Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Virginia Report Guide · 432 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
Independent City · Seat: Harrisonburg · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Harrisonburg city, VA

Can I sell cottage food from home in Harrisonburg city, Virginia?
Yes — Virginia allows cottage food sales under a Good-tier law (cap: Tiered). Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services and the Harrisonburg city health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Harrisonburg City Permits 101 for Harrisonburg City, Virginia (72 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Harrisonburg City Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Harrisonburg city?

Virginia cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Harrisonburg City permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Harrisonburg City
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Harrisonburg City
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Harrisonburg city

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Virginia cottage food rules in Harrisonburg city. Not legal advice.

Important for this state

Cottage exemption and HFPO

Crosodo year one follows the home cottage exemption in Va. Code § 3.2-5130. That exemption is not a certification. VDACS does not issue a cottage certificate. A Home Food Processing Operation (HFPO) is a different path: inspection, permit, and a $40 annual fee on the official application. Local zoning, HBB, MHO, BPOL, and market insurance are separate papers. A market can require insurance without a state cottage certificate. Fairfax County porch pickup and HBB, and Fairfax City MHO, are local rules. They are not HFPO. The current Code allows internet and phone sales and in-state delivery or mail. The July 2024 kitchen FAQ still says no online checkout; that FAQ predates HB 402 / 2026 c. 605. Not legal advice. Confirm with VDACS and the market.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Virginia cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private homes including candies, jams, jellies (not low-acid/acidified), dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, nuts, vinegars, popcorn, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods that do not require temperature control. Pickles and acidified vegetables with equilibrium pH 4.6 or lower are allowed with a $9,000 annual gross sales cap. Honey from own hives under 250 gallons per year is also allowed under a separate provision.). Harrisonburg city cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: Tiered. On-site / porch pickup in Harrisonburg city: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Harrisonburg city: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Virginia disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Virginia label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “NOT FOR RESALE — PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Harrisonburg city is a county in Virginia (pop. 51,784). Under Virginia's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: Tiered), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Harrisonburg city health and planning requirements. Local notes for Harrisonburg city: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Harrisonburg is a Virginia independent city (not a county). State law allows cottage food from home without inspection or registration. The all-caps label disclaimer is a distinctive Virginia requirement. No Harrisonburg city-specific cottage food rules found; city home occupation permit may be required. Note: general Virginia law has no stated dollar cap for non-acidified cottage foods, but pickles/acidified vegetables are capped at $9,000/year, one of the lowest in the US. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Harrisonburg city cottage food reports

What permits in Harrisonburg city?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Harrisonburg city county cottage food report
Harrisonburg city county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Harrisonburg city.

Download county report
Cover of Virginia cottage food law PDF report
Virginia state report

Full Virginia License & Permit Guide (432 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Good

Virginia has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Virginia cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Harrisonburg city

State baseline: Va. Code §3.2-5130

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Must be primary private home. Products must be non-TCS shelf-stable foods. Pickles/acidified vegetables (pH ≤4.6) allowed with $9,000 annual cap. No TCS foods. No resale/consignment. Label must state 'NOT FOR RESALE — PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION'.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state law.
Water supply
Not specified in state law.
Handwashing
Standard sanitation practices; not explicitly required.
Food storage
Products must be shelf-stable and non-TCS.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection. Department may inspect upon consumer complaint per Va. Code §3.2-5130(D).
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
Harrisonburg is an independent city with its own zoning code. Home occupation permit or business license may be required for operating a cottage food business from a residential address. Recommend verifying with Harrisonburg Planning/Zoning Department and City Treasurer's Office.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct-to-consumer sales only. No resale or consignment through retail food establishments. Label with all-caps disclaimer required.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state law.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Va. Code §3.2-5130; Harrisonburg City Zoning Code (home occupation provisions)
Local notes

Harrisonburg is a Virginia independent city (not a county). State law allows cottage food from home without inspection or registration. The all-caps label disclaimer is a distinctive Virginia requirement. No Harrisonburg city-specific cottage food rules found; city home occupation permit may be required. Note: general Virginia law has no stated dollar cap for non-acidified cottage foods, but pickles/acidified vegetables are capped at $9,000/year, one of the lowest in the US.

Virginia statute (state law)

Code of Virginia, Title 3.2 Agriculture, Animal Care, and Food, Chapter 51 Food and Drink, §3.2-5130 Inspections required to operate food establishment

Citation: Va. Code §3.2-5130 (HB 402 / 2026 c. 605)
Verbatim excerpt

C. The provisions of subsections A and B shall not apply to: 3. Private homes where the resident processes and prepares candies, jams, and jellies not considered to be low-acid or acidified low-acid food products, dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, coated and uncoated nuts, vinegars and flavored vinegars, popcorn, popcorn balls, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods if such products are (i) those that do not require time or temperature control after preparation; (ii) sold at any location, through the internet, or by phone to an individual in the Commonwealth for his own consumption and not for resale or consignment; (iii) delivered in person, by mail, or by delivery service to an individual in the Commonwealth for his own consumption and not for resale or consignment; (iv) not offered for sale to be used in or offered for consumption in retail food establishments; and (v) affixed with a label placed on the principal display panel or, for a product in packaging not large enough to bear such a label, offered for sale with a sign displaying the name, physical address or post office box number, and telephone number of the person preparing the food product, the date the food product was processed, and the statement "NOT FOR RESALE PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION." Nothing in this subdivision shall prohibit a resident selling a food product in accordance with this subdivision from advertising such food product on the Internet. Amended 2026, c. 605 (HB 402), effective July 1, 2026.

Source: law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title3.2/chapter51/section3.2-5130/
Full Virginia License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Harrisonburg City Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Harrisonburg City statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (72 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Harrisonburg City Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Harrisonburg city cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Harrisonburg city, Virginia?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. Harrisonburg is an independent city with its own zoning code. Home occupation permit or business license may be required for operating a cottage food business from a residential address. Recommend verifying with Harrisonburg Planning/Zoning Department and City Treasurer's Office. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Virginia guide at https://crosodo.com/states/virginia.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Harrisonburg city?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection. Department may inspect upon consumer complaint per Va. Code §3.2-5130(D).. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Virginia cottage food law in Harrisonburg city?

Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private homes including candies, jams, jellies (not low-acid/acidified), dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, nuts, vinegars, popcorn, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods that do not require temperature control. Pickles and acidified vegetables with equilibrium pH 4.6 or lower are allowed with a $9,000 annual gross sales cap. Honey from own hives under 250 gallons per year is also allowed under a separate provision. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Virginia, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Virginia?

Virginia state law lists cottage food sales at Tiered. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Harrisonburg city?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. Harrisonburg is an independent city with its own zoning code. Home occupation permit or business license may be required for operating a cottage food business from a residential address. Recommend verifying with Harrisonburg Planning/Zoning Department and City Treasurer's Office.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Virginia License & Permit Guide (432 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Virginia License & Permit Guide (432 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Harrisonburg city vs. bordering counties

RegulationHarrisonburg City
This county
Rockingham CountyShenandoah County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state law.Not specified in state law.VDACS home food processing permit pathway requires pets excluded from food prep, storage, packaging, and equipment cleaning areas at all ti…
Inspection requiredNoNoConditional
On-site customer pickupYesYesConditional
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect-to-consumer sales only. No resale or consignment through retail food establishments. Label with all-caps disclaimer required.Direct sales only (in-person). No resale, no consignment, no sales to retail food establishments. Products must be sold directly from produ…Virginia cottage food exemption: direct sales only. Home pickup and local delivery permitted for non-TCS shelf-stable items. Online sales a…
Home occupation permitConditionalVariesConditional
Local business licenseVariesVariesConditional
RestrictionsMust be primary private home. Products must be non-TCS shelf-stable foods. Pickles/acidified vegetables (pH ≤4.6) allowed with $9,000 annua…Virginia cottage food: non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private home. Allowed: candies, jams, jellies, dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonin…Virginia state cottage food exemption (Va. Code §3.2-5130) applies. Shenandoah County is a rural Shenandoah Valley county. No county-specif…
Food storageProducts must be shelf-stable and non-TCS.No specific statutory requirement.Proper storage to prevent contamination; pet exclusion required for VDACS permit pathway.
Population51,78483,90544,337
Crosodo Forum

Harrisonburg city baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Harrisonburg city — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Virginia counties

Virginia
Pop. 1.15M
Virginia
Pop. 481K
Virginia
Pop. 458K
Virginia
Pop. 421K
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Harrisonburg city, Virginia

Reach home bakers in Harrisonburg city, Virginia. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Virginia's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Harrisonburg city discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.