Cottage food law & license in Bullock County, AL
What's in the Bullock County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Bullock County?
More Bullock County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Bullock County?
How to start in Bullock County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Alabama cottage food rules in Bullock County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Alabama cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment.). Bullock County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Bullock County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Bullock County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Alabama disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Alabama label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer required by Alabama (exact wording may be set by statute or agency)
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Alabama county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Alabama county rules quiz
Bullock County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Alabama statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Bullock County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Bullock County cottage food rules with Alabama agencies?
Bullock County is a county in Alabama (pop. 10,328). Under Alabama's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Alabama Department of Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Bullock County health and planning requirements via the health department links on this page. Local notes for Bullock County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Bullock County is a very small, rural county in central Alabama. State law governs cottage food. No county-level overrides found. Producers must submit review form to Bullock County Health Department. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Bullock County?
Tier: Good
Alabama has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Alabama cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Bullock County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Bullock County
State baseline: Ala. Code §22-20-5.1 (AL cottage food law)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Must produce non-potentially hazardous foods only (no meat/poultry/fish). Sales direct to consumer only within Alabama. Must complete ADPH-approved food safety course. Must submit cottage food review form to Bullock County Health Department.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state statute.
- Water supply
- Not specified in state statute.
- Handwashing
- Not specified in state statute; covered by food safety course.
- Food storage
- Not specifically regulated.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- Cottage food operations not subject to routine inspection per §22-20-5.1(b).
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- No state requirement. Bullock County is very rural with minimal local regulatory infrastructure. No county-level home occupation ordinance found.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Yes
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct to consumer only within Alabama.
- Max employees in home
- Not regulated at state level for cottage food.
- Relevant code section
- Ala. Code §22-20-5.1
Bullock County is a very small, rural county in central Alabama. State law governs cottage food. No county-level overrides found. Producers must submit review form to Bullock County Health Department.
What does the Alabama cottage food statute say?
Alabama Cottage Food Production Law
Full Alabama License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt(a) For purposes of this section, the following words have the following meanings: (1) COTTAGE FOOD. A non-potentially hazardous food that has been prepared in a person's home that does not require time or temperature control for safety to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation and that does not include meat, poultry, or fish. The term includes all of the following: a. Cakes, breads, Danish pastries, donuts, pastries, and pies. b. Jam, jellies, and fruit preserves. c. Candy. d. Dried and dehydrated herbs, herb mixes, vegetables, or fruits. e. Roasted coffee. f. Dried baking mixes. g. Fermented or preserved vegetables or fruit that do not result in the production of alcohol and that have an acidity level allowed by the department. (2) COTTAGE FOOD PRODUCTION OPERATION. A person operating out of his or her home who meets the following requirements: a. Produces cottage food for sale. b. Sells the foods produced under paragraph a. only directly to consumers, whether in-person, by phone, or online, in the state. c. Delivers the foods produced under paragraph a. directly to consumers in the state, whether in person, through an agent of the producer, or by mail. (b) A cottage food production operation is not a food service establishment and is not required to have a food service permit issued by the county health department. (c) Neither the State Department of Public Health nor a county health department may regulate the production of food at a cottage food production operation except as provided by this section.
Source: law.justia.com/codes/alabama/title-22/title-1/chapter-20/section-22-20-5-1/ →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Bullock County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeBullock County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Bullock County, Alabama?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Bullock County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Bullock County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Bullock County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Bullock County. Ask Bullock County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Alabama?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Bullock County?
Apply via Bullock County environmental health (alabamapublichealth.gov). Official link: https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/bullock/. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under Alabama cottage food law in Bullock County?
Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Alabama, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Bullock County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: Cottage food operations not subject to routine inspection per §22-20-5.1(b).. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Alabama report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeBullock County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Bullock County.
Download county reportFull Alabama License & Permit Guide (189 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Bullock County.
Alabama law pageFree email alerts
Bullock County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Bullock County, with Alabama statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Bullock County page based on?
Where to verify Bullock County rules
Bullock County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Bullock County This county | Macon County | Barbour County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state statute. | No specific state restriction; standard sanitation best practices apply. | Not specified in state statute; good practice recommended. |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct to consumer only within Alabama. | Direct sales to consumers permitted in person, by phone, online, or via mail within Alabama. Delivery may be in person, by an agent, or by … | Direct to consumer only; in-person, phone, or online within Alabama. Delivery by producer or agent to consumers within state allowed. |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | Conditional | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Yes | Varies |
| Restrictions | Must produce non-potentially hazardous foods only (no meat/poultry/fish). Sales direct to consumer only within Alabama. Must complete ADPH-… | Must complete a state-approved food safety course (e.g., ACES course, $25) before selling. Must file paperwork (food safety course certific… | Must produce non-potentially hazardous foods only (no meat/poultry/fish). Sales direct to consumer only (in-person, phone, or online within… |
| Food storage | Not specifically regulated. | Non-potentially hazardous foods only; must be shelf-stable and not require time/temperature control for safety. | Not specifically regulated; non-PHF foods must maintain quality but no formal storage rules. |
| Population | 10,328 | 19,198 | 24,877 |
What other Alabama counties can I compare?
Other Alabama counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Bullock County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Alabama's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Bullock County bakers?
Bullock County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Bullock County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Bullock County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Bullock County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Bullock County at a glance?
File with Bullock County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Bullock County environmental health(alabamapublichealth.gov)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Bullock County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Bullock County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Bullock County
- Check with Bullock County business license office
- Check with Bullock County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Alabama
- Selling to stores: check with Alabama Department of Public Health
Bullock County
- Check with Bullock County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Alabama
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Alabama Department of Public Health
Bullock County
- Check with Bullock County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Alabama · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Alabama Department of Public Health.
Alabama · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Alabama Department of Public Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.