Cottage food law & license in Douglas County, NV
What's in the Douglas County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Douglas County?
More Douglas County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Douglas County?
How to start in Douglas County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Nevada cottage food rules in Douglas County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Nevada cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially-hazardous foods prepared in the kitchen of the operator's primary private home (or approved nonprofit kitchen) may be sold directly to consumers in person. Under the pre-2025 law, allowed items included baked goods, candy, jams, dried foods, and other non-TCS foods. AB352 (2025) expands the definition to include certain acidified foods and raises the sales cap to $100,000; the new law also allows phone and internet sales with in-person or mail/delivery service fulfillment.). Douglas County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $100,000. On-site / porch pickup in Douglas County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Douglas County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Nevada disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Nevada label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “MADE IN A COTTAGE FOOD OPERATION THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO GOVERNMENT FOOD SAFETY INSPECTION.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Nevada county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Nevada county rules quiz
Douglas County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Nevada statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Douglas County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Douglas County cottage food rules with Nevada agencies?
Douglas County is a county in Nevada (pop. 49,476). Under Nevada's Okay-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 100000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Douglas County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Douglas County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Nevada's cottage food law underwent major changes in 2025 (AB352). Douglas County is a small, affluent county in the Carson Valley near South Lake Tahoe and Carson City. No Douglas County-specific cottage food ordinances found. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Douglas County?
Tier: Okay
Nevada has an Okay-tier cottage food law — meaningful sales caps and/or limited channels. Operable for a side business, but you'll likely outgrow the rules if you want to go full-time.
Nevada cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Douglas County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Douglas County
State baseline: NRS §446.866 (repealed 2025; superseded by AB352/chapters 420 & 512, Statutes of Nevada 2025)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Must be primary private home kitchen. Under new AB352 (2025): license from State Department of Agriculture required, annual sales cap raised to $100,000, acidified foods now permitted, internet/phone sales with in-person or mail/delivery fulfillment now allowed. Products must be non-TCS (or acidified). Operation must be run by a natural person.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state law.
- Water supply
- Not specified in state law.
- Handwashing
- Standard sanitation practices; not explicitly required.
- Food storage
- Products must be non-potentially hazardous or acidified; no TCS foods without additional licensing.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No routine kitchen inspection. State licensing/registration required.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- Douglas County is in the Carson Valley/Lake Tahoe area. Douglas County may require home occupation permits. City of Minden and Gardnerville are adjacent unincorporated communities. Recommend verifying with Douglas County Community Development and Planning.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Under AB352 (2025): in-person and mail/delivery sales allowed. Direct-to-consumer required; no wholesale.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state law.
- Relevant code section
- NRS §446.866 (repealed); AB352 (2025); Douglas County Zoning Code
Nevada's cottage food law underwent major changes in 2025 (AB352). Douglas County is a small, affluent county in the Carson Valley near South Lake Tahoe and Carson City. No Douglas County-specific cottage food ordinances found.
What does the Nevada cottage food statute say?
Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 446 — Food Establishments, Section 446.866: Exemption from certain requirements; certain local governing bodies prevented from prohibiting cottage food operations; registration; fee; inspection. [Repealed 2025 — see AB352, Statutes of Nevada 2025, chapters 420 and 512]
Full Nevada License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptNRS 446.866 Exemption from certain requirements; certain local governing bodies prevented from prohibiting cottage food operations; registration; fee; inspection. 1. A cottage food operation which manufactures or prepares a food item by any manner or means whatsoever for sale, or which offers or displays a food item for sale, is not a "food establishment" pursuant to paragraph (h) of subsection 2 of NRS 446.020 if each such food item is: (a) Sold on the private property of the natural person who manufactures or prepares the food item or at a location where the natural person who manufactures or prepares the food item sells the food item directly to a consumer, including, without limitation, a farmers' market licensed pursuant to chapter 244 or 268 of NRS, flea market, swap meet, church bazaar, garage sale or craft fair, by means of an in-person transaction that does not involve selling the food item by telephone or via the Internet; (b) Sold to a natural person for his or her consumption and not for resale; (c) Affixed with a label which complies with the federal labeling requirements set forth in 21 U.S.C. §343(w) and 9 C.F.R. Part 317 and 21 C.F.R. Part 101; (d) Labeled with "MADE IN A COTTAGE FOOD OPERATION THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO GOVERNMENT FOOD SAFETY INSPECTION" printed prominently on the label for the food item; (e) Prepackaged in a manner that protects the food item from contamination during transport, display, sale, and acquisition by consumers; and (f) Prepared and processed in the kitchen of the private home of the natural person who manufactures or prepares the food item or, if allowed by the health authority, in the kitchen of a fraternal or social clubhouse, a school or a religious, charitable, or other nonprofit organization.
Source: dpbh.nv.gov/mpd-home/cottage-food-registration-home/dta/environmental-health-cottage-food-registration-faq →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Douglas County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeDouglas County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Douglas County, Nevada?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Douglas County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Douglas County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Douglas County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Douglas County. Ask Douglas County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Nevada?
$100,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Douglas County?
Apply through Douglas County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Douglas County, Nevada — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Nevada cottage food law in Douglas County?
Non-potentially-hazardous foods prepared in the kitchen of the operator's primary private home (or approved nonprofit kitchen) may be sold directly to consumers in person. Under the pre-2025 law, allowed items included baked goods, candy, jams, dried foods, and other non-TCS foods. AB352 (2025) expands the definition to include certain acidified foods and raises the sales cap to $100,000; the new law also allows phone and internet sales with in-person or mail/delivery service fulfillment. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Nevada, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Douglas County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine kitchen inspection. State licensing/registration required.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Nevada report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeDouglas County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Douglas County.
Download county reportFull Nevada License & Permit Guide (52 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Douglas County.
Nevada law pageFree email alerts
Douglas County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Douglas County, with Nevada statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Douglas County page based on?
Where to verify Douglas County rules
Douglas County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Douglas County This county | Carson City | Lyon County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state law. | No specific pet restriction stated in state cottage food rules. | No specific pet restriction stated in state cottage food rules. |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Conditional | Conditional |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Under AB352 (2025): in-person and mail/delivery sales allowed. Direct-to-consumer required; no wholesale. | Under AB352 (2025): in-person sales, phone/internet orders with in-person or mail/delivery fulfillment allowed. No wholesale to distributor… | Under AB352 (2025): in-person sales, phone/internet orders with in-person or mail/delivery fulfillment allowed. No wholesale to distributor… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Varies | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Must be primary private home kitchen. Under new AB352 (2025): license from State Department of Agriculture required, annual sales cap raise… | Nevada AB352 (2025) reorganized cottage food. New law: license from State Department of Agriculture required; $100,000 annual sales cap; ac… | Nevada AB352 (2025) reorganized cottage food. New law: license from State Department of Agriculture required; $100,000 annual sales cap (up… |
| Food storage | Products must be non-potentially hazardous or acidified; no TCS foods without additional licensing. | Non-potentially hazardous, non-TCS foods required. | Non-potentially hazardous, non-TCS foods required. |
| Population | 49,476 | 58,249 | 59,435 |
What other Nevada counties can I compare?
Other Nevada counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Douglas County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Nevada's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Douglas County bakers?
Douglas County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Douglas County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Douglas County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Douglas County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Douglas County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Douglas County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Douglas County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Douglas County
- Check with Douglas County business license office
- Check with Douglas County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Nevada
- Selling to stores: check with Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health
Douglas County
- Check with Douglas County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Nevada
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health
Douglas County
- Check with Douglas County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Nevada · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health.
Nevada · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.