crosodo
County · Seat: Lakeport · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Lake County, CA

Inside the permit report

What's in the Lake County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Lake County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Lake County
Table of contents
Your Lake County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Lake County?

All products in California →
More Lake County resources
What's new for California cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Lake County?
Start here

How to start in Lake County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under California cottage food rules in Lake County. Not legal advice.

Important for this state

CDPH does not register CFOs

CDPH does not permit or register Cottage Food Operations. Class A registration and Class B permits go through the county Environmental Health agency. CDPH only maintains the approved cottage foods list. Class A is direct sales only (up to $75,000 gross a year). Class B is direct plus indirect (up to $150,000). 2026 CPI-adjusted gross annual sales limits (effective January 1, 2026): Class A $88,878, Class B $177,756. Statutory bases: $75,000 / $150,000, adjusted annually for inflation (Cal. Health & Safety Code §113758).

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    California cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Only foods on the official state-approved foods list may be sold; this includes most non-perishable foods such as baked goods, jams and preserves, candies, chocolates, dried goods, and spices. Class A operations are limited to direct sales (including online and shipping within California); Class B operations may additionally sell through retail stores and restaurants.). Lake County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: Tiered (see notes). On-site / porch pickup in Lake County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Yes. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Not with CDPH. County Environmental Health registers Class A (direct) and permits Class B (direct plus indirect).. Local inspection in Lake County: Conditional. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with California disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free California label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made in a Home Kitchen”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Lake County rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Test yourself on Lake County rules

A free 10-question quiz generated from verified Lake County and California data. Pass at 80% for a Crosodo Verified badge.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Lake County cottage food rules with California agencies?

Lake County is a county in California (pop. 68,024). Under California's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: Tiered (see notes)), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: County EH — not CDPH. Start with California Department of Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Lake County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Lake County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit required. Lake County CA has a dedicated Cottage Food Operations page under Environmental Health. Two-tier Class A/Class B system applies. Class B requires initial kitchen inspection. Planning department approval also required. One non-family FTE employee allowed. Sales cap $75,000. Food processor training course required within 3 months of registering. County has county-specific CFO documentation on.gov website. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Lake County?
State law applies

Tier: Good

California has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

California cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Lake County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Lake County

State baseline: CA Health & Safety Code §114365 et seq. (AB 1616, AB 1252)

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Class A (direct sales only): annual self-certification registration with Lake County Environmental Health required. Class B (direct + indirect sales): annual permit plus initial kitchen inspection required. Annual sales cap $75,000 (Class A and B combined). Food processor training course required within 3 months of registering. Only CDPH-approved food list items permitted (non-PHF baked goods, candies, jams, etc.).
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified but standard sanitation expected
Water supply
Approved potable water source
Handwashing
Sanitary operations required; food processor training covers handwashing
Food storage
Shelf-stable non-PHF products; no acidified or low-acid canned foods
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Conditional
Inspection trigger
Class B: initial inspection before permit; Class A: no routine inspection. Both: complaint-based inspection possible.
Home occupation permit
Yes
Permit details
All CFOs must obtain approval from local city or county planning department in addition to Environmental Health registration/permit. Planning department requirements vary by jurisdiction. Sellers Permits from Board of Equalization and city/county Business Licenses may also be required. Lake County Environmental Health administers registrations/permits.
Local business license
Yes
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Class A: direct sales from home or at community events within California. Class B: direct and indirect sales through retailers/restaurants within California. Both must be within-state only.
Max employees in home
One full-time equivalent non-family employee permitted
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Lake County Environmental Health - Cottage Food Operations; CA Health & Safety Code §114365
Local notes

Lake County CA has a dedicated Cottage Food Operations page under Environmental Health. Two-tier Class A/Class B system applies. Class B requires initial kitchen inspection. Planning department approval also required. One non-family FTE employee allowed. Sales cap $75,000. Food processor training course required within 3 months of registering. County has county-specific CFO documentation on.gov website.

What does the California cottage food statute say?
California statute (state law)

California Homemade Food Act (AB 1616, amended AB 1144/AB 831)

Citation: Cal. Health & Safety Code §113758
Verbatim excerpt

(a) "Cottage food operation" means an enterprise that has no more than the amount in gross annual sales that is specified in this subdivision, is operated by a cottage food operator, and has no more than one full-time equivalent cottage food employee, not including a family member or household member of the cottage food operator, within the registered or permitted area of a private home where the cottage food operator resides and where cottage food products are prepared or packaged for direct, indirect, or direct and indirect sale to consumers pursuant to this part. A "Class A" cottage food operation shall not have more than seventy-five thousand dollars ($75,000) in verifiable gross annual sales. A "Class B" cottage food operation shall not have more than one hundred fifty thousand dollars ($150,000) in verifiable gross annual sales. The gross annual sales for a "Class A" or "Class B" cottage food operation shall be annually adjusted for inflation based on the California Consumer Price Index. (1) A "Class A" cottage food operation, which is a cottage food operation that may engage only in direct sales of cottage food products from the cottage food operation or other direct sales venues. (2) A "Class B" cottage food operation, which is a cottage food operation that may engage in both direct sales and indirect sales of cottage food products from the cottage food operation, from direct sales venues, from offsite events, or from a third-party retail food facility. (3) "Cottage food products" means nonpotentially hazardous foods, including foods that are described in Section 114365.5 and that are prepared for sale in the kitchen of a cottage food operation. (4) "Direct sale" means a transaction within the state between a cottage food operation and a consumer, in which the consumer purchases the cottage food product directly from the cottage food operation. Direct sales include, but are not limited to, transactions at holiday bazaars or other temporary events, such as bake sales or food swaps, transactions at farm stands, certified farmers' markets, or through community-supported agriculture subscriptions.

Source: leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=HSC&sectionNum=113758 →
Full California License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Lake County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Lake County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Lake County, California?

County Environmental Health registers Class A / permits Class B — not CDPH. Local home-occupation permit: Yes. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Lake County EHS before you sell.

Class A vs Class B cottage food in Lake County?

Class B permit holders may sell indirectly through retail stores and restaurants statewide; Class A registrants are limited to direct sales only and may not sell through any retail or wholesale venue.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Lake County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Lake County. Ask Lake County EHS for the current Class A / Class B charge.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in California?

Caps 2026: Class A $88,878 / Class B $177,756. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Lake County?

Apply through Lake County EHS. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Lake County, California — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under California cottage food law in Lake County?

Only foods on the official state-approved foods list may be sold; this includes most non-perishable foods such as baked goods, jams and preserves, candies, chocolates, dried goods, and spices. Class A operations are limited to direct sales (including online and shipping within California); Class B operations may additionally sell through retail stores and restaurants. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by California, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Lake County?

Inspection: Conditional. Trigger: Class B: initial inspection before permit; Class A: no routine inspection. Both: complaint-based inspection possible.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Lake County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every California report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Lake County cottage food reports

What permits in Lake County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Lake County county cottage food report
Lake County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Lake County.

Download county report
Cover of California cottage food law PDF report
California state report

Full California License & Permit Guide (189 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Lake County.

California law page

Free email alerts

Lake County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Lake County, with California statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Lake County page based on?
Quick comparison

Lake County vs. bordering counties

RegulationLake County
This county
Mendocino CountyGlenn County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesTrue
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoFalse
Pets allowedNot specified but standard sanitation expectedNo specific state prohibition for cottage food; good manufacturing practices recommend keeping pets out of food preparation areas.No specific county rule; CDPH guidance recommends pets excluded from food prep area during production
Inspection requiredConditionalYesClass A: complaint-based only; Class B: annual inspection by county Environmental Health
On-site customer pickupYesYesTrue
On-site signageConditionalConditionalNo commercial signage per typical CA home occupation rules; state law preempts restrictions on cottage food sales
Delivery / pickupClass A: direct sales from home or at community events within California. Class B: direct and indirect sales through retailers/restaurants …Class A: direct sales only (home, farmers markets, events, online within California). Class B: also allows retail stores and restaurants. N…Direct sales and delivery within California only; no interstate sales per state law
Home occupation permitYesNoTrue
Local business licenseYesVariesCounty unincorporated areas generally do not require a county business license; City of Willows may require city business license
RestrictionsClass A (direct sales only): annual self-certification registration with Lake County Environmental Health required. Class B (direct + indir…California two-tier cottage food system: Class A (direct sales only, ~$86,206/year cap as of 2025) and Class B (direct and indirect sales, …—
Food storageShelf-stable non-PHF products; no acidified or low-acid canned foodsOnly CDPH-approved non-PHF shelf-stable foods; must prevent contamination.Standard food safety storage per CDPH approved foods list; all products must be non-potentially hazardous
Population68,02491,14528,657
What other California counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other California counties

California
Pop. 9.94M
California
Pop. 3.29M
California
Pop. 3.18M
California
Pop. 2.43M
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Lake County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to California's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Lake County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Lake County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Lake County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Lake County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Lake County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Lake County, California?
Yes — California allows cottage food sales. Caps 2026: Class A $88,878 / Class B $177,756. County Environmental Health registers Class A / permits Class B — not CDPH. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; home occupation permit required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Lake County Environmental Health (CDPH does not register CFOs) and the Lake County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Lake County?
Your Lake County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Lake County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Lake County? State vs county rules and pets
California rule (statewide)Lake County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Lake County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Lake County

    • Check with Lake County business license office
    • Check with Lake County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    CDPH Cottage Food Operations

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    California

    • Selling to stores: check with California Department of Public Health

    Lake County

    • Check with Lake County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    California

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with California Department of Public Health

    Lake County

    • Check with Lake County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    California · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with California Department of Public Health.

    California · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with California Department of Public Health.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.