Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Tennessee Report Guide · 251 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: Shelbyville · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Bedford County, TN

Can I sell cottage food from home in Bedford County, Tennessee?
Yes — Tennessee allows cottage food sales under a Good-tier law (cap: None). Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Tennessee Department of Agriculture and the Bedford County health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Bedford County Permits 101 for Bedford County, Tennessee (69 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Bedford County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Bedford County?

Tennessee cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Bedford County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Bedford County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Bedford County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Bedford County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Tennessee cottage food rules in Bedford County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Tennessee cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Any non-time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS) homemade food item produced at the producer's private residence is allowed, including baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and more. No prescribed list of allowed foods – the broad exemption covers all non-TCS homemade foods.). Bedford County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Bedford County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Bedford County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Tennessee disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Tennessee label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced at a private residence that is exempt from state licensing and inspection. This product may contain allergens.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Bedford County is a county in Tennessee (pop. 50,533). Under Tennessee's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Tennessee Department of Agriculture (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Bedford County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Bedford County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Tennessee's Food Freedom Act (2022) broadly deregulates non-TCS homemade food production and sales — no licensing, permits, inspections, or labeling requirements. Bedford County is in middle Tennessee, known for the Tennessee Walking Horse industry. No county-specific rules found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Bedford County cottage food reports

What permits in Bedford County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Bedford County county cottage food report
Bedford County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Bedford County.

Download county report
Cover of Tennessee cottage food law PDF report
Tennessee state report

Full Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Good

Tennessee has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Tennessee cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Bedford County

State baseline: Tenn. Code §53-1-125 (Food Freedom Act)

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Any non-TCS homemade food produced at producer's private residence is allowed. No license, permit, inspection, or labeling requirements except for DOH foodborne illness investigations. Broad exemption covering all non-TCS homemade foods.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state cottage food law.
Water supply
Not specified in state cottage food law.
Handwashing
Not explicitly required by state cottage food law.
Food storage
Products must be non-TCS (not requiring temperature control for safety).
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection. DOH may investigate foodborne illness. No registration or permit required.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
No specific Bedford County cottage food ordinances found. City of Shelbyville may require business license for home-based food businesses. Recommend verifying with Bedford County and City of Shelbyville planning departments.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
No restrictions specified in state law. All non-TCS homemade food sales broadly permitted.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state cottage food law.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Tenn. Code §53-1-125; Public Chapter No. 862 (SB 693/HB 813, eff. July 1, 2022)
Local notes

Tennessee's Food Freedom Act (2022) broadly deregulates non-TCS homemade food production and sales — no licensing, permits, inspections, or labeling requirements. Bedford County is in middle Tennessee, known for the Tennessee Walking Horse industry. No county-specific rules found.

Tennessee statute (state law)

Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 53 – Food, Drugs and Cosmetics, Chapter 1 – General Provisions, Part 1, Section 53-1-125 (Tennessee Food Freedom Act, Public Chapter No. 862, SB 693)

Citation: Tenn. Code §53-1-125 (Food Freedom Act)
Verbatim excerpt

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE: SECTION 1. This act is known and may be cited as the "Tennessee Food Freedom Act." ... SECTION 3. Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 53, Chapter 1, Part 1, is amended by adding the following as a new section: (a) Notwithstanding part 2 of this chapter, or another law to the contrary, except as provided in this section, the production and sale of homemade food items under this chapter are exempt from all licensing, permitting, inspecting, packaging, and labeling laws of this state, except when the department of health is investigating a reported foodborne illness. (b) The exemption under subsection (a) only applies if the following conditions are satisfied: Non-time/temperature control for safety food homemade food items must be sold either by: The producer to the consumer in person or remotely... county, municipal, and other political jurisdictions [may not restrict] production and sale of homemade food items.

Source: publications.tnsosfiles.com/acts/112/pub/pc0862.pdf
Full Tennessee License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Bedford County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Bedford County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (69 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Bedford County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Bedford County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Bedford County, Tennessee?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. No specific Bedford County cottage food ordinances found. City of Shelbyville may require business license for home-based food businesses. Recommend verifying with Bedford County and City of Shelbyville planning departments. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Tennessee guide at https://crosodo.com/states/tennessee.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Bedford County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection. DOH may investigate foodborne illness. No registration or permit required.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Tennessee cottage food law in Bedford County?

Any non-time/temperature control for safety (non-TCS) homemade food item produced at the producer's private residence is allowed, including baked goods, jams, jellies, candy, dried herbs, non-TCS beverages, and more. No prescribed list of allowed foods – the broad exemption covers all non-TCS homemade foods. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Tennessee, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Tennessee?

Tennessee state law lists cottage food sales at None. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Bedford County?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. No specific Bedford County cottage food ordinances found. City of Shelbyville may require business license for home-based food businesses. Recommend verifying with Bedford County and City of Shelbyville planning departments.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Tennessee License & Permit Guide (251 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Bedford County vs. bordering counties

RegulationBedford County
This county
Coffee CountyLincoln County
Home kitchen allowedYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state cottage food law.No specific pet restriction in state law.
Inspection requiredNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupNo restrictions specified in state law. All non-TCS homemade food sales broadly permitted.Broad — direct and indirect sales permitted under TN Food Freedom Act. Online, in-person, delivery, farmers markets, retail stores all allo…
Home occupation permitConditionalVaries
Local business licenseVariesVaries
RestrictionsAny non-TCS homemade food produced at producer's private residence is allowed. No license, permit, inspection, or labeling requirements exc…Tennessee Food Freedom Act (effective July 1, 2022) broadly allows any non-TCS homemade food from a private residence. No license, permit, …
Food storageProducts must be non-TCS (not requiring temperature control for safety).Non-TCS foods must be stored appropriately.
Population50,53358,08035,365
Crosodo Forum

Bedford County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Bedford County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Tennessee counties

Tennessee
Pop. 926K
Tennessee
Pop. 710K
Tennessee
Pop. 481K
Tennessee
Pop. 367K
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Bedford County, Tennessee

Reach home bakers in Bedford County, Tennessee. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Tennessee's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Bedford County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.