crosodo
County · Seat: Shepherdsville · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Bullitt County, KY

Inside the permit report

What's in the Bullitt County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Bullitt County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Bullitt County
Table of contents
Your Bullitt County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Bullitt County?

All products in Kentucky →
More Bullitt County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Bullitt County?
Start here

How to start in Bullitt County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Kentucky cottage food rules in Bullitt County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Kentucky cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Home-based processors may sell non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups (maple and sorghum only), granola, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs (separate exemption, up to 60 dozen/week) and honey (up to 150 gallons/year) are also allowed under separate provisions.). Bullitt County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $60,000. On-site / porch pickup in Bullitt County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Bullitt County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Kentucky disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Kentucky label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced and processed”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Kentucky county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Kentucky county rules quiz

Bullitt County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Kentucky statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Bullitt County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Bullitt County cottage food rules with Kentucky agencies?

Bullitt County is a county in Kentucky (pop. 82,482). Under Kentucky's Okay-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 60000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Kentucky Department for Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Bullitt County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Bullitt County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Bullitt County is a suburban Louisville county. Kentucky has a $60,000 annual cap and requires $50/year registration. The allowed foods list is relatively restrictive (no acidified foods, no fermented foods). No county-specific overrides found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Bullitt County?
State law applies

Tier: Okay

Kentucky has an Okay-tier cottage food law — meaningful sales caps and/or limited channels. Operable for a side business, but you'll likely outgrow the rules if you want to go full-time.

Kentucky cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Bullitt County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Bullitt County

State baseline: KRS §217.137

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Kentucky home-based processor: registration required ($50/year, 902 KAR 45:090), $60,000 annual sales cap. Allowed: non-TCS baked goods, candies, jams, jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, maple and sorghum syrups, granola, snacks. Kitchen restrictions: no more than 2 non-commercial ranges/ovens and no more than 3 refrigerators; no commercial equipment. Acidified foods, pickles, salsas, low-acid canned goods, nut butters, oils, vinegars, pasta, fermented foods, juices, and meat jerkies are prohibited under the standard home-based processor pathway.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
Not specified in state law.
Water supply
No specific statutory requirement.
Handwashing
No specific statutory requirement for home kitchen infrastructure.
Food storage
No more than 3 refrigerators allowed; standard food safety storage practices.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection. KY Cabinet for Health and Family Services may investigate upon complaint.
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
Bullitt County is in the Louisville metro area. Bullitt County and municipalities (Shepherdsville, Mt. Washington, etc.) may have home occupation requirements. No specific Bullitt County cottage food ordinance identified.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct sales only: in-person at home, events, farmers markets. No wholesale, no online shipping under KRS §217.136.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state law; commercial equipment and separate commercial kitchen prohibited.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
No Bullitt County-specific cottage food code identified. KRS §217.136 and §217.137 govern.
Local notes

Bullitt County is a suburban Louisville county. Kentucky has a $60,000 annual cap and requires $50/year registration. The allowed foods list is relatively restrictive (no acidified foods, no fermented foods). No county-specific overrides found.

What does the Kentucky cottage food statute say?
Kentucky statute (state law)

Kentucky Revised Statutes §217.136 — Home-Based Food Processors; Exemption from Permit Requirement and Fair Packaging and Labeling Laws (§217.137 addresses home-based microprocessors)

Citation: KRS §217.137
Verbatim excerpt

217.136 Home-based food processors -- Exemption from permit requirement and fair packaging and labeling laws -- Production, labeling, and sales of home-processed food products -- Inspections -- Registration system. (1) A home-based processor shall be exempt from KRS 217.035 and 217.037 if the following conditions are met: (a) All finished product containers are clean, sanitary, and properly labeled pursuant to subsection (3) of this section; (b) All home-processed foods produced under this exemption are neither adulterated nor misbranded pursuant to subsection (4) of this section; and (c) All glass containers for jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, and similar products are provided with suitable rigid metal covers. (2) A home-based processor shall not produce or process for sale acid foods, acidified food products, formulated acid food products, or low-acid canned foods. (3) A home-based processor shall label each of its food products and include the following information: (a) The name and address of the home-based processing operation; (b) The common or usual name of the food product; (c) The ingredients of the food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (d) The net weight and volume of the food product by standard measure, or numerical count; (e) The following statement in ten (10) point type: "This product is home-produced and processed"; and (f) The date the product was processed. (5) Food products [...] may only be offered for sale directly to consumers within this state, including from the home-based processor's home, whether by pick-up or delivery, at a market, roadside stand, community event, or online. (12) Beginning January 1, 2020, a home-based processor shall be registered with the cabinet.

Source: apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=48558 →
Full Kentucky License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Bullitt County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Bullitt County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Bullitt County, Kentucky?

State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Bullitt County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Bullitt County?

State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Bullitt County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Bullitt County. Ask Bullitt County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Kentucky?

$60,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Bullitt County?

Apply through Bullitt County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Bullitt County, Kentucky — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Kentucky cottage food law in Bullitt County?

Home-based processors may sell non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups (maple and sorghum only), granola, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs (separate exemption, up to 60 dozen/week) and honey (up to 150 gallons/year) are also allowed under separate provisions. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Kentucky, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Bullitt County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: No routine inspection. KY Cabinet for Health and Family Services may investigate upon complaint.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Bullitt County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Kentucky report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Bullitt County cottage food reports

What permits in Bullitt County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Bullitt County county cottage food report
Bullitt County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Bullitt County.

Download county report
Cover of Kentucky cottage food law PDF report
Kentucky state report

Full Kentucky License & Permit Guide (409 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Bullitt County.

Kentucky law page

Free email alerts

Bullitt County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Bullitt County, with Kentucky statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Bullitt County page based on?
Quick comparison

Bullitt County vs. bordering counties

RegulationBullitt County
This county
Hardin CountyNelson County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNot specified in state law.No specific state restriction; standard food safety sanitation practices apply.Not specified in state law
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintUpon-complaintUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect sales only: in-person at home, events, farmers markets. No wholesale, no online shipping under KRS §217.136.Kentucky allows direct sales only: from home, farmers markets, events. Online/in-state shipping status unclear. No wholesale, restaurants, …Direct-to-consumer only within KY; farmers markets, roadside stands, fairs, festivals, community events, online orders (in-state); home pic…
Home occupation permitVariesVariesVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsKentucky home-based processor: registration required ($50/year, 902 KAR 45:090), $60,000 annual sales cap. Allowed: non-TCS baked goods, ca…Kentucky allows non-TCS baked goods, candies, jams/jellies, granola, etc. from home kitchen. Registration required with KY Dept. for Public…Annual sales cap $60,000. Registration required with KY Dept of Public Health ($50/year). No food handler cert required. Inspection upon co…
Food storageNo more than 3 refrigerators allowed; standard food safety storage practices.Non-TCS shelf-stable products only. Acidified foods (pickles, salsas), fermented foods, nut butters, oils, vinegars, pasta, juices, meat je…Appropriate storage for non-TCS products
Population82,482111,00546,779
What other Kentucky counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Kentucky counties

Kentucky
Pop. 779K
Kentucky
Pop. 321K
Kentucky
Pop. 169K
Kentucky
Pop. 136K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Bullitt County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Kentucky's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Bullitt County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Bullitt County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Bullitt County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Bullitt County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Bullitt County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Bullitt County, Kentucky?
Yes — Kentucky allows cottage food sales. $60,000 annual sales cap. State permit required. Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Kentucky Department for Public Health and the Bullitt County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Bullitt County?
Your Bullitt County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Bullitt County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Bullitt County? State vs county rules and pets
Kentucky rule (statewide)Bullitt County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Bullitt County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Bullitt County

    • Check with Bullitt County business license office
    • Check with Bullitt County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Kentucky CHFS — Summary of Updates to Home-Based Processing

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Kentucky

    • Selling to stores: check with Kentucky Department for Public Health

    Bullitt County

    • Check with Bullitt County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Kentucky

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Kentucky Department for Public Health

    Bullitt County

    • Check with Bullitt County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Kentucky · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Kentucky Department for Public Health.

    Kentucky · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Kentucky Department for Public Health.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.