Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Kentucky Report Guide · 409 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: Owensboro · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Daviess County, KY

Can I sell cottage food from home in Daviess County, Kentucky?
Yes — Kentucky allows cottage food sales under a Okay-tier law (cap: 60000). Locally: home kitchens are allowed. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Kentucky Department for Public Health and the Daviess County health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Daviess County Permits 101 for Daviess County, Kentucky (71 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Daviess County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Daviess County?

Kentucky cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Daviess County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Daviess County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Daviess County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Daviess County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Kentucky cottage food rules in Daviess County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Kentucky cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Home-based processors may sell non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups (maple and sorghum only), granola, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs (separate exemption, up to 60 dozen/week) and honey (up to 150 gallons/year) are also allowed under separate provisions.). Daviess County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $60,000. On-site / porch pickup in Daviess County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Daviess County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Kentucky disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Kentucky label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced and processed”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Daviess County is a county in Kentucky (pop. 102,916). Under Kentucky's Okay-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 60000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Kentucky Department for Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Daviess County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Daviess County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. State baseline governs. Kentucky's $60,000 cap and registration requirement define this as an 'Okay' tier state. Owensboro is a mid-sized Western Kentucky city. No county-specific overrides found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Daviess County cottage food reports

What permits in Daviess County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Daviess County county cottage food report
Daviess County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Daviess County.

Download county report
Cover of Kentucky cottage food law PDF report
Kentucky state report

Full Kentucky License & Permit Guide (409 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Okay

Kentucky has an Okay-tier cottage food law — meaningful sales caps and/or limited channels. Operable for a side business, but you'll likely outgrow the rules if you want to go full-time.

Kentucky cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Daviess County

State baseline: KRS §217.137

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Kentucky allows non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups (maple and sorghum only), granola, snacks. Annual sales cap of $60,000. Registration required ($50/year). Direct-to-consumer only. No food handler certification required. Kitchen use restrictions: no more than two non-commercial ranges/ovens and no more than three refrigerators. Commercial equipment prohibited.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific state pet restriction, but standard sanitation practices apply.
Water supply
No specific state requirement beyond standard sanitation.
Handwashing
Standard handwashing practices required.
Food storage
Non-TCS foods only. Prohibited: acid/acidified foods, acidified food products, formulated acid food products, low-acid canned foods, pickles, salsas, sauces, ketchup, mustards, nut butters, oils, vinegars, pasta, fermented foods, juices, extracts, meat jerkies. Home-based microprocessor pathway (§217.137) allows acidified/low-acid canned foods with additional requirements.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
Upon-complaint
Inspection trigger
Complaint-based inspections only. $50/year registration with the state.
Home occupation permit
Conditional
Permit details
Owensboro and Daviess County may have home occupation zoning requirements. No specific Daviess County cottage food ordinance identified beyond the state registration requirement.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct-to-consumer sales only at home, farmers markets, events. No wholesale or indirect sales. $60,000 annual cap.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state statute.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
No specific Daviess County code section identified. State law governs: KRS §217.137.
Local notes

State baseline governs. Kentucky's $60,000 cap and registration requirement define this as an 'Okay' tier state. Owensboro is a mid-sized Western Kentucky city. No county-specific overrides found.

Kentucky statute (state law)

Kentucky Revised Statutes §217.136 — Home-Based Food Processors; Exemption from Permit Requirement and Fair Packaging and Labeling Laws (§217.137 addresses home-based microprocessors)

Citation: KRS §217.137
Verbatim excerpt

217.136 Home-based food processors -- Exemption from permit requirement and fair packaging and labeling laws -- Production, labeling, and sales of home-processed food products -- Inspections -- Registration system. (1) A home-based processor shall be exempt from KRS 217.035 and 217.037 if the following conditions are met: (a) All finished product containers are clean, sanitary, and properly labeled pursuant to subsection (3) of this section; (b) All home-processed foods produced under this exemption are neither adulterated nor misbranded pursuant to subsection (4) of this section; and (c) All glass containers for jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, and similar products are provided with suitable rigid metal covers. (2) A home-based processor shall not produce or process for sale acid foods, acidified food products, formulated acid food products, or low-acid canned foods. (3) A home-based processor shall label each of its food products and include the following information: (a) The name and address of the home-based processing operation; (b) The common or usual name of the food product; (c) The ingredients of the food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (d) The net weight and volume of the food product by standard measure, or numerical count; (e) The following statement in ten (10) point type: "This product is home-produced and processed"; and (f) The date the product was processed. (5) Food products [...] may only be offered for sale directly to consumers within this state, including from the home-based processor's home, whether by pick-up or delivery, at a market, roadside stand, community event, or online. (12) Beginning January 1, 2020, a home-based processor shall be registered with the cabinet.

Source: apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=48558
Full Kentucky License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Daviess County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Daviess County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (71 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Daviess County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Daviess County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Daviess County, Kentucky?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. Owensboro and Daviess County may have home occupation zoning requirements. No specific Daviess County cottage food ordinance identified beyond the state registration requirement. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Kentucky guide at https://crosodo.com/states/kentucky.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Daviess County?

Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Complaint-based inspections only. $50/year registration with the state.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Kentucky cottage food law in Daviess County?

Home-based processors may sell non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups (maple and sorghum only), granola, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs (separate exemption, up to 60 dozen/week) and honey (up to 150 gallons/year) are also allowed under separate provisions. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Kentucky, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Kentucky?

Kentucky state law lists cottage food sales at 60000. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Daviess County?

Home occupation permit: Conditional. Owensboro and Daviess County may have home occupation zoning requirements. No specific Daviess County cottage food ordinance identified beyond the state registration requirement.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Kentucky License & Permit Guide (409 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Kentucky License & Permit Guide (409 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Daviess County vs. bordering counties

RegulationDaviess County
This county
Henderson CountyOhio County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific state pet restriction, but standard sanitation practices apply.Pets and children must be excluded from the kitchen during food production per KRS §217.136 and associated regulations.Not specified in state law
Inspection requiredUpon-complaintNoUpon-complaint
On-site customer pickupYesNoYes
On-site signageConditionalNoConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect-to-consumer sales only at home, farmers markets, events. No wholesale or indirect sales. $60,000 annual cap.Direct-to-consumer only. Permitted venues: home (on-premises pickup), farmers markets, certified roadside stands, community events, fairs, …Direct-to-consumer only within KY; farmers markets, roadside stands, fairs, festivals, community events, online orders (in-state); home pic…
Home occupation permitConditionalVariesVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsKentucky allows non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups…Kentucky Home-Based Processor (HBP) law (KRS §217.136) allows production and direct sale of non-TCS shelf-stable foods from a primary resid…Annual sales cap $60,000. Registration required with KY Dept of Public Health ($50/year). No food handler cert required. Inspection upon co…
Food storageNon-TCS foods only. Prohibited: acid/acidified foods, acidified food products, formulated acid food products, low-acid canned foods, pickle…Non-TCS (non-potentially hazardous), shelf-stable foods only. No commercial refrigerators permitted beyond household limits (up to three st…Appropriate storage for non-TCS products
Population102,91644,77023,782
Crosodo Forum

Daviess County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Daviess County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Kentucky counties

Kentucky
Pop. 779K
Kentucky
Pop. 321K
Kentucky
Pop. 169K
Kentucky
Pop. 136K
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Daviess County, Kentucky

Reach home bakers in Daviess County, Kentucky. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Kentucky's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Daviess County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.