Cottage food law & license in Lynchburg city, VA
What's in the Lynchburg City permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Lynchburg city?
More Lynchburg city resources
What's new for Virginia cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Lynchburg city?
How to start in Lynchburg city
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Virginia cottage food rules in Lynchburg city. Not legal advice.
Cottage exemption and HFPO
Crosodo year one follows the home cottage exemption in Va. Code § 3.2-5130. That exemption is not a certification. VDACS does not issue a cottage certificate. A Home Food Processing Operation (HFPO) is a different path: inspection, permit, and a $40 annual fee on the official application. Local zoning, HBB, MHO, BPOL, and market insurance are separate papers. A market can require insurance without a state cottage certificate. Fairfax County porch pickup and HBB, and Fairfax City MHO, are local rules. They are not HFPO. The current Code and the VDACS Home Food Exemptions FAQ (REV JUL 2026) allow internet and phone sales and in-state delivery or mail. Buyers stay in the Commonwealth. Not legal advice. Confirm with VDACS and the market.
Confirm your menu under state law
Virginia cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private homes including candies, jams, jellies (not low-acid/acidified), dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, nuts, vinegars, popcorn, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods that do not require temperature control. Pickles and acidified vegetables with equilibrium pH 4.6 or lower are allowed with a $9,000 annual gross sales cap. Honey from own hives under 250 gallons per year is also allowed under a separate provision.). Lynchburg city cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: Tiered. On-site / porch pickup in Lynchburg city: Conditional. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Lynchburg city: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Virginia disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Virginia label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “NOT FOR RESALE PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Lynchburg city rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Test yourself on Lynchburg city rules
A free 10-question quiz generated from verified Lynchburg city and Virginia data. Pass at 80% for a Crosodo Verified badge.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Lynchburg city cottage food rules with Virginia agencies?
Lynchburg city is a county in Virginia (pop. 79,166). Under Virginia's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: Tiered), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Lynchburg city health and planning requirements. Local notes for Lynchburg city: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Lynchburg city (an independent city in Virginia, treated as county-equivalent) has specific home occupation rules in its zoning code (Sec. 35.2-71.4). Key restrictions include appointment-only clients, 20% of dwelling's floor area limit, one small sign (1 sq ft, no illumination), and only incidental retail sales. Business license required from the city. State cottage food law (Va. Code §3.2-5130) governs what foods can be made; city zoning governs the home occupation aspect. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Lynchburg city?
Tier: Good
Virginia has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Virginia cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Lynchburg city zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Lynchburg city
State baseline: Va. Code §3.2-5130
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Home kitchen in primary domestic residence allowed. Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. Pickles and acidified vegetables subject to $9,000 annual gross sales cap. All products must bear 'NOT FOR RESALE — PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION' label.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state statute.
- Water supply
- Potable water required.
- Handwashing
- No food handler certification required at state level.
- Food storage
- Non-TCS shelf-stable products must be stored appropriately.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- VDACS may inspect upon consumer complaint.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Lynchburg zoning code (Sec. 35.2-71.4) allows home occupations as an accessory use subject to performance standards. Home occupations must: be limited to visiting clients on appointment basis; be conducted by a household member; not serve more than one client at a time for listed professions; use only one small sign (max 1 sq ft) with no illumination; use only domestic-scale mechanical equipment; not use more than 20% of the principal dwelling's gross floor area; and not exceed incidental retail sales. A business license from Lynchburg's Commissioner of the Revenue may be required.
- Local business license
- Yes
- On-site customer pickup
- Conditional
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct sales to consumers only. No resale or consignment. Customer pickup from home on appointment basis permitted. No drop-by public access per home occupation rules.
- Max employees in home
- Home occupation must be conducted by household member. For certain professional occupations, one non-resident employee may be employed.
- Relevant code section
- City of Lynchburg Zoning Code Sec. 35.2-71.4 (Home Occupations); Va. Code §3.2-5130
Lynchburg city (an independent city in Virginia, treated as county-equivalent) has specific home occupation rules in its zoning code (Sec. 35.2-71.4). Key restrictions include appointment-only clients, 20% of dwelling's floor area limit, one small sign (1 sq ft, no illumination), and only incidental retail sales. Business license required from the city. State cottage food law (Va. Code §3.2-5130) governs what foods can be made; city zoning governs the home occupation aspect.
What does the Virginia cottage food statute say?
Code of Virginia, Title 3.2 Agriculture, Animal Care, and Food, Chapter 51 Food and Drink, §3.2-5130 Inspections required to operate food establishment
Full Virginia License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptC. The provisions of subsections A and B shall not apply to: 3. Private homes where the resident processes and prepares candies, jams, and jellies not considered to be low-acid or acidified low-acid food products, dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, coated and uncoated nuts, vinegars and flavored vinegars, popcorn, popcorn balls, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods if such products are (i) those that do not require time or temperature control after preparation; (ii) sold at any location, through the internet, or by phone to an individual in the Commonwealth for his own consumption and not for resale or consignment; (iii) delivered in person, by mail, or by delivery service to an individual in the Commonwealth for his own consumption and not for resale or consignment; (iv) not offered for sale to be used in or offered for consumption in retail food establishments; and (v) affixed with a label placed on the principal display panel or, for a product in packaging not large enough to bear such a label, offered for sale with a sign displaying the name, physical address or post office box number, and telephone number of the person preparing the food product, the date the food product was processed, and the statement "NOT FOR RESALE PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION." Nothing in this subdivision shall prohibit a resident selling a food product in accordance with this subdivision from advertising such food product on the Internet. Amended 2026, c. 605 (HB 402), effective July 1, 2026.
Source: law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title3.2/chapter51/section3.2-5130/ →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Lynchburg City’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeLynchburg city cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Lynchburg city, Virginia?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Lynchburg city environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Lynchburg city?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Lynchburg city?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Lynchburg city. Ask Lynchburg city environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Virginia?
Sales caps are set by Virginia state law. Check the current figure with the state agency and Lynchburg city environmental health.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Lynchburg city?
Apply through Lynchburg city environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Lynchburg city, Virginia — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Virginia cottage food law in Lynchburg city?
Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private homes including candies, jams, jellies (not low-acid/acidified), dried fruits, dry herbs, dry seasonings, dry mixtures, nuts, vinegars, popcorn, cotton candy, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, roasted coffee, dried tea, cereals, trail mixes, granola, and baked goods that do not require temperature control. Pickles and acidified vegetables with equilibrium pH 4.6 or lower are allowed with a $9,000 annual gross sales cap. Honey from own hives under 250 gallons per year is also allowed under a separate provision. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Virginia, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Lynchburg city?
Inspection: No. Trigger: VDACS may inspect upon consumer complaint.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Virginia report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeLynchburg city cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Lynchburg city.
Download county reportFull Virginia License & Permit Guide (432 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Lynchburg city.
Virginia law pageFree email alerts
Lynchburg city Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Lynchburg city, with Virginia statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Lynchburg city page based on?
Where to verify Lynchburg city rules
Lynchburg city vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Lynchburg City This county | Bedford County | Campbell County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state statute. | Not specified in state statute. | No specific VA state or Campbell County rule. |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Conditional | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct sales to consumers only. No resale or consignment. Customer pickup from home on appointment basis permitted. No drop-by public acces… | Direct sales to consumers only. No resale, consignment, or sales to retail food establishments. Pickles and acidified vegetables capped at … | Direct sales only to end consumers. No consignment or retail store sales. Products must carry required label language. |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Yes | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Home kitchen in primary domestic residence allowed. Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. Pickles and acidified vegetables subject to $9,000 ann… | Home kitchen in primary domestic residence allowed. Only non-TCS shelf-stable foods. Pickles and acidified vegetables subject to separate $… | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods from private home. No registration, permit, or inspection. Direct sales only; no wholesale or retail resale. All… |
| Food storage | Non-TCS shelf-stable products must be stored appropriately. | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods must be stored appropriately. | Non-TCS shelf-stable products. Mandatory label: 'NOT FOR RESALE PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION'. |
| Population | 79,166 | 79,761 | 55,518 |
What other Virginia counties can I compare?
Other Virginia counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Lynchburg city page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Virginia's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Lynchburg city bakers?
Lynchburg city baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Lynchburg city — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Lynchburg city? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Lynchburg city?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Lynchburg city at a glance?
How do Virginia's cottage exemption and HFPO differ?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Lynchburg city? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Lynchburg city
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Lynchburg city
- Check with Lynchburg city business license office
- Check with Lynchburg city zoning office about home pickup
$0 state
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Lynchburg city
- Check with Lynchburg city zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
$40/yr state
Want a storefront? → Step 3
VDACS Manufactured Food Establishment Permit Application … · VDACS Home Food Exemptions FAQ (REV JUL 2026)
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Virginia
Lynchburg city
- Check with Lynchburg city zoning and building offices
$40/yr state
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Virginia · Step 1
Not addressed
The state's exemption sources don't mention pets.
Virginia · Step 2 (home)
Yes
A solid, hinged door that latches. Pets out at all times. Baby gates don't count.
VDACS Home Food Exemptions FAQ (REV JUL 2026) · VDACS Manufactured Food Establishment Permit Application …
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.