, Section 53-1-125 (Tennessee Food Freedom Act, Public Chapter No. 862, SB 693)
Full Tennessee License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptBE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE: SECTION 1. This act is known and may be cited as the "Tennessee Food Freedom Act." ... SECTION 3. Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 53, Chapter 1, Part 1, is amended by adding the following as a new section: (a) Notwithstanding part 2 of this chapter, or another law to the contrary, except as provided in this section, the production and sale of homemade food items under this chapter are exempt from all licensing, permitting, inspecting, packaging, and labeling laws of this state, except when the department of health is investigating a reported foodborne illness. (b) The exemption under subsection (a) only applies if the following conditions are satisfied: Non-time/temperature control for safety food homemade food items must be sold either by: The producer to the consumer in person or remotely... county, municipal, and other political jurisdictions [may not restrict] production and sale of homemade food items.
Source: publications.tnsosfiles.com/acts/112/pub/pc0862.pdf →
Rutherford County Permit Guide $26
This page stays free — the Rutherford County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (70 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Rutherford County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Rutherford County, Tennessee?
Home occupation permit: Varies. Tennessee does not preempt local zoning. Rutherford County and City of Murfreesboro may have home occupation permit requirements; operator should check with Rutherford County Planning or city zoning State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Tennessee guide at https://crosodo.com/states/tennessee.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Rutherford County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection; complaint possible. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
What foods can I sell under Tennessee cottage food law in Rutherford County?
Any non-time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS) homemade food item produced at the producer's private residence is allowed, including baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and more. No prescribed list of allowed foods – the broad exemption covers all non-TCS homemade foods. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Tennessee, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Tennessee?
Tennessee state law lists cottage food sales at None. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.
Do I need a home occupation permit in Rutherford County?
Home occupation permit: Varies. Tennessee does not preempt local zoning. Rutherford County and City of Murfreesboro may have home occupation permit requirements; operator should check with Rutherford County Planning or city zoning
The free county page is the short version. This is the full Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages).

Where to verify Rutherford County rules
Rutherford County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Rutherford County This county | Williamson County | Wilson County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No specific state restriction; general sanitation applies | Not specified in state statute; no state inspection requirement | No specific state restriction on pets in home for cottage food. |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct and indirect sales allowed; farmers markets, events, online, retail stores all permitted | All sales channels allowed under TN Food Freedom Act: farmers markets, grocery stores, roadside stands, events, online orders, and in-state… | Sales allowed anywhere — direct, online, retail, wholesale, restaurant sales all permitted under the Food Freedom Act for non-TCS foods. |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | Yes | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Non-TCS foods only; label required; no state permit or inspection; produced at producer's private residence | All non-TCS homemade food products allowed with no license, permit, inspection, or labeling requirements from state (Tennessee Food Freedom… | Tennessee Food Freedom Act (eff. July 1, 2022) broadly allows all non-TCS homemade foods from a private residence. No license, permit, insp… |
| Food storage | Sanitary storage at residence | Non-TCS foods only; no refrigerated finished products | Non-TCS foods only; proper storage practices recommended. |
| Population | 343,727 | 248,897 | 149,096 |
Rutherford County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Rutherford County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Other Tennessee counties
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Advertise here
Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise in Rutherford County, Tennessee
Reach home bakers in Rutherford County, Tennessee. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.
Learn about placementsYour business here
Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.
Post in the local discussionAds are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Tennessee's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.