crosodo
Independent City · Seat: Norfolk · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Norfolk city, VA

Inside the permit report

What's in the Norfolk City permit report

Permit Guide cover for Norfolk City
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Norfolk City
Table of contents
Your Norfolk City startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Norfolk city?

All products in Virginia →
More Norfolk city resources
What's new for Virginia cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Norfolk city?
Start here

How to start in Norfolk city

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Virginia cottage food rules in Norfolk city. Not legal advice.

Important for this state

Cottage exemption and HFPO

Crosodo year one follows the home cottage exemption in Va. Code § 3.2-5130. That exemption is not a certification. VDACS does not issue a cottage certificate. A Home Food Processing Operation (HFPO) is a different path: inspection, permit, and a $40 annual fee on the official application. Local zoning, HBB, MHO, BPOL, and market insurance are separate papers. A market can require insurance without a state cottage certificate. Fairfax County porch pickup and HBB, and Fairfax City MHO, are local rules. They are not HFPO. The current Code and the VDACS Home Food Exemptions FAQ (REV JUL 2026) allow internet and phone sales and in-state delivery or mail. Buyers stay in the Commonwealth. Not legal advice. Confirm with VDACS and the market.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Virginia cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private homes including candies, jams, jellies (not low-acid/acidified), dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, nuts, vinegars, popcorn, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods that do not require temperature control. Pickles and acidified vegetables with equilibrium pH 4.6 or lower are allowed with a $9,000 annual gross sales cap. Honey from own hives under 250 gallons per year is also allowed under a separate provision.). Norfolk city cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: Tiered. On-site / porch pickup in Norfolk city: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Norfolk city: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Virginia disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Virginia label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “NOT FOR RESALE PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Virginia county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Virginia county rules quiz

Norfolk city does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Virginia statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Norfolk city quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Norfolk city cottage food rules with Virginia agencies?

Norfolk city is a county in Virginia (pop. 236,973). Under Virginia's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: Tiered), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Norfolk city health and planning requirements. Local notes for Norfolk city: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Norfolk is an independent Virginia city. Follows Virginia state baseline (Va. Code §3.2-5130). Virginia has notably low $9,000 cap for pickles. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Norfolk city?
State law applies

Tier: Good

Virginia has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Virginia cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Norfolk city zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Norfolk city

State baseline: Va. Code §3.2-5130

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. No registration required. Pickles/acidified vegetables capped at $9,000/year. Label must state 'NOT FOR RESALE — PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION'. Direct sales only. Norfolk as an independent city has its own zoning.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state statute
Water supply
Potable water supply required
Handwashing
No formal certification required by state
Food storage
Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; prohibited: TCS foods, dairy, meat, fish, refrigerated items
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
Department may inspect upon consumer complaint
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
City of Norfolk has its own zoning ordinance. May require home occupation permit for residential-zone businesses. Check with Norfolk City Planning Department.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct sales to consumers only; no retail store sales, no consignment, no wholesale.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state statute
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Va. Code §3.2-5130; City of Norfolk Zoning Ordinance
Local notes

Norfolk is an independent Virginia city. Follows Virginia state baseline (Va. Code §3.2-5130). Virginia has notably low $9,000 cap for pickles.

What does the Virginia cottage food statute say?
Virginia statute (state law)

Code of Virginia, Title 3.2 Agriculture, Animal Care, and Food, Chapter 51 Food and Drink, §3.2-5130 Inspections required to operate food establishment

Citation: Va. Code §3.2-5130 (HB 402 / 2026 c. 605)
Verbatim excerpt

C. The provisions of subsections A and B shall not apply to: 3. Private homes where the resident processes and prepares candies, jams, and jellies not considered to be low-acid or acidified low-acid food products, dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, coated and uncoated nuts, vinegars and flavored vinegars, popcorn, popcorn balls, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods if such products are (i) those that do not require time or temperature control after preparation; (ii) sold at any location, through the internet, or by phone to an individual in the Commonwealth for his own consumption and not for resale or consignment; (iii) delivered in person, by mail, or by delivery service to an individual in the Commonwealth for his own consumption and not for resale or consignment; (iv) not offered for sale to be used in or offered for consumption in retail food establishments; and (v) affixed with a label placed on the principal display panel or, for a product in packaging not large enough to bear such a label, offered for sale with a sign displaying the name, physical address or post office box number, and telephone number of the person preparing the food product, the date the food product was processed, and the statement "NOT FOR RESALE PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION." Nothing in this subdivision shall prohibit a resident selling a food product in accordance with this subdivision from advertising such food product on the Internet. Amended 2026, c. 605 (HB 402), effective July 1, 2026.

Source: law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title3.2/chapter51/section3.2-5130/ →
Full Virginia License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Norfolk City’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Norfolk city cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Norfolk city, Virginia?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Norfolk city environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Norfolk city?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Norfolk city?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Norfolk city. Ask Norfolk city environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Virginia?

Sales caps are set by Virginia state law. Check the current figure with the state agency and Norfolk city environmental health.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Norfolk city?

Apply through Norfolk city environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Norfolk city, Virginia — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Virginia cottage food law in Norfolk city?

Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private homes including candies, jams, jellies (not low-acid/acidified), dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, nuts, vinegars, popcorn, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods that do not require temperature control. Pickles and acidified vegetables with equilibrium pH 4.6 or lower are allowed with a $9,000 annual gross sales cap. Honey from own hives under 250 gallons per year is also allowed under a separate provision. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Virginia, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Norfolk city?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Department may inspect upon consumer complaint. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Norfolk City

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Virginia report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Norfolk city cottage food reports

What permits in Norfolk city?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Norfolk city county cottage food report
Norfolk city county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Norfolk city.

Download county report
Cover of Virginia cottage food law PDF report
Virginia state report

Full Virginia License & Permit Guide (432 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Norfolk city.

Virginia law page

Free email alerts

Norfolk city Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Norfolk city, with Virginia statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Norfolk city page based on?
Quick comparison

Norfolk city vs. bordering counties

RegulationNorfolk City
This county
Chesapeake CityHampton City
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state statuteNot specified in state statuteNot prohibited by state statute; kitchen must remain sanitary.
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect sales to consumers only; no retail store sales, no consignment, no wholesale.Direct sales to consumers only at home, farmers markets, events. No retail store sales, no consignment, no wholesale.Direct sales only per state law. Sales from home, farmers markets, roadside stands, and online with local delivery.
Home occupation permitConditionalConditionalVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsNon-TCS shelf-stable foods only. No registration required. Pickles/acidified vegetables capped at $9,000/year. Label must state 'NOT FOR RE…Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. No registration required for general non-acidified cottage foods. Pickles/acidified vegetables capped at $…Hampton is an independent city in Virginia. Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. No state registration required. Pickles/acidified vegetables c…
Food storageNon-TCS shelf-stable foods; prohibited: TCS foods, dairy, meat, fish, refrigerated itemsNon-TCS shelf-stable foods; extensive prohibited list including TCS foods, dairy, meat, fishNon-TCS shelf-stable products only; stored in food-safe containers.
Population236,973249,377137,217
What other Virginia counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Virginia counties

Virginia
Pop. 1.15M
Virginia
Pop. 481K
Virginia
Pop. 458K
Virginia
Pop. 421K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Norfolk city page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Virginia's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Norfolk city bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Norfolk city baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Norfolk city — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Norfolk city discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Norfolk city? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Norfolk city, Virginia?
Yes — Virginia allows cottage food sales. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and the Norfolk city health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Norfolk city?
Your Norfolk city checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Norfolk city at a glance?
How do Virginia's cottage exemption and HFPO differ?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Norfolk city? State vs county rules and pets
Virginia rule (statewide)Norfolk city rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Norfolk city

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Norfolk city

    • Check with Norfolk city business license office

    $0 state

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Va. Code § 3.2-5130(D) · City of Norfolk — Home Occupations

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Norfolk city

    • Check with Norfolk city zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    $40/yr state

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

    VDACS Manufactured Food Establishment Permit Application … · VDACS Home Food Exemptions FAQ (REV JUL 2026)

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Norfolk city

    • Check with Norfolk city zoning and building offices

    $40/yr state

    Renew permits every year

    VDACS Manufactured Food Establishment Permit Application …

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Virginia · Step 1

    Not addressed

    The state's exemption sources don't mention pets.

    Virginia · Step 2 (home)

    Yes

    A solid, hinged door that latches. Pets out at all times. Baby gates don't count.

    VDACS Home Food Exemptions FAQ (REV JUL 2026) · VDACS Manufactured Food Establishment Permit Application …

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.