Cottage food law & license in Clinton County, KY
What's in the Clinton County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Clinton County?
More Clinton County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Clinton County?
How to start in Clinton County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Kentucky cottage food rules in Clinton County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Kentucky cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Home-based processors may sell non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups (maple and sorghum only), granola, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs (separate exemption, up to 60 dozen/week) and honey (up to 150 gallons/year) are also allowed under separate provisions.). Clinton County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $60,000. On-site / porch pickup in Clinton County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: No. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Clinton County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Kentucky disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Kentucky label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced and processed”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Kentucky county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Kentucky county rules quiz
Clinton County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Kentucky statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Clinton County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Clinton County cottage food rules with Kentucky agencies?
Clinton County is a county in Kentucky (pop. 9,295). Under Kentucky's Okay-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 60000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Kentucky Department for Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Clinton County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Clinton County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Clinton County is a small rural southern Kentucky county on the Tennessee border (pop. ~10,218). No county-specific cottage food ordinance was found. Defaulting to Kentucky state baseline. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Clinton County?
Tier: Okay
Kentucky has an Okay-tier cottage food law — meaningful sales caps and/or limited channels. Operable for a side business, but you'll likely outgrow the rules if you want to go full-time.
Kentucky cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Clinton County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Clinton County
State baseline: KRS §217.136
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Kentucky home-based processor law (KRS §217.136) allows direct-to-consumer sales of non-TCS foods from a home kitchen. Registration with CHFS is required ($50/year). Annual sales cap of $60,000. Direct sales only — farmers markets, farm stands, home pickup, and events permitted. No more than two non-commercial ranges/ovens and three refrigerators permitted.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- No specific pet restriction in state statute, but good manufacturing practices expected.
- Water supply
- No specific state cottage food water testing requirement.
- Handwashing
- No specific state handwashing mandate beyond general food safety practices.
- Food storage
- Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. No more than three refrigerators for storage.
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection; complaint-driven only per state baseline.
- Home occupation permit
- No
- Permit details
- Clinton County is a small rural southern Kentucky county on the Tennessee border. No county-specific cottage food or home occupation ordinance beyond the state registration requirement was identified. CHFS registration ($50/year) is the primary permit requirement.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Yes
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct sales only. Sales at farmers markets, farm stands, events, and home pickup permitted. No wholesale, retail stores, or internet-based indirect sales.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified; commercial equipment and separate commercial kitchen prohibited.
- Relevant code section
- No specific Clinton County cottage food ordinance identified.
Clinton County is a small rural southern Kentucky county on the Tennessee border (pop. ~10,218). No county-specific cottage food ordinance was found. Defaulting to Kentucky state baseline.
What does the Kentucky cottage food statute say?
Kentucky Revised Statutes §217.136 — Home-Based Food Processors; Exemption from Permit Requirement and Fair Packaging and Labeling Laws (§217.137 addresses home-based microprocessors)
Full Kentucky License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt217.136 Home-based food processors -- Exemption from permit requirement and fair packaging and labeling laws -- Production, labeling, and sales of home-processed food products -- Inspections -- Registration system. (1) A home-based processor shall be exempt from KRS 217.035 and 217.037 if the following conditions are met: (a) All finished product containers are clean, sanitary, and properly labeled pursuant to subsection (3) of this section; (b) All home-processed foods produced under this exemption are neither adulterated nor misbranded pursuant to subsection (4) of this section; and (c) All glass containers for jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, and similar products are provided with suitable rigid metal covers. (2) A home-based processor shall not produce or process for sale acid foods, acidified food products, formulated acid food products, or low-acid canned foods. (3) A home-based processor shall label each of its food products and include the following information: (a) The name and address of the home-based processing operation; (b) The common or usual name of the food product; (c) The ingredients of the food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (d) The net weight and volume of the food product by standard measure, or numerical count; (e) The following statement in ten (10) point type: "This product is home-produced and processed"; and (f) The date the product was processed. (5) Food products [...] may only be offered for sale directly to consumers within this state, including from the home-based processor's home, whether by pick-up or delivery, at a market, roadside stand, community event, or online. (12) Beginning January 1, 2020, a home-based processor shall be registered with the cabinet.
Source: apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=48558 →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Clinton County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeClinton County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Clinton County, Kentucky?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: No. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Clinton County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Clinton County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Clinton County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Clinton County. Ask Clinton County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Kentucky?
$60,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Clinton County?
Apply through Clinton County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Clinton County, Kentucky — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Kentucky cottage food law in Clinton County?
Home-based processors may sell non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups (maple and sorghum only), granola, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs (separate exemption, up to 60 dozen/week) and honey (up to 150 gallons/year) are also allowed under separate provisions. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Kentucky, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Clinton County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: No routine inspection; complaint-driven only per state baseline.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Kentucky report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeClinton County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Clinton County.
Download county reportFull Kentucky License & Permit Guide (409 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Clinton County.
Kentucky law pageFree email alerts
Clinton County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Clinton County, with Kentucky statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Clinton County page based on?
Where to verify Clinton County rules
Clinton County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Clinton County This county | Cumberland County | Russell County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No specific pet restriction in state statute, but good manufacturing practices expected. | No specific pet restriction in state statute, but good manufacturing practices expected. | Not specified in state law |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint | Upon-complaint |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Yes | Yes | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct sales only. Sales at farmers markets, farm stands, events, and home pickup permitted. No wholesale, retail stores, or internet-based… | Direct sales only. Sales at farmers markets, farm stands, events, and home pickup permitted. No wholesale, retail stores, or internet-based… | Direct-to-consumer only within KY; farmers markets, roadside stands, fairs, festivals, community events, online orders (in-state); home pic… |
| Home occupation permit | No | No | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Kentucky home-based processor law (KRS §217.136) allows direct-to-consumer sales of non-TCS foods from a home kitchen. Registration with CH… | Kentucky home-based processor law (KRS §217.136) allows direct-to-consumer sales of non-TCS foods from a home kitchen. Registration with CH… | Annual sales cap $60,000. Registration required with KY Dept of Public Health ($50/year). No food handler cert required. Inspection upon co… |
| Food storage | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. No more than three refrigerators for storage. | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods only. No more than three refrigerators for storage. | Appropriate storage for non-TCS products |
| Population | 10,218 | 6,603 | 18,021 |
What other Kentucky counties can I compare?
Other Kentucky counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Clinton County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Kentucky's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Clinton County bakers?
Clinton County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Clinton County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Clinton County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Clinton County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Clinton County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Clinton County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Clinton County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Clinton County
- Check with Clinton County business license office
- Check with Clinton County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Kentucky
- Selling to stores: check with Kentucky Department for Public Health
Clinton County
- Check with Clinton County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Kentucky
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Kentucky Department for Public Health
Clinton County
- Check with Clinton County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Kentucky · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Kentucky Department for Public Health.
Kentucky · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Kentucky Department for Public Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.