crosodo
County · Seat: Luverne · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Crenshaw County, AL

Inside the permit report

What's in the Crenshaw County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Crenshaw County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Crenshaw County
Table of contents
Your Crenshaw County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Crenshaw County?

All products in Alabama →
More Crenshaw County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Crenshaw County?
Start here

How to start in Crenshaw County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Alabama cottage food rules in Crenshaw County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Alabama cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment.). Crenshaw County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Crenshaw County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Crenshaw County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Alabama disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Alabama label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer required by Alabama (exact wording may be set by statute or agency)

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Alabama county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Alabama county rules quiz

Crenshaw County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Alabama statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Crenshaw County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Crenshaw County cottage food rules with Alabama agencies?

Crenshaw County is a county in Alabama (pop. 13,205). Under Alabama's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Alabama Department of Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Crenshaw County health and planning requirements via the health department links on this page. Local notes for Crenshaw County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Crenshaw County is a rural county in south Alabama. Listed in ADPH Southeastern District. State law governs cottage food. No county-level overrides found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Crenshaw County?
State law applies

Tier: Good

Alabama has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Alabama cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Crenshaw County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Crenshaw County

State baseline: Ala. Code §22-20-5.1 (AL cottage food law)

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Must produce non-potentially hazardous foods only (no meat/poultry/fish). Sales direct to consumer only within Alabama. Must complete ADPH-approved food safety course. Must submit cottage food review form to Crenshaw County Health Department.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state statute.
Water supply
Not specified in state statute.
Handwashing
Not specified in state statute; covered by food safety course.
Food storage
Not specifically regulated.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
Cottage food operations not subject to routine inspection per §22-20-5.1(b).
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
No state requirement. Crenshaw County is rural in south Alabama. No county-level home occupation ordinance found.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Yes
Delivery / pickup
Direct to consumer only within Alabama.
Max employees in home
Not regulated at state level for cottage food.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Ala. Code §22-20-5.1
Local notes

Crenshaw County is a rural county in south Alabama. Listed in ADPH Southeastern District. State law governs cottage food. No county-level overrides found.

What does the Alabama cottage food statute say?
Alabama statute (state law)

Alabama Cottage Food Production Law

Citation: Ala. Code §22-20-5.1
Verbatim excerpt

(a) For purposes of this section, the following words have the following meanings: (1) COTTAGE FOOD. A non-potentially hazardous food that has been prepared in a person's home that does not require time or temperature control for safety to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation and that does not include meat, poultry, or fish. The term includes all of the following: a. Cakes, breads, Danish pastries, donuts, pastries, and pies. b. Jam, jellies, and fruit preserves. c. Candy. d. Dried and dehydrated herbs, herb mixes, vegetables, or fruits. e. Roasted coffee. f. Dried baking mixes. g. Fermented or preserved vegetables or fruit that do not result in the production of alcohol and that have an acidity level allowed by the department. (2) COTTAGE FOOD PRODUCTION OPERATION. A person operating out of his or her home who meets the following requirements: a. Produces cottage food for sale. b. Sells the foods produced under paragraph a. only directly to consumers, whether in-person, by phone, or online, in the state. c. Delivers the foods produced under paragraph a. directly to consumers in the state, whether in person, through an agent of the producer, or by mail. (b) A cottage food production operation is not a food service establishment and is not required to have a food service permit issued by the county health department. (c) Neither the State Department of Public Health nor a county health department may regulate the production of food at a cottage food production operation except as provided by this section.

Source: law.justia.com/codes/alabama/title-22/title-1/chapter-20/section-22-20-5-1/ →
Full Alabama License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Crenshaw County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Crenshaw County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Crenshaw County, Alabama?

State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Crenshaw County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Crenshaw County?

State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Crenshaw County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Crenshaw County. Ask Crenshaw County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Alabama?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Crenshaw County?

Apply via Crenshaw County environmental health (alabamapublichealth.gov). Official link: https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/crenshaw/. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.

What foods can I sell under Alabama cottage food law in Crenshaw County?

Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Alabama, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Crenshaw County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: Cottage food operations not subject to routine inspection per §22-20-5.1(b).. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Crenshaw County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Alabama report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Crenshaw County cottage food reports

What permits in Crenshaw County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Crenshaw County county cottage food report
Crenshaw County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Crenshaw County.

Download county report
Cover of Alabama cottage food law PDF report
Alabama state report

Full Alabama License & Permit Guide (189 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Crenshaw County.

Alabama law page

Free email alerts

Crenshaw County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Crenshaw County, with Alabama statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Crenshaw County page based on?
Quick comparison

Crenshaw County vs. bordering counties

RegulationCrenshaw County
This county
Lowndes CountyButler County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state statute.No specific state restriction; standard sanitation best practices apply.Not specified in state statute.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageYesYesYes
Delivery / pickupDirect to consumer only within Alabama.Direct sales to consumers permitted in person, by phone, online, or via mail within Alabama. Delivery may be in person, by an agent, or by …Direct to consumer only within Alabama.
Home occupation permitVariesConditionalVaries
Local business licenseVariesYesVaries
RestrictionsMust produce non-potentially hazardous foods only (no meat/poultry/fish). Sales direct to consumer only within Alabama. Must complete ADPH-…Must complete a state-approved food safety course (e.g., ACES course, $25) before selling. Must file paperwork (food safety course certific…Must produce non-potentially hazardous foods only (no meat/poultry/fish). Sales direct to consumer only within Alabama. Must complete ADPH-…
Food storageNot specifically regulated.Non-potentially hazardous foods only; must be shelf-stable and not require time/temperature control for safety.Not specifically regulated.
Population13,20510,15318,981
What other Alabama counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Alabama counties

Alabama
Pop. 672K
Alabama
Pop. 414K
Alabama
Pop. 390K
Alabama
Pop. 233K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Crenshaw County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Alabama's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Crenshaw County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Crenshaw County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Crenshaw County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Crenshaw County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Crenshaw County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Crenshaw County, Alabama?
Yes — Alabama allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. State permit required. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 6, 2026. Confirm with Alabama Department of Public Health and the Crenshaw County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Crenshaw County?
Your Crenshaw County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Crenshaw County at a glance?
Official filing

File with Crenshaw County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.

Apply via Crenshaw County environmental health(alabamapublichealth.gov)
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Crenshaw County? State vs county rules and pets
Alabama rule (statewide)Crenshaw County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Crenshaw County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Crenshaw County

    • Check with Crenshaw County business license office
    • Check with Crenshaw County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Alabama Department of Public Health — Cottage Food

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Alabama

    • Selling to stores: check with Alabama Department of Public Health

    Crenshaw County

    • Check with Crenshaw County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Alabama

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Alabama Department of Public Health

    Crenshaw County

    • Check with Crenshaw County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Alabama · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Alabama Department of Public Health.

    Alabama · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Alabama Department of Public Health.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.