Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Tennessee Report Guide · 251 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: Manchester · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Coffee County, TN

Can I sell cottage food from home in Coffee County, Tennessee?
Yes — Tennessee allows cottage food sales under a Good-tier law (cap: None). Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Tennessee Department of Agriculture and the Coffee County health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Coffee County Permits 101 for Coffee County, Tennessee (68 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Coffee County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Coffee County?

Tennessee cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Coffee County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Coffee County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Coffee County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Coffee County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Tennessee cottage food rules in Coffee County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Tennessee cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Any non-time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS) homemade food item produced at the producer's private residence is allowed, including baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and more. No prescribed list of allowed foods – the broad exemption covers all non-TCS homemade foods.). Coffee County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Coffee County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Coffee County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Tennessee disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Tennessee label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced at a private residence that is exempt from state licensing and inspection. This product may contain allergens.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Coffee County is a county in Tennessee (pop. 58,080). Under Tennessee's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Tennessee Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Coffee County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Coffee County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. No county-specific cottage food ordinance found for Coffee County. Tennessee Food Freedom Act (§53-1-125) applies. Coffee County is in south-central TN; Manchester is known for Bonnaroo festival area. Local zoning should be verified. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Coffee County cottage food reports

What permits in Coffee County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Coffee County county cottage food report
Coffee County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Coffee County.

Download county report
Cover of Tennessee cottage food law PDF report
Tennessee state report

Full Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Good

Tennessee has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Tennessee cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Coffee County

State baseline: Tenn. Code §53-1-125 (Food Freedom Act)

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Tennessee Food Freedom Act (effective July 1, 2022) broadly allows any non-TCS homemade food from a private residence. No license, permit, inspection, or registration required. No sales cap.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific pet restriction in state law.
Water supply
No specific state cottage food water supply requirement.
Handwashing
No specific state mandate; standard hygiene recommended.
Food storage
Non-TCS foods must be stored appropriately.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
DOH may investigate only in connection with a foodborne illness investigation.
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
Coffee County and City of Manchester may have home occupation zoning requirements. Operators should check with Coffee County Codes Enforcement or Planning.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Broad — direct and indirect sales permitted under TN Food Freedom Act. Online, in-person, delivery, farmers markets, retail stores all allowed.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state law.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Coffee County Zoning Ordinance (home occupation provisions); no specific cottage food county code identified.
Local notes

No county-specific cottage food ordinance found for Coffee County. Tennessee Food Freedom Act (§53-1-125) applies. Coffee County is in south-central TN; Manchester is known for Bonnaroo festival area. Local zoning should be verified.

Tennessee statute (state law)

Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 53 – Food, Drugs and Cosmetics, Chapter 1 – General Provisions, Part 1, Section 53-1-125 (Tennessee Food Freedom Act, Public Chapter No. 862, SB 693)

Citation: Tenn. Code §53-1-125 (Food Freedom Act)
Verbatim excerpt

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE: SECTION 1. This act is known and may be cited as the "Tennessee Food Freedom Act." ... SECTION 3. Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 53, Chapter 1, Part 1, is amended by adding the following as a new section: (a) Notwithstanding part 2 of this chapter, or another law to the contrary, except as provided in this section, the production and sale of homemade food items under this chapter are exempt from all licensing, permitting, inspecting, packaging, and labeling laws of this state, except when the department of health is investigating a reported foodborne illness. (b) The exemption under subsection (a) only applies if the following conditions are satisfied: Non-time/temperature control for safety food homemade food items must be sold either by: The producer to the consumer in person or remotely... county, municipal, and other political jurisdictions [may not restrict] production and sale of homemade food items.

Source: publications.tnsosfiles.com/acts/112/pub/pc0862.pdf
Full Tennessee License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Coffee County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Coffee County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (68 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Coffee County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Coffee County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Coffee County, Tennessee?

Home occupation permit: Varies. Coffee County and City of Manchester may have home occupation zoning requirements. Operators should check with Coffee County Codes Enforcement or Planning. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Tennessee guide at https://crosodo.com/states/tennessee.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Coffee County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: DOH may investigate only in connection with a foodborne illness investigation.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Tennessee cottage food law in Coffee County?

Any non-time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS) homemade food item produced at the producer's private residence is allowed, including baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and more. No prescribed list of allowed foods – the broad exemption covers all non-TCS homemade foods. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Tennessee, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Tennessee?

Tennessee state law lists cottage food sales at None. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Coffee County?

Home occupation permit: Varies. Coffee County and City of Manchester may have home occupation zoning requirements. Operators should check with Coffee County Codes Enforcement or Planning.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Coffee County vs. bordering counties

RegulationCoffee County
This county
Bedford CountyFranklin County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific pet restriction in state law.Not specified in state cottage food law.No specific pet restriction in state law; standard food safety hygiene practices apply.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupBroad — direct and indirect sales permitted under TN Food Freedom Act. Online, in-person, delivery, farmers markets, retail stores all allo…No restrictions specified in state law. All non-TCS homemade food sales broadly permitted.Broad — direct and indirect sales permitted. Online, in-person, delivery, farmers markets, retail stores all allowed under Tennessee Food F…
Home occupation permitVariesConditionalVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsTennessee Food Freedom Act (effective July 1, 2022) broadly allows any non-TCS homemade food from a private residence. No license, permit, …Any non-TCS homemade food produced at producer's private residence is allowed. No license, permit, inspection, or labeling requirements exc…Tennessee Food Freedom Act (Tenn. Code §53-1-125, effective July 1, 2022) broadly allows any non-TCS homemade food from a private residence…
Food storageNon-TCS foods must be stored appropriately.Products must be non-TCS (not requiring temperature control for safety).No specific state cottage food storage requirement; non-TCS foods must be stored appropriately.
Population58,08050,53342,980
Crosodo Forum

Coffee County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Coffee County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Tennessee counties

Tennessee
Pop. 926K
Tennessee
Pop. 710K
Tennessee
Pop. 481K
Tennessee
Pop. 367K
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Coffee County, Tennessee

Reach home bakers in Coffee County, Tennessee. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Tennessee's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Coffee County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.