crosodo
County · Seat: Columbia · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Adair County, KY

Inside the permit report

What's in the Adair County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Adair County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Adair County
Table of contents
Your Adair County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Adair County?

All products in Kentucky →
More Adair County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Adair County?
Start here

How to start in Adair County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Kentucky cottage food rules in Adair County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Kentucky cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Home-based processors may sell non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups (maple and sorghum only), granola, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs (separate exemption, up to 60 dozen/week) and honey (up to 150 gallons/year) are also allowed under separate provisions.). Adair County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $60,000. On-site / porch pickup in Adair County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: No. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Adair County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Kentucky disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Kentucky label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced and processed”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Kentucky county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Kentucky county rules quiz

Adair County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Kentucky statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Adair County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Adair County cottage food rules with Kentucky agencies?

Adair County is a county in Kentucky (pop. 18,887). Under Kentucky's Okay-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 60000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Kentucky Department for Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Adair County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Adair County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Adair County is a small rural south-central Kentucky county (pop. ~19,202). No county-specific cottage food ordinance was found. Defaulting to Kentucky state baseline. State law requires CHFS registration ($50/year), $60,000 annual sales cap, direct sales only. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Adair County?
State law applies

Tier: Okay

Kentucky has an Okay-tier cottage food law — meaningful sales caps and/or limited channels. Operable for a side business, but you'll likely outgrow the rules if you want to go full-time.

Kentucky cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Adair County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Adair County

State baseline: KRS §217.136

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Kentucky home-based processor law (KRS §217.136) allows direct-to-consumer sales of non-TCS foods from a home kitchen. Registration with the Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services (CHFS) is required ($50/year). Annual sales cap of $60,000. Direct sales only — farmers markets, farm stands, home pickup, and events permitted. No more than two non-commercial ranges/ovens and three refrigerators permitted.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific pet restriction in state statute, but good manufacturing practices expected.
Water supply
No specific state cottage food water testing requirement.
Handwashing
No specific state handwashing mandate beyond general food safety practices.
Food storage
Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. No more than three refrigerators for storage.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection; complaint-driven only per state baseline.
Home occupation permit
No
Permit details
Adair County is a small rural south-central Kentucky county. No county-specific cottage food or home occupation ordinance beyond the state registration requirement was identified. CHFS registration ($50/year) is the primary permit requirement.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Yes
Delivery / pickup
Direct sales only. Sales at farmers markets, farm stands, events, and home pickup permitted. No wholesale, retail stores, or internet-based indirect sales.
Max employees in home
Not specified; commercial equipment and separate commercial kitchen prohibited.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
No specific Adair County cottage food ordinance identified.
Local notes

Adair County is a small rural south-central Kentucky county (pop. ~19,202). No county-specific cottage food ordinance was found. Defaulting to Kentucky state baseline. State law requires CHFS registration ($50/year), $60,000 annual sales cap, direct sales only.

What does the Kentucky cottage food statute say?
Kentucky statute (state law)

Kentucky Revised Statutes §217.136 — Home-Based Food Processors; Exemption from Permit Requirement and Fair Packaging and Labeling Laws (§217.137 addresses home-based microprocessors)

Citation: KRS §217.137
Verbatim excerpt

217.136 Home-based food processors -- Exemption from permit requirement and fair packaging and labeling laws -- Production, labeling, and sales of home-processed food products -- Inspections -- Registration system. (1) A home-based processor shall be exempt from KRS 217.035 and 217.037 if the following conditions are met: (a) All finished product containers are clean, sanitary, and properly labeled pursuant to subsection (3) of this section; (b) All home-processed foods produced under this exemption are neither adulterated nor misbranded pursuant to subsection (4) of this section; and (c) All glass containers for jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, and similar products are provided with suitable rigid metal covers. (2) A home-based processor shall not produce or process for sale acid foods, acidified food products, formulated acid food products, or low-acid canned foods. (3) A home-based processor shall label each of its food products and include the following information: (a) The name and address of the home-based processing operation; (b) The common or usual name of the food product; (c) The ingredients of the food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (d) The net weight and volume of the food product by standard measure, or numerical count; (e) The following statement in ten (10) point type: "This product is home-produced and processed"; and (f) The date the product was processed. (5) Food products [...] may only be offered for sale directly to consumers within this state, including from the home-based processor's home, whether by pick-up or delivery, at a market, roadside stand, community event, or online. (12) Beginning January 1, 2020, a home-based processor shall be registered with the cabinet.

Source: apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=48558 →
Full Kentucky License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Adair County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Adair County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Adair County, Kentucky?

State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: No. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Adair County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Adair County?

State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Adair County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Adair County. Ask Adair County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Kentucky?

$60,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Adair County?

Apply through Adair County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Adair County, Kentucky — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Kentucky cottage food law in Adair County?

Home-based processors may sell non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups (maple and sorghum only), granola, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs (separate exemption, up to 60 dozen/week) and honey (up to 150 gallons/year) are also allowed under separate provisions. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Kentucky, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Adair County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: No routine inspection; complaint-driven only per state baseline.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Adair County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Kentucky report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Adair County cottage food reports

What permits in Adair County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Adair County county cottage food report
Adair County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Adair County.

Download county report
Cover of Kentucky cottage food law PDF report
Kentucky state report

Full Kentucky License & Permit Guide (409 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Adair County.

Kentucky law page

Free email alerts

Adair County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Adair County, with Kentucky statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Adair County page based on?
Quick comparison

Adair County vs. bordering counties

RegulationAdair County
This county
Russell CountyCasey County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific pet restriction in state statute, but good manufacturing practices expected.Not specified in state lawNo specific pet restriction in state statute, but good manufacturing practices expected.
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageYesConditionalYes
Delivery / pickupDirect sales only. Sales at farmers markets, farm stands, events, and home pickup permitted. No wholesale, retail stores, or internet-based…Direct-to-consumer only within KY; farmers markets, roadside stands, fairs, festivals, community events, online orders (in-state); home pic…Direct sales only. Sales at farmers markets, farm stands, events, and home pickup permitted. No wholesale, retail stores, or internet-based…
Home occupation permitNoVariesNo
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsKentucky home-based processor law (KRS §217.136) allows direct-to-consumer sales of non-TCS foods from a home kitchen. Registration with th…Annual sales cap $60,000. Registration required with KY Dept of Public Health ($50/year). No food handler cert required. Inspection upon co…Kentucky home-based processor law (KRS §217.136) allows direct-to-consumer sales of non-TCS foods from a home kitchen. Registration with CH…
Food storageNon-TCS shelf-stable foods only. No more than three refrigerators for storage.Appropriate storage for non-TCS productsNon-TCS shelf-stable foods only. No more than three refrigerators for storage.
Population19,20218,02115,844
What other Kentucky counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Kentucky counties

Kentucky
Pop. 779K
Kentucky
Pop. 321K
Kentucky
Pop. 169K
Kentucky
Pop. 136K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Adair County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Kentucky's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Adair County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Adair County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Adair County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Adair County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Adair County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Adair County, Kentucky?
Yes — Kentucky allows cottage food sales. $60,000 annual sales cap. State permit required. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no home occupation permit required. Last verified May 6, 2026. Confirm with Kentucky Department for Public Health and the Adair County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Adair County?
Your Adair County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Adair County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Adair County? State vs county rules and pets
Kentucky rule (statewide)Adair County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Adair County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Adair County

    • Check with Adair County business license office
    • Check with Adair County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Kentucky CHFS — Summary of Updates to Home-Based Processing

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Kentucky

    • Selling to stores: check with Kentucky Department for Public Health

    Adair County

    • Check with Adair County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Kentucky

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Kentucky Department for Public Health

    Adair County

    • Check with Adair County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Kentucky · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Kentucky Department for Public Health.

    Kentucky · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Kentucky Department for Public Health.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.