Cottage food law & license in Henry County, VA
What's in the Henry County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Henry County?
More Henry County resources
What's new for Virginia cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Henry County?
How to start in Henry County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Virginia cottage food rules in Henry County. Not legal advice.
Cottage exemption and HFPO
Crosodo year one follows the home cottage exemption in Va. Code § 3.2-5130. That exemption is not a certification. VDACS does not issue a cottage certificate. A Home Food Processing Operation (HFPO) is a different path: inspection, permit, and a $40 annual fee on the official application. Local zoning, HBB, MHO, BPOL, and market insurance are separate papers. A market can require insurance without a state cottage certificate. Fairfax County porch pickup and HBB, and Fairfax City MHO, are local rules. They are not HFPO. The current Code and the VDACS Home Food Exemptions FAQ (REV JUL 2026) allow internet and phone sales and in-state delivery or mail. Buyers stay in the Commonwealth. Not legal advice. Confirm with VDACS and the market.
Confirm your menu under state law
Virginia cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private homes including candies, jams, jellies (not low-acid/acidified), dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, nuts, vinegars, popcorn, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods that do not require temperature control. Pickles and acidified vegetables with equilibrium pH 4.6 or lower are allowed with a $9,000 annual gross sales cap. Honey from own hives under 250 gallons per year is also allowed under a separate provision.). Henry County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: Tiered. On-site / porch pickup in Henry County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Henry County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Virginia disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Virginia label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “NOT FOR RESALE PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Virginia county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Virginia county rules quiz
Henry County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Virginia statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Henry County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Henry County cottage food rules with Virginia agencies?
Henry County is a county in Virginia (pop. 50,760). Under Virginia's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: Tiered), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Henry County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Henry County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Virginia state law allows cottage food from home without inspection or registration. No Henry County-specific cottage food rules found. The $9,000 cap for acidified/pickle products is among the lowest in the US. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Henry County?
Tier: Good
Virginia has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Virginia cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Henry County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Henry County
State baseline: Va. Code §3.2-5130
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Must be primary private home. Products must be non-TCS shelf-stable foods. Pickles/acidified vegetables (pH ≤4.6) allowed with $9,000 annual cap. No TCS foods. No resale/consignment. Label must state 'NOT FOR RESALE — PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION'.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state law.
- Water supply
- Not specified in state law.
- Handwashing
- Standard sanitation practices; not explicitly required.
- Food storage
- Products must be shelf-stable and non-TCS.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection. Department may inspect upon consumer complaint.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Henry County may have home occupation zoning requirements. The City of Martinsville (an independent city adjacent to Henry County) has separate zoning. Recommend verifying with Henry County Planning and Zoning.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct-to-consumer sales only. No resale or consignment through retail food establishments. All-caps label disclaimer required.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state law.
- Relevant code section
- Va. Code §3.2-5130; Henry County Zoning Code (home occupation provisions)
Virginia state law allows cottage food from home without inspection or registration. No Henry County-specific cottage food rules found. The $9,000 cap for acidified/pickle products is among the lowest in the US.
What does the Virginia cottage food statute say?
Code of Virginia, Title 3.2 Agriculture, Animal Care, and Food, Chapter 51 Food and Drink, §3.2-5130 Inspections required to operate food establishment
Full Virginia License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptC. The provisions of subsections A and B shall not apply to: 3. Private homes where the resident processes and prepares candies, jams, and jellies not considered to be low-acid or acidified low-acid food products, dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, coated and uncoated nuts, vinegars and flavored vinegars, popcorn, popcorn balls, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods if such products are (i) those that do not require time or temperature control after preparation; (ii) sold at any location, through the internet, or by phone to an individual in the Commonwealth for his own consumption and not for resale or consignment; (iii) delivered in person, by mail, or by delivery service to an individual in the Commonwealth for his own consumption and not for resale or consignment; (iv) not offered for sale to be used in or offered for consumption in retail food establishments; and (v) affixed with a label placed on the principal display panel or, for a product in packaging not large enough to bear such a label, offered for sale with a sign displaying the name, physical address or post office box number, and telephone number of the person preparing the food product, the date the food product was processed, and the statement "NOT FOR RESALE PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION." Nothing in this subdivision shall prohibit a resident selling a food product in accordance with this subdivision from advertising such food product on the Internet. Amended 2026, c. 605 (HB 402), effective July 1, 2026.
Source: law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title3.2/chapter51/section3.2-5130/ →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Henry County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeHenry County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Henry County, Virginia?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Henry County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Henry County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Henry County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Henry County. Ask Henry County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Virginia?
Sales caps are set by Virginia state law. Check the current figure with the state agency and Henry County environmental health.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Henry County?
Apply through Henry County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Henry County, Virginia — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Virginia cottage food law in Henry County?
Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private homes including candies, jams, jellies (not low-acid/acidified), dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, nuts, vinegars, popcorn, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods that do not require temperature control. Pickles and acidified vegetables with equilibrium pH 4.6 or lower are allowed with a $9,000 annual gross sales cap. Honey from own hives under 250 gallons per year is also allowed under a separate provision. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Virginia, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Henry County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection. Department may inspect upon consumer complaint.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Virginia report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeHenry County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Henry County.
Download county reportFull Virginia License & Permit Guide (432 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Henry County.
Virginia law pageFree email alerts
Henry County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Henry County, with Virginia statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Henry County page based on?
Where to verify Henry County rules
Henry County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Henry County This county | Franklin County | Pittsylvania County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state law. | No specific VA or Franklin County restriction. | No specific pet restriction in state cottage food law. |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Conditional |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct-to-consumer sales only. No resale or consignment through retail food establishments. All-caps label disclaimer required. | Direct sales to end consumers only. No consignment or retail store sales. | Direct sales only — no resale, no consignment, no retail food establishment sales. Home pickup, farmers markets, events, roadside stands, o… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Must be primary private home. Products must be non-TCS shelf-stable foods. Pickles/acidified vegetables (pH ≤4.6) allowed with $9,000 annua… | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private home. No registration, permit, or inspection. Direct sales only. Allowed: candies, jams/jellies (no… | Virginia allows non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private home. No registration or inspection required. No stated dollar cap for non-acidifie… |
| Food storage | Products must be shelf-stable and non-TCS. | Non-TCS shelf-stable products. Mandatory label: 'NOT FOR RESALE PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION'. | Products must be shelf-stable and non-TCS. |
| Population | 50,760 | 54,838 | 60,541 |
What other Virginia counties can I compare?
Other Virginia counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Henry County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Virginia's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Henry County bakers?
Henry County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Henry County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Henry County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Henry County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Henry County at a glance?
How do Virginia's cottage exemption and HFPO differ?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Henry County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Henry County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Henry County
- Check with Henry County business license office
- Check with Henry County zoning office about home pickup
$0 state
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Henry County
- Check with Henry County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
$40/yr state
Want a storefront? → Step 3
VDACS Manufactured Food Establishment Permit Application … · VDACS Home Food Exemptions FAQ (REV JUL 2026)
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Virginia
Henry County
- Check with Henry County zoning and building offices
$40/yr state
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Virginia · Step 1
Not addressed
The state's exemption sources don't mention pets.
Virginia · Step 2 (home)
Yes
A solid, hinged door that latches. Pets out at all times. Baby gates don't count.
VDACS Home Food Exemptions FAQ (REV JUL 2026) · VDACS Manufactured Food Establishment Permit Application …
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.