Cottage food law & license in Washington County, AR
Crosodo ladder · not a license
How the ladder works- 0Not selling
- 1Sell from home
- 2Stores & markets
- 3Commercial kitchen
Most bakers start here. Step 2: check your county.
What do you want to do?
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz.
Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Permit Guide PDF after checkout
Can I sell this in Washington County?
All products in Arkansas →What's in the Washington County permit report


How to start in Washington County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Arkansas cottage food rules in Washington County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Arkansas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Producers may sell almost any nonperishable, non-potentially hazardous food directly to consumers, including baked goods, candies, condiments, dry goods, preserves, fermented foods, carbonated drinks, and snacks. Interstate sales are permitted and retail/wholesale channels are allowed as long as an informed end consumer is the final buyer.). Washington County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Washington County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: No. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Washington County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Arkansas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Arkansas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a private residence that is exempt from state licensing and inspection. This product may contain allergens.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Washington County is a county in Arkansas (pop. 247,331). Under Arkansas's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Arkansas Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Washington County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Washington County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Washington County AR follows the Arkansas Food Freedom Act (A.C.A. §20-57-201), one of the most permissive nationally. The law expressly preempts local restriction. Fayetteville is home to University of Arkansas. No county-specific cottage food rules found or needed due to state preemption. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
Washington County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Washington County.
Download county reportFull Arkansas License & Permit Guide (224 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Washington County.
Arkansas law pageTier: Freedom
Arkansas has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.
Arkansas cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Washington County
State baseline: A.C.A. §20-57-201 (Act 1040 of 2021)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Arkansas Food Freedom Act (July 2021) — among the most permissive nationally. No registration, no inspection, no sales cap, no food handler certification required. Must operate from primary residence kitchen (commercial kitchen use prohibited). State law expressly preempts both state and local government restrictions on home food producers. Acidified foods require pH testing at or below 4.6.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified; producers must operate from primary residence kitchen
- Water supply
- No specific state testing requirement for cottage food
- Handwashing
- No formal certification required
- Food storage
- No refrigerated TCS finished products; acidified foods (pickles) require pH testing (≤4.6) and batch-number labeling
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- State Food Freedom Act preempts all regulation; no inspection authority
- Home occupation permit
- No
- Permit details
- Arkansas Food Freedom Act expressly preempts local government from restricting home food producers. No home occupation permit can be required for cottage food operations in Washington County.
- Local business license
- No
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Yes
- Delivery / pickup
- All sales channels allowed including interstate sales (unusual — Arkansas is one of few states allowing this). Direct, online, retail, wholesale, restaurant sales all permitted.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in statute; must be primary residence
- Relevant code section
- A.C.A. §20-57-201 et seq. (Food Freedom Act) preempts local ordinances
Washington County AR follows the Arkansas Food Freedom Act (A.C.A. §20-57-201), one of the most permissive nationally. The law expressly preempts local restriction. Fayetteville is home to University of Arkansas. No county-specific cottage food rules found or needed due to state preemption.
Arkansas Food Freedom Act (SB 248 / Act 1040)
Full Arkansas License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptSB248 - TO CREATE THE FOOD FREEDOM ACT; AND TO EXEMPT CERTAIN PRODUCERS OF HOMEMADE FOOD OR DRINK PRODUCTS FROM LICENSURE, CERTIFICATION, AND INSPECTION. Under the food freedom law, producers can sell their homemade food almost anywhere, including sales through grocery and retail stores. Even interstate sales are allowed. Producers can sell almost any type of nonperishable food, though producers who sell acidified foods (e.g. pickles) must follow additional requirements. There is no sales limit, and a producer does not need to get a permit from the health department. The food freedom law specifically prevents state and local governments from restricting home food producers. Products must be sold to an informed end consumer. For instance, a grocery or retail store could sell your products to their customers, who are end consumers and can see your product labels. If you want to sell pickles or other acidified foods, you must ensure that the final pH level of the product is 4.6 or below by doing one of the following: Use a recipe from an approved source; Get your product tested in a lab; Test each batch with a calibrated pH meter.
Source: arkleg.state.ar.us/Bills/Detail?ddBienniumSession=2021%2F2021R&measureno=SB248 →
Washington County Permit Guide — $26 $13
Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
This page stays free. One-time $26 · this county’s PDF + workspace · add other counties free
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs it
Washington County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Washington County, Arkansas?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: No. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Washington County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Washington County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Washington County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Washington County. Ask Washington County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Arkansas?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Washington County?
Apply through Washington County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Washington County, Arkansas — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Arkansas cottage food law in Washington County?
Producers may sell almost any nonperishable, non-potentially hazardous food directly to consumers, including baked goods, candies, condiments, dry goods, preserves, fermented foods, carbonated drinks, and snacks. Interstate sales are permitted and retail/wholesale channels are allowed as long as an informed end consumer is the final buyer. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Arkansas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Washington County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: State Food Freedom Act preempts all regulation; no inspection authority. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
These two are only if you also sell in other counties.
Full Arkansas PDF (224 pages) — not just Washington County.

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Arkansas License & Permit Guide (224 pages).

Where to verify Washington County rules
Washington County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Washington County This county | Benton County | Crawford County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified; producers must operate from primary residence kitchen | No specific state restriction; general sanitation applies | No specific pet restriction in state law. |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Yes | Conditional | Yes |
| Delivery / pickup | All sales channels allowed including interstate sales (unusual — Arkansas is one of few states allowing this). Direct, online, retail, whol… | Direct and indirect sales; farmers markets, events, retail stores, online permitted | Almost all channels allowed including direct to consumer, retail, wholesale (if informed end consumer is final buyer), internet sales, and … |
| Home occupation permit | No | Varies | No |
| Local business license | No | Varies | No |
| Restrictions | Arkansas Food Freedom Act (July 2021) — among the most permissive nationally. No registration, no inspection, no sales cap, no food handler… | Non-TCS non-potentially-hazardous foods; no state license, permit, or inspection required; labeling required | Arkansas Food Freedom Act (A.C.A. §20-57-201, eff. July 2021) expressly preempts both state and local government restrictions on home food … |
| Food storage | No refrigerated TCS finished products; acidified foods (pickles) require pH testing (≤4.6) and batch-number labeling | Non-TCS foods stored in sanitary conditions | Non-potentially hazardous foods must be stored appropriately; no specific state mandate. |
| Population | 247,331 | 286,528 | 60,593 |
Washington County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Washington County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Other Arkansas counties
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Advertise here
Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise in Washington County, Arkansas
Reach home bakers in Washington County, Arkansas. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.
Learn about placementsYour business here
Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.
Post in the local discussionAds are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Arkansas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.