crosodo
County · Seat: Boise · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Ada County, ID

Inside the permit report

What's in the Ada County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Ada County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Ada County
Table of contents
Your Ada County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Ada County?

All products in Idaho →
More Ada County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Ada County?
Start here

How to start in Ada County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Idaho cottage food rules in Ada County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Idaho cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Idaho allows all non-potentially hazardous foods except acidified foods. This broad category includes baked goods, candies, condiments (honey, mustards, nut butters, oils, syrups, vinegars), dry goods, pastries, most preserves (including jams and jellies), and snacks. Some borderline items like fruit butters may require health district approval.). Ada County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Ada County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Ada County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Idaho disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Idaho label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is not subject to government food safety inspection or licensing requirements. It may contain allergens.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Idaho county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Idaho county rules quiz

Ada County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Idaho statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Ada County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Ada County cottage food rules with Idaho agencies?

Ada County is a county in Idaho (pop. 497,494). Under Idaho's Great-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Idaho Department of Health and Welfare (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Ada County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Ada County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Idaho is a Great-tier state: no registration, no inspection, no training, no sales cap. All non-PHF foods except acidified foods. Direct sales within Idaho only. Ada County (Boise) is the most populous county in Idaho. State does not preempt local ordinances. City of Boise and Ada County unincorporated areas have their own home occupation zoning rules. Specific Ada County/Boise home occupation permit requirements not confirmed from direct source. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Ada County?
State law applies

Tier: Great

Idaho's cottage food law is permissive (Great tier) — high or no sales cap, broad product list, and multiple sales channels allowed. The state baseline is workable for full-time operations; the county still controls zoning and inspection.

Idaho cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Ada County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Ada County

State baseline: IDAPA 16.02.19 (Idaho Food Code, cottage food provisions)

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
All non-potentially hazardous foods except acidified foods. No registration, no inspection, no training requirement, no sales cap. No wholesale/restaurant/retail sales. Direct sales within Idaho only.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific state cottage food pet restriction; general sanitation expected
Water supply
No specific water testing requirement in state cottage food law
Handwashing
No specific requirement in state cottage food law
Food storage
Standard home kitchen storage for approved non-PHF foods
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No inspection required; IDHW recommends but does not require a Food Risk Assessment Form
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
Idaho state cottage food law is administered through IDHW and health districts with no formal registration. State does not preempt local ordinances in general. Ada County (Boise area) unincorporated areas and City of Boise may have home occupation permit requirements. City of Boise has its own zoning code governing home occupations. Operators should check with Ada County Development Services or City of Boise Planning for home occupation permit requirements.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct sales within Idaho: farmers markets, events, home. No wholesale/retail/restaurant. No annual cap. No online/interstate sales.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state cottage food law
Zoning code
Relevant code section
IDAPA 16.02.19. Local: Ada County Development Services/City of Boise zoning codes.
Local notes

Idaho is a Great-tier state: no registration, no inspection, no training, no sales cap. All non-PHF foods except acidified foods. Direct sales within Idaho only. Ada County (Boise) is the most populous county in Idaho. State does not preempt local ordinances. City of Boise and Ada County unincorporated areas have their own home occupation zoning rules. Specific Ada County/Boise home occupation permit requirements not confirmed from direct source.

What does the Idaho cottage food statute say?
Idaho statute (state law)

Idaho Administrative Procedure Act Rule 16.02.19 (Idaho Food Code), cottage food exemption provisions; see also Idaho Code Title 22, Chapter 13 (Idaho Food Freedom Act, proposed 2012 but not enacted as separate statute)

Citation: IDAPA 16.02.19 (Idaho Food Code, cottage food provisions)
Verbatim excerpt

STARTING A HOMEMADE FOOD OPERATION [from Eastern Idaho Public Health guidance implementing IDAPA 16.02.19]: Idaho has allowed for the sale of low-risk homemade foods for years through administrative practice. The Idaho Department of Health and Welfare has established that non-potentially hazardous foods may be sold directly to consumers without a food establishment license. Except for acidified foods, any non-potentially hazardous food is allowed. Some types of items, like fruit butters, apple sauce, and pepper jams, may be allowed depending on the recipe — contact your health district to get approval for products you are unsure about. Limitations confirmed: Direct sales only; interstate sales prohibited; perishable foods prohibited; no commercial kitchen use. Labeling: Foods that you produce in your home need to be clearly labeled on the product packaging; or by a clearly visible placard at the sales/service location that also states: 'The food was prepared in a home kitchen that is not subject to regulation and inspection by the regulatory authority; and the food may contain allergens.' Sales limit: unlimited (no sales cap).

Source: forrager.com/law/idaho/ →
Full Idaho License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Ada County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Ada County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Ada County, Idaho?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Ada County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Ada County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Ada County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Ada County. Ask Ada County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Idaho?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Ada County?

Apply through Ada County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Ada County, Idaho — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Idaho cottage food law in Ada County?

Idaho allows all non-potentially hazardous foods except acidified foods. This broad category includes baked goods, candies, condiments (honey, mustards, nut butters, oils, syrups, vinegars), dry goods, pastries, most preserves (including jams and jellies), and snacks. Some borderline items like fruit butters may require health district approval. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Idaho, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Ada County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No inspection required; IDHW recommends but does not require a Food Risk Assessment Form. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Ada County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Idaho report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Ada County cottage food reports

What permits in Ada County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Ada County county cottage food report
Ada County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Ada County.

Download county report
Cover of Idaho cottage food law PDF report
Idaho state report

Full Idaho License & Permit Guide (146 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Ada County.

Idaho law page

Free email alerts

Ada County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Ada County, with Idaho statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Ada County page based on?
Quick comparison

Ada County vs. bordering counties

RegulationAda County
This county
Canyon CountyElmore County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific state cottage food pet restriction; general sanitation expectedNot specified in state rules; kitchen must be sanitaryNo specific state-level pet restriction for cottage food, but good manufacturing practices recommend excluding pets during production.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesConditional
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect sales within Idaho: farmers markets, events, home. No wholesale/retail/restaurant. No annual cap. No online/interstate sales.Direct-to-consumer only: home, farmers markets, events. No wholesale, no retail, no internet/mail order to out-of-state consumers.Idaho cottage food allows direct sales to consumers; home pickup is permitted. Delivery to consumers is permitted. No mail order or interne…
Home occupation permitConditionalConditionalConditional
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsAll non-potentially hazardous foods except acidified foods. No registration, no inspection, no training requirement, no sales cap. No whole…No registration, no inspection, no training requirement, no sales cap. All non-potentially hazardous foods allowed except acidified foods. …Must operate from primary residence kitchen. No registration or inspection required at state level. Only non-potentially hazardous foods al…
Food storageStandard home kitchen storage for approved non-PHF foodsNon-TCS non-acidified shelf-stable foods; acidified foods (pickles, salsas) prohibitedProducts must be stored at producer's primary residence; safe handling guidelines apply.
Population497,494235,00627,559
What other Idaho counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Idaho counties

Idaho
Pop. 235K
Idaho
Pop. 173K
Idaho
Pop. 124K
Idaho
Pop. 91K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Ada County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Idaho's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Ada County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Ada County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Ada County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Ada County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Ada County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Ada County, Idaho?
Yes — Idaho allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Idaho Department of Health and Welfare and the Ada County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Ada County?
Your Ada County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Ada County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Ada County? State vs county rules and pets
Idaho rule (statewide)Ada County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Ada County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Ada County

    • Check with Ada County business license office

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Idaho Department of Health and Welfare — Food Safety · Ada County Development Services — Permitting Division

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Idaho

    • Selling to stores: check with Idaho Department of Health and Welfare

    Ada County

    • Check with Ada County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Idaho

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Idaho Department of Health and Welfare

    Ada County

    • Check with Ada County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Idaho · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Idaho Department of Health and Welfare.

    Idaho · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Idaho Department of Health and Welfare.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.