Cottage food law & license in Chesapeake city, VA
What's in the Chesapeake City permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Chesapeake city?
More Chesapeake city resources
What's new for Virginia cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Chesapeake city?
How to start in Chesapeake city
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Virginia cottage food rules in Chesapeake city. Not legal advice.
Cottage exemption and HFPO
Crosodo year one follows the home cottage exemption in Va. Code § 3.2-5130. That exemption is not a certification. VDACS does not issue a cottage certificate. A Home Food Processing Operation (HFPO) is a different path: inspection, permit, and a $40 annual fee on the official application. Local zoning, HBB, MHO, BPOL, and market insurance are separate papers. A market can require insurance without a state cottage certificate. Fairfax County porch pickup and HBB, and Fairfax City MHO, are local rules. They are not HFPO. The current Code and the VDACS Home Food Exemptions FAQ (REV JUL 2026) allow internet and phone sales and in-state delivery or mail. Buyers stay in the Commonwealth. Not legal advice. Confirm with VDACS and the market.
Confirm your menu under state law
Virginia cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private homes including candies, jams, jellies (not low-acid/acidified), dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, nuts, vinegars, popcorn, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods that do not require temperature control. Pickles and acidified vegetables with equilibrium pH 4.6 or lower are allowed with a $9,000 annual gross sales cap. Honey from own hives under 250 gallons per year is also allowed under a separate provision.). Chesapeake city cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: Tiered. On-site / porch pickup in Chesapeake city: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Chesapeake city: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Virginia disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Virginia label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “NOT FOR RESALE PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Virginia county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Virginia county rules quiz
Chesapeake city does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Virginia statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Chesapeake city quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Chesapeake city cottage food rules with Virginia agencies?
Chesapeake city is a county in Virginia (pop. 249,377). Under Virginia's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: Tiered), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Chesapeake city health and planning requirements. Local notes for Chesapeake city: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Chesapeake is an independent Virginia city (not a county) that functions as its own local government. Follows Virginia state baseline (Va. Code §3.2-5130). Virginia has a notably low $9,000 cap for pickles/acidified vegetables. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Chesapeake city?
Tier: Good
Virginia has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Virginia cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Chesapeake city zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Chesapeake city
State baseline: Va. Code §3.2-5130
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. No registration required for general non-acidified cottage foods. Pickles/acidified vegetables capped at $9,000/year. Label must state 'NOT FOR RESALE — PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION'. Direct sales to consumers only. No resale/consignment.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state statute
- Water supply
- Potable water supply required
- Handwashing
- No formal certification required by state
- Food storage
- Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; extensive prohibited list including TCS foods, dairy, meat, fish
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- Department may inspect upon consumer complaint
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- City of Chesapeake may require home occupation permit under Chesapeake zoning ordinance. As an independent city, Chesapeake administers its own zoning. Check with Chesapeake Planning Department.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct sales to consumers only at home, farmers markets, events. No retail store sales, no consignment, no wholesale.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state statute
- Relevant code section
- Va. Code §3.2-5130; City of Chesapeake Zoning Ordinance
Chesapeake is an independent Virginia city (not a county) that functions as its own local government. Follows Virginia state baseline (Va. Code §3.2-5130). Virginia has a notably low $9,000 cap for pickles/acidified vegetables.
What does the Virginia cottage food statute say?
Code of Virginia, Title 3.2 Agriculture, Animal Care, and Food, Chapter 51 Food and Drink, §3.2-5130 Inspections required to operate food establishment
Full Virginia License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptC. The provisions of subsections A and B shall not apply to: 3. Private homes where the resident processes and prepares candies, jams, and jellies not considered to be low-acid or acidified low-acid food products, dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, coated and uncoated nuts, vinegars and flavored vinegars, popcorn, popcorn balls, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods if such products are (i) those that do not require time or temperature control after preparation; (ii) sold at any location, through the internet, or by phone to an individual in the Commonwealth for his own consumption and not for resale or consignment; (iii) delivered in person, by mail, or by delivery service to an individual in the Commonwealth for his own consumption and not for resale or consignment; (iv) not offered for sale to be used in or offered for consumption in retail food establishments; and (v) affixed with a label placed on the principal display panel or, for a product in packaging not large enough to bear such a label, offered for sale with a sign displaying the name, physical address or post office box number, and telephone number of the person preparing the food product, the date the food product was processed, and the statement "NOT FOR RESALE PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION." Nothing in this subdivision shall prohibit a resident selling a food product in accordance with this subdivision from advertising such food product on the Internet. Amended 2026, c. 605 (HB 402), effective July 1, 2026.
Source: law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title3.2/chapter51/section3.2-5130/ →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Chesapeake City’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeChesapeake city cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Chesapeake city, Virginia?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Chesapeake city environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Chesapeake city?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Chesapeake city?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Chesapeake city. Ask Chesapeake city environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Virginia?
Sales caps are set by Virginia state law. Check the current figure with the state agency and Chesapeake city environmental health.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Chesapeake city?
Apply through Chesapeake city environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Chesapeake city, Virginia — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Virginia cottage food law in Chesapeake city?
Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private homes including candies, jams, jellies (not low-acid/acidified), dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, nuts, vinegars, popcorn, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods that do not require temperature control. Pickles and acidified vegetables with equilibrium pH 4.6 or lower are allowed with a $9,000 annual gross sales cap. Honey from own hives under 250 gallons per year is also allowed under a separate provision. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Virginia, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Chesapeake city?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Department may inspect upon consumer complaint. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Virginia report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeChesapeake city cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Chesapeake city.
Download county reportFull Virginia License & Permit Guide (432 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Chesapeake city.
Virginia law pageFree email alerts
Chesapeake city Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Chesapeake city, with Virginia statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Chesapeake city page based on?
Where to verify Chesapeake city rules
Chesapeake city vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Chesapeake City This county | Norfolk City | Portsmouth City |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state statute | Not specified in state statute | No state restriction; Portsmouth home occupation rules do not specifically address pets. |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Conditional |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | No |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct sales to consumers only at home, farmers markets, events. No retail store sales, no consignment, no wholesale. | Direct sales to consumers only; no retail store sales, no consignment, no wholesale. | Virginia allows direct sales; Portsmouth home occupation rules may restrict customer visits to the home. Customer pickup may be limited. Fa… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Conditional | Yes |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Yes |
| Restrictions | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. No registration required for general non-acidified cottage foods. Pickles/acidified vegetables capped at $… | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. No registration required. Pickles/acidified vegetables capped at $9,000/year. Label must state 'NOT FOR RE… | Virginia state law (Va. Code §3.2-5130) allows home kitchen production of non-TCS shelf-stable cottage foods with no registration or inspec… |
| Food storage | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; extensive prohibited list including TCS foods, dairy, meat, fish | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; prohibited: TCS foods, dairy, meat, fish, refrigerated items | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. |
| Population | 249,377 | 236,973 | 97,384 |
What other Virginia counties can I compare?
Other Virginia counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Chesapeake city page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Virginia's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Chesapeake city bakers?
Chesapeake city baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Chesapeake city — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Chesapeake city? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Chesapeake city?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Chesapeake city at a glance?
How do Virginia's cottage exemption and HFPO differ?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Chesapeake city? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Chesapeake city
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Chesapeake city
$0 state · $50/yr city
Want store shelves? → Step 2
Va. Code § 3.2-5130(D) · Chesapeake New Business License Procedures · Chesapeake Zoning Ordinance §§ 14-301, 14-302, 14-303 · Chesapeake City Code § 18-60
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Chesapeake city
$40/yr state · $50/yr city
Want a storefront? → Step 3
VDACS Manufactured Food Establishment Permit Application … · VDACS Home Food Exemptions FAQ (REV JUL 2026) · Chesapeake Application for Zoning Approval for Business L…
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Virginia
Chesapeake city
$40/yr state · city tax by revenue
Renew permits every year
VDACS Manufactured Food Establishment Permit Application … · Chesapeake Application for Zoning Approval for Business L…
- Pets: do I need a door?
Virginia · Step 1
Not addressed
The state's exemption sources don't mention pets.
Virginia · Step 2 (home)
Yes
A solid, hinged door that latches. Pets out at all times. Baby gates don't count.
VDACS Home Food Exemptions FAQ (REV JUL 2026) · VDACS Manufactured Food Establishment Permit Application …
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.