Cottage food law & license in Camden County, NJ

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep
Camden County Permits 101 for Camden County, New Jersey (68 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

New Jersey cottage food — common first products
County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.
What's in the Camden County permit report


How to start in Camden County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under New Jersey cottage food rules in Camden County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
New Jersey cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-TCS (non-time/temperature-control-for-safety) foods prepared in the operator's private home kitchen are allowed, including: baked goods (bread, cakes, cupcakes, cookies), candy and brittle, chocolate-covered nuts and dried fruit, dried fruit, dried herbs and seasonings, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, fruit jams/jellies/preserves, fruit pies and empanadas (excluding pumpkin), fudge, granola/cereal/trail mix, honey and sweet sorghum syrup, nuts and nut mixtures, nut butters, popcorn and caramel corn, roasted coffee and dried tea, vinegar and mustard, waffle cones and pizzelles, and other non-TCS foods upon written application.). Camden County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $50,000. On-site / porch pickup in Camden County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Yes. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Camden County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with New Jersey disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free New Jersey label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “this food is prepared pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:24-11 in a home kitchen that has not been inspected by the Department of Health.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Camden County is a county in New Jersey (pop. 522,581). Under New Jersey's Poor-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 50000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with New Jersey Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Camden County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Camden County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit required. Same NJ state baseline. Camden County is densely populated suburban county adjacent to Philadelphia. 37 municipalities. State: CFPM certification, local zoning board approval, $100 fee, $50,000 cap, no pre-operational inspection. State does not preempt local zoning. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
Camden County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Camden County.
Download county reportFull New Jersey License & Permit Guide (69 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Tier: Poor
New Jersey has a Poor-tier cottage food law — heavy restrictions on products, channels, or permits, often requiring inspections or a commercial-kitchen rental. The state baseline is the bottleneck more than the county.
New Jersey cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Camden County
State baseline: N.J.A.C. 8:24-11 et seq.
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Must produce only non-TCS foods on state-approved list. Local zoning board approval required. $100 permit fee. Food protection manager certificate required.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- No specific state cottage food pet restriction specified
- Water supply
- Proof of safe water required (water bill or well test)
- Handwashing
- Implied by food protection manager certification requirement
- Food storage
- Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; standard kitchen storage
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No kitchen inspection required under NJ cottage food law
- Home occupation permit
- Yes
- Permit details
- New Jersey requires local zoning board approval as prerequisite to state permit. Camden County has 37 municipalities, each with its own zoning board. Contact local municipal zoning office.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Direct sales to consumers only. $50,000 annual sales cap. Approved foods list only. Online sales and delivery within NJ. No wholesale.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state law
- Relevant code section
- N.J.A.C. 8:24-11. Local zoning varies by municipality in Camden County.
Same NJ state baseline. Camden County is densely populated suburban county adjacent to Philadelphia. 37 municipalities. State: CFPM certification, local zoning board approval, $100 fee, $50,000 cap, no pre-operational inspection. State does not preempt local zoning.
New Jersey Administrative Code Title 8, Chapter 24, Subchapter 11 — Cottage Food Operator Permit (Sanitation in Retail Food Establishments, Food and Beverage Vending Machines and Cottage Food Operations)
Full New Jersey License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt§ 8:24-11.1 Requirement and procedure to obtain a Cottage Food Operator Permit (a) A person or entity that engages in the production, distribution, and/or sale of food to consumers shall: 1. Have a Cottage Food Operator Permit; or 2. Comply with applicable laws to retail food establishments. § 8:24-11.2 Authorized cottage food operator activity (a) A Cottage Food Operator Permit authorizes a holder thereof: 1. To produce cottage food products in the private kitchen of the operator's residence and at no other location; and 2. Subject to N.J.A.C. 8:24-11.5, to distribute cottage food products to consumers thereof without being subject to initial or periodic inspection by a health authority and other requirements applicable to retail food establishments pursuant to this chapter. § 8:24-11.3 Prohibited cottage food operator activity (b) The gross annual sales (that is, before deductions of taxes and operating expenses) that a cottage food operator generates from the sale of cottage food products shall not exceed $ 50,000. § 8:24-11.6 Application fees; permit duration; permit renewal (a) The fee to apply for a Cottage Food Operator Permit is $ 100.00. (b) A Cottage Food Operator Permit is valid for two years from date of issuance. (c) The fee to apply for renewal of a Cottage Food Operator Permit is $ 100.00. § 8:24-11.4 Cottage food point-of-sale notice, packaging, and labeling (c) A cottage food operator shall affix one or more labels or tags on cottage food that collectively state at least: the common name of the cottage food product; list of ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight; allergens statement; Cottage Food Operator's name and business name; Cottage Food Operator's Permit number; town or municipality and 'NJ'; and the statement: 'this food is prepared pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:24-11 in a home kitchen that has not been inspected by the Department of Health.'
Source: nj.gov/health/cottagefood/rules-resources/rules/ →
Camden County Permit Guide $26
This page stays free — the Camden County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (68 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Camden County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Camden County, New Jersey?
Home occupation permit: Yes. New Jersey requires local zoning board approval as prerequisite to state permit. Camden County has 37 municipalities, each with its own zoning board. Contact local municipal zoning office. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the New Jersey guide at https://crosodo.com/states/new-jersey.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Camden County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No kitchen inspection required under NJ cottage food law. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
What foods can I sell under New Jersey cottage food law in Camden County?
Non-TCS (non-time/temperature-control-for-safety) foods prepared in the operator's private home kitchen are allowed, including: baked goods (bread, cakes, cupcakes, cookies), candy and brittle, chocolate-covered nuts and dried fruit, dried fruit, dried herbs and seasonings, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, fruit jams/jellies/preserves, fruit pies and empanadas (excluding pumpkin), fudge, granola/cereal/trail mix, honey and sweet sorghum syrup, nuts and nut mixtures, nut butters, popcorn and caramel corn, roasted coffee and dried tea, vinegar and mustard, waffle cones and pizzelles, and other non-TCS foods upon written application. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by New Jersey, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in New Jersey?
New Jersey state law lists cottage food sales at 50000. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.
Do I need a home occupation permit in Camden County?
Home occupation permit: Yes. New Jersey requires local zoning board approval as prerequisite to state permit. Camden County has 37 municipalities, each with its own zoning board. Contact local municipal zoning office.
The free county page is the short version. This is the full New Jersey License & Permit Guide (69 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full New Jersey License & Permit Guide (69 pages).

Where to verify Camden County rules
Camden County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Camden County This county | Burlington County | Gloucester County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Conditional | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No specific state cottage food pet restriction specified | Not specified in state rule; standard food safety GMP applies. | Pets excluded from production area |
| Inspection required | No | Upon-complaint | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Direct sales to consumers only. $50,000 annual sales cap. Approved foods list only. Online sales and delivery within NJ. No wholesale. | Sales allowed from home, at farmers markets, and NJ events. Local health department approvals required for market/event sales. No sales out… | Direct to consumer only; no retail or wholesale; farmers markets and events allowed |
| Home occupation permit | Yes | Conditional | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Must produce only non-TCS foods on state-approved list. Local zoning board approval required. $100 permit fee. Food protection manager cert… | New Jersey requires a state Cottage Food Operator Permit ($100 fee, valid 2 years) from NJ Department of Health. Applicant must: (1) first … | Registration with NJ Dept of Health required; $50,000 annual cap; food handler cert required; direct to consumer only; non-TCS foods only |
| Food storage | Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; standard kitchen storage | Non-TCS shelf-stable food storage only. No TCS (refrigerated) foods permitted. | Non-TCS foods stored appropriately |
| Population | 522,581 | 461,853 | 302,621 |
Camden County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Camden County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Other New Jersey counties
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Advertise here
Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise in Camden County, New Jersey
Reach home bakers in Camden County, New Jersey. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.
Learn about placementsYour business here
Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.
Post in the local discussionAds are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to New Jersey's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.