Cottage food law & license in Perry County, KY
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn the Library Pass
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn the Library Pass
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn the Library Pass
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. The Library Pass is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
Crosodo ladder · not a license
How the ladder works- 0Not selling
- 1Sell from home
- 2Stores & markets
- 3Commercial kitchen
Most bakers start here. Step 2: check your county.
What do you want to do?
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Library Pass unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Perry County?
All products in Kentucky →What's in the Perry County permit report


How to start in Perry County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Kentucky cottage food rules in Perry County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Kentucky cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Home-based processors may sell non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups (maple and sorghum only), granola, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs (separate exemption, up to 60 dozen/week) and honey (up to 150 gallons/year) are also allowed under separate provisions.). Perry County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $60,000. On-site / porch pickup in Perry County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Perry County: Upon-complaint. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Kentucky disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Kentucky label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product is home produced and processed”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Kentucky county rules quiz
Perry County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Kentucky statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Perry County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizPerry County is a county in Kentucky (pop. 28,136). Under Kentucky's Okay-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 60000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Kentucky Department for Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Perry County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Perry County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Kentucky Okay-tier state. $60,000 annual cap. Local ordinances not preempted by state law. State law confirmed via IJ.org and CHFS.ky.gov. No county-specific zoning records identified for home occupation / cottage food overlay. Defaulted to state baseline. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
Perry County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Perry County.
Download county reportFull Kentucky License & Permit Guide (409 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Perry County.
Kentucky law pageTier: Okay
Kentucky has an Okay-tier cottage food law — meaningful sales caps and/or limited channels. Operable for a side business, but you'll likely outgrow the rules if you want to go full-time.
Kentucky cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Perry County
State baseline: KRS §217.137
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Annual sales cap $60,000. Registration required with KY Dept of Public Health ($50/year). No food handler cert required. Inspection upon complaint only. Direct-to-consumer sales only; no wholesale or retail. Allowed: non-TCS baked goods, candies, jams/jellies, fruit butters, maple/sorghum syrups, granola, dried goods, snack mixes, popcorn. Prohibited: acidified foods, pickles, salsas, nut butters, fermented foods, low-acid canned foods, meats. No more than two non-commercial ranges/ovens and three refrigerators.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state law
- Water supply
- Standard residential water supply
- Handwashing
- Good sanitation practices implied
- Food storage
- Appropriate storage for non-TCS products
- Inspection required
- Upon-complaint
- Inspection trigger
- Consumer complaint or foodborne illness investigation
- Home occupation permit
- Varies
- Permit details
- No county-specific home occupation ordinance identified. Unincorporated areas follow county zoning. Local health officials may conduct annual kitchen inspections. No county-specific cottage food overlay identified.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct-to-consumer only within KY; farmers markets, roadside stands, fairs, festivals, community events, online orders (in-state); home pickup and delivery allowed. No wholesale, no mail delivery, no out-of-state.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified
- Relevant code section
- Not identified
Kentucky Okay-tier state. $60,000 annual cap. Local ordinances not preempted by state law. State law confirmed via IJ.org and CHFS.ky.gov. No county-specific zoning records identified for home occupation / cottage food overlay. Defaulted to state baseline.
Kentucky Revised Statutes §217.136 — Home-Based Food Processors; Exemption from Permit Requirement and Fair Packaging and Labeling Laws (§217.137 addresses home-based microprocessors)
Full Kentucky License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt217.136 Home-based food processors -- Exemption from permit requirement and fair packaging and labeling laws -- Production, labeling, and sales of home-processed food products -- Inspections -- Registration system. (1) A home-based processor shall be exempt from KRS 217.035 and 217.037 if the following conditions are met: (a) All finished product containers are clean, sanitary, and properly labeled pursuant to subsection (3) of this section; (b) All home-processed foods produced under this exemption are neither adulterated nor misbranded pursuant to subsection (4) of this section; and (c) All glass containers for jams, jellies, preserves, fruit butter, and similar products are provided with suitable rigid metal covers. (2) A home-based processor shall not produce or process for sale acid foods, acidified food products, formulated acid food products, or low-acid canned foods. (3) A home-based processor shall label each of its food products and include the following information: (a) The name and address of the home-based processing operation; (b) The common or usual name of the food product; (c) The ingredients of the food product, in descending order of predominance by weight; (d) The net weight and volume of the food product by standard measure, or numerical count; (e) The following statement in ten (10) point type: "This product is home-produced and processed"; and (f) The date the product was processed. (5) Food products [...] may only be offered for sale directly to consumers within this state, including from the home-based processor's home, whether by pick-up or delivery, at a market, roadside stand, community event, or online. (12) Beginning January 1, 2020, a home-based processor shall be registered with the cabinet.
Source: apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=48558 →
Crosodo Library Pass — $15/mo
This page stays free. Perry County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in the Library Pass.
Get the Library Pass — $15/moPerry County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Perry County, Kentucky?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Perry County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Perry County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Perry County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Perry County. Ask Perry County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Kentucky?
$60,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Perry County?
Apply through Perry County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Perry County, Kentucky — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Kentucky cottage food law in Perry County?
Home-based processors may sell non-TCS baked goods (breads, cakes, cookies, pies, pastries), candies, jams and jellies, fruit butters, dried goods, syrups (maple and sorghum only), granola, snacks, and similar shelf-stable items. Whole eggs (separate exemption, up to 60 dozen/week) and honey (up to 150 gallons/year) are also allowed under separate provisions. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Kentucky, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Perry County?
Inspection: Upon-complaint. Trigger: Consumer complaint or foodborne illness investigation. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Crosodo Library Pass · $15/mo or $99/yr
Every Kentucky report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Get the Library Pass — $15/moWhere to verify Perry County rules
Perry County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Perry County This county | Harlan County | Letcher County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state law | Pets and children must be excluded from the kitchen during food production per KRS §217.136 and associated regulations. | Pets and children must be excluded from the kitchen during food production per KRS §217.136 and associated regulations. |
| Inspection required | Upon-complaint | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct-to-consumer only within KY; farmers markets, roadside stands, fairs, festivals, community events, online orders (in-state); home pic… | Direct-to-consumer only. Permitted venues: home (on-premises pickup), farmers markets, certified roadside stands, community events, fairs, … | Direct-to-consumer only. Permitted venues: home (on-premises pickup), farmers markets, certified roadside stands, community events, fairs, … |
| Home occupation permit | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Annual sales cap $60,000. Registration required with KY Dept of Public Health ($50/year). No food handler cert required. Inspection upon co… | Kentucky Home-Based Processor (HBP) law (KRS §217.136) allows production and direct sale of non-TCS shelf-stable foods from a primary resid… | Kentucky Home-Based Processor (HBP) law (KRS §217.136) allows production and direct sale of non-TCS shelf-stable foods from a primary resid… |
| Food storage | Appropriate storage for non-TCS products | Non-TCS (non-potentially hazardous), shelf-stable foods only. No commercial refrigerators permitted beyond household limits (up to three st… | Non-TCS (non-potentially hazardous), shelf-stable foods only. No commercial refrigerators permitted beyond household limits (up to three st… |
| Population | 28,136 | 26,589 | 21,490 |
Perry County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Perry County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Other Kentucky counties
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Advertise here
Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise in Perry County, Kentucky
Reach home bakers in Perry County, Kentucky. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.
Learn about placementsYour business here
Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.
Post in the local discussionAds are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Kentucky's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.