Cottage food law & license in Coffee County, AL
What's in the Coffee County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Coffee County?
More Coffee County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Coffee County?
How to start in Coffee County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Alabama cottage food rules in Coffee County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Alabama cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment.). Coffee County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Coffee County: Conditional. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Coffee County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Alabama disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Alabama label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer required by Alabama (exact wording may be set by statute or agency)
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Alabama county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Alabama county rules quiz
Coffee County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Alabama statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Coffee County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Coffee County cottage food rules with Alabama agencies?
Coffee County is a county in Alabama (pop. 53,559). Under Alabama's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Alabama Department of Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Coffee County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Coffee County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Coffee County is a rural south Alabama county with Enterprise as a notable city. No county-specific cottage food rules found. State baseline applies. Food safety course required (ACES or Learn2Serve), then county health department approval. No sales cap since 2021 amendment. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Coffee County?
Tier: Good
Alabama has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
Alabama cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Coffee County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Coffee County
State baseline: Ala. Code §22-20-5.1 (amended 2021, Act 2021-461)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Must complete state-approved food safety course before selling. Must get approval from Coffee County Health Department. Products limited to non-potentially hazardous foods. Direct sales only (no wholesale). Online sales and in-state shipping permitted since 2021. No sales cap.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- No explicit state or county rule; standard sanitation practices apply.
- Water supply
- No specific state requirement; primary residence kitchen.
- Handwashing
- Covered under food safety training requirement.
- Food storage
- Non-potentially hazardous shelf-stable products. Acidified foods require pH testing; freeze-dried foods require water activity testing.
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- ADPH or Coffee County Health Department may investigate on complaint or foodborne illness.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Coffee County Health Department approval required before selling. No specific Coffee County zoning ordinance for cottage food identified. Contact Coffee County Health Department in Elba.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Conditional
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct to consumer. Online and in-state shipping allowed since 2021.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in AL statute.
- Relevant code section
- Ala. Code §22-20-5.1; Coffee County Health Department application process
Coffee County is a rural south Alabama county with Enterprise as a notable city. No county-specific cottage food rules found. State baseline applies. Food safety course required (ACES or Learn2Serve), then county health department approval. No sales cap since 2021 amendment.
What does the Alabama cottage food statute say?
Alabama Cottage Food Production Law
Full Alabama License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt(a) For purposes of this section, the following words have the following meanings: (1) COTTAGE FOOD. A non-potentially hazardous food that has been prepared in a person's home that does not require time or temperature control for safety to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation and that does not include meat, poultry, or fish. The term includes all of the following: a. Cakes, breads, Danish pastries, donuts, pastries, and pies. b. Jam, jellies, and fruit preserves. c. Candy. d. Dried and dehydrated herbs, herb mixes, vegetables, or fruits. e. Roasted coffee. f. Dried baking mixes. g. Fermented or preserved vegetables or fruit that do not result in the production of alcohol and that have an acidity level allowed by the department. (2) COTTAGE FOOD PRODUCTION OPERATION. A person operating out of his or her home who meets the following requirements: a. Produces cottage food for sale. b. Sells the foods produced under paragraph a. only directly to consumers, whether in-person, by phone, or online, in the state. c. Delivers the foods produced under paragraph a. directly to consumers in the state, whether in person, through an agent of the producer, or by mail. (b) A cottage food production operation is not a food service establishment and is not required to have a food service permit issued by the county health department. (c) Neither the State Department of Public Health nor a county health department may regulate the production of food at a cottage food production operation except as provided by this section.
Source: law.justia.com/codes/alabama/title-22/title-1/chapter-20/section-22-20-5-1/ →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Coffee County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeCoffee County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Coffee County, Alabama?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Coffee County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Coffee County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Coffee County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Coffee County. Ask Coffee County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Alabama?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Coffee County?
Apply through Coffee County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Coffee County, Alabama — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Alabama cottage food law in Coffee County?
Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Alabama, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Coffee County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: ADPH or Coffee County Health Department may investigate on complaint or foodborne illness.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Alabama report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeCoffee County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Coffee County.
Download county reportFull Alabama License & Permit Guide (189 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Coffee County.
Alabama law pageFree email alerts
Coffee County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Coffee County, with Alabama statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Coffee County page based on?
Where to verify Coffee County rules
Coffee County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Coffee County This county | Dale County | Covington County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No explicit state or county rule; standard sanitation practices apply. | Not explicitly restricted by state law; standard sanitation applies. | Not specified in state statute. |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Conditional | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Yes |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct to consumer. Online and in-state shipping allowed since 2021. | Sales allowed directly to consumers: in-person, phone, online, or by mail within Alabama. No consignment; no sale in licensed food establis… | Direct to consumer only within Alabama. |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Conditional | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Conditional | Varies |
| Restrictions | Must complete state-approved food safety course before selling. Must get approval from Coffee County Health Department. Products limited to… | Must use primary residence kitchen with residential appliances. Must complete state-approved food safety course. Products sold only directl… | Must produce non-potentially hazardous foods only (no meat/poultry/fish). Sales direct to consumer only within Alabama. Must complete ADPH-… |
| Food storage | Non-potentially hazardous shelf-stable products. Acidified foods require pH testing; freeze-dried foods require water activity testing. | Products must remain non-potentially hazardous. | Not specifically regulated. |
| Population | 53,559 | 49,455 | 37,542 |
What other Alabama counties can I compare?
Other Alabama counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Coffee County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Alabama's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Coffee County bakers?
Coffee County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Coffee County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Coffee County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Coffee County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Coffee County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Coffee County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Coffee County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Coffee County
- Check with Coffee County business license office
- Check with Coffee County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Alabama
- Selling to stores: check with Alabama Department of Public Health
Coffee County
- Check with Coffee County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Alabama
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Alabama Department of Public Health
Coffee County
- Check with Coffee County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Alabama · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Alabama Department of Public Health.
Alabama · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Alabama Department of Public Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.