Cottage food law & license in San Benito County, CA
What's in the San Benito County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in San Benito County?
More San Benito County resources
What's new for California cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in San Benito County?
How to start in San Benito County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under California cottage food rules in San Benito County. Not legal advice.
CDPH does not register CFOs
CDPH does not permit or register Cottage Food Operations. Class A registration and Class B permits go through the county Environmental Health agency. CDPH only maintains the approved cottage foods list. Class A is direct sales only (up to $75,000 gross a year). Class B is direct plus indirect (up to $150,000). 2026 CPI-adjusted gross annual sales limits (effective January 1, 2026): Class A $88,878, Class B $177,756. Statutory bases: $75,000 / $150,000, adjusted annually for inflation (Cal. Health & Safety Code §113758).
Confirm your menu under state law
California cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Only foods on the official state-approved foods list may be sold; this includes most non-perishable foods such as baked goods, jams and preserves, candies, chocolates, dried goods, and spices. Class A operations are limited to direct sales (including online and shipping within California); Class B operations may additionally sell through retail stores and restaurants.). San Benito County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: Tiered (see notes). On-site / porch pickup in San Benito County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Not with CDPH. County Environmental Health registers Class A (direct) and permits Class B (direct plus indirect).. Local inspection in San Benito County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with California disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free California label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made in a Home Kitchen”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on California county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
California county rules quiz
San Benito County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the California statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a San Benito County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify San Benito County cottage food rules with California agencies?
San Benito County is a county in California (pop. 64,753). Under California's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: Tiered (see notes)), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: County EH — not CDPH. Start with California Department of Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm San Benito County health and planning requirements. Local notes for San Benito County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. San Benito County is a small agricultural county near Hollister, adjacent to Santa Clara and Monterey counties. California two-tier CFO system applies. One non-family employee limit. No specific San Benito County overrides found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in San Benito County?
Tier: Good
California has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
California cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the San Benito County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for San Benito County
State baseline: Cal. Health & Safety Code §113758
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Class A (direct sales only): up to ~$86,206/year; Class B (direct and indirect): up to ~$172,411/year with home inspection required. Food safety training required every 3 years (ANSI-accredited). San Benito County Environmental Health administers local permits. State preempts local zoning restrictions (GOV §51035).
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Pets should be excluded during food preparation per food safety training and GMP
- Water supply
- Potable water required; county environmental health may require well water testing for private wells
- Handwashing
- Handwashing sink required; assessed for Class B
- Food storage
- Non-PHF shelf-stable approved foods only
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- Class A: no inspection required. Class B: initial home kitchen inspection required.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- San Benito County Environmental Health Department handles cottage food registration. State preempts local zoning restrictions. Contact San Benito County Environmental Health at (831) 637-5346.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Class A: direct sales including online and shipping within California. Class B: plus retail stores and restaurants within California. No interstate sales.
- Max employees in home
- Only one non-family employee permitted
- Relevant code section
- San Benito County Environmental Health administers CFO registration
San Benito County is a small agricultural county near Hollister, adjacent to Santa Clara and Monterey counties. California two-tier CFO system applies. One non-family employee limit. No specific San Benito County overrides found.
What does the California cottage food statute say?
California Homemade Food Act (AB 1616, amended AB 1144/AB 831)
Full California License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt(a) "Cottage food operation" means an enterprise that has no more than the amount in gross annual sales that is specified in this subdivision, is operated by a cottage food operator, and has no more than one full-time equivalent cottage food employee, not including a family member or household member of the cottage food operator, within the registered or permitted area of a private home where the cottage food operator resides and where cottage food products are prepared or packaged for direct, indirect, or direct and indirect sale to consumers pursuant to this part. A "Class A" cottage food operation shall not have more than seventy-five thousand dollars ($75,000) in verifiable gross annual sales. A "Class B" cottage food operation shall not have more than one hundred fifty thousand dollars ($150,000) in verifiable gross annual sales. The gross annual sales for a "Class A" or "Class B" cottage food operation shall be annually adjusted for inflation based on the California Consumer Price Index. (1) A "Class A" cottage food operation, which is a cottage food operation that may engage only in direct sales of cottage food products from the cottage food operation or other direct sales venues. (2) A "Class B" cottage food operation, which is a cottage food operation that may engage in both direct sales and indirect sales of cottage food products from the cottage food operation, from direct sales venues, from offsite events, or from a third-party retail food facility. (3) "Cottage food products" means nonpotentially hazardous foods, including foods that are described in Section 114365.5 and that are prepared for sale in the kitchen of a cottage food operation. (4) "Direct sale" means a transaction within the state between a cottage food operation and a consumer, in which the consumer purchases the cottage food product directly from the cottage food operation. Direct sales include, but are not limited to, transactions at holiday bazaars or other temporary events, such as bake sales or food swaps, transactions at farm stands, certified farmers' markets, or through community-supported agriculture subscriptions.
Source: leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=HSC§ionNum=113758 →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. San Benito County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeSan Benito County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in San Benito County, California?
County Environmental Health registers Class A / permits Class B — not CDPH. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with San Benito County EHS before you sell.
Class A vs Class B cottage food in San Benito County?
Class B permit holders may sell indirectly through retail stores and restaurants statewide; Class A registrants are limited to direct sales only and may not sell through any retail or wholesale venue.
What is the cottage food permit fee in San Benito County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for San Benito County. Ask San Benito County EHS for the current Class A / Class B charge.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in California?
Caps 2026: Class A $88,878 / Class B $177,756. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in San Benito County?
Apply through San Benito County EHS. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for San Benito County, California — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under California cottage food law in San Benito County?
Only foods on the official state-approved foods list may be sold; this includes most non-perishable foods such as baked goods, jams and preserves, candies, chocolates, dried goods, and spices. Class A operations are limited to direct sales (including online and shipping within California); Class B operations may additionally sell through retail stores and restaurants. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by California, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in San Benito County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: Class A: no inspection required. Class B: initial home kitchen inspection required.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every California report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeSan Benito County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for San Benito County.
Download county reportFull California License & Permit Guide (189 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside San Benito County.
California law pageFree email alerts
San Benito County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in San Benito County, with California statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this San Benito County page based on?
Where to verify San Benito County rules
San Benito County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | San Benito County This county | Santa Cruz County | Merced County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Pets should be excluded during food preparation per food safety training and GMP | Not specified by county; state law requires sanitary food preparation area | Not specified in available sources; general sanitation and clean kitchen required |
| Inspection required | No | Conditional | Depends-on-volume |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Class A: direct sales including online and shipping within California. Class B: plus retail stores and restaurants within California. No in… | Class A: direct sales only (including online with local delivery/pickup or shipping within CA). Class B: direct + indirect sales (wholesale… | Class A: direct sales only (at home, farmers markets, events). Class B: direct and indirect sales including retail stores and online. Max 1… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Conditional | Yes |
| Local business license | Varies | Yes | Varies |
| Restrictions | Class A (direct sales only): up to ~$86,206/year; Class B (direct and indirect): up to ~$172,411/year with home inspection required. Food s… | Class A (direct sales, cap ~$86,206/year) or Class B (direct+indirect, cap ~$172,411/year). Must register with Santa Cruz County Environmen… | CDPH-approved food list only; annual Class A registration or Class B permit required from Merced County Environmental Health; food handler … |
| Food storage | Non-PHF shelf-stable approved foods only | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods on CDPH approved list only; no refrigerated products | CDPH-approved non-TCS foods stored in sanitary conditions |
| Population | 64,753 | 268,571 | 282,290 |
What other California counties can I compare?
Other California counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this San Benito County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to California's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other San Benito County bakers?
San Benito County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about San Benito County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in San Benito County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in San Benito County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about San Benito County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in San Benito County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
California
San Benito County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
California
San Benito County
- Check with San Benito County business license office
- Check with San Benito County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
California
- Selling to stores: check with California Department of Public Health
San Benito County
- Check with San Benito County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
California
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with California Department of Public Health
San Benito County
- Check with San Benito County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
California · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with California Department of Public Health.
California · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with California Department of Public Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.