crosodo
County · Seat: Elizabeth · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Union County, NJ

Inside the permit report

What's in the Union County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Union County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Union County
Table of contents
Your Union County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Union County?

All products in New Jersey →
More Union County resources
What's new for New Jersey cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Union County?
Start here

How to start in Union County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under New Jersey cottage food rules in Union County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    New Jersey cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-TCS (non-time/temperature-control-for-safety) foods prepared in the operator's private home kitchen are allowed, including: baked goods (bread, cakes, cupcakes, cookies), candy and brittle, chocolate-covered nuts and dried fruit, dried fruit, dried herbs and seasonings, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, fruit jams/jellies/preserves, fruit pies and empanadas (excluding pumpkin), fudge, granola/cereal/trail mix, honey and sweet sorghum syrup, nuts and nut mixtures, nut butters, popcorn and caramel corn, roasted coffee and dried tea, vinegar and mustard, waffle cones and pizzelles, and other non-TCS foods upon written application.). Union County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: $50,000. On-site / porch pickup in Union County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Yes. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Union County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with New Jersey disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free New Jersey label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “this food is prepared pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:24-11 in a home kitchen that has not been inspected by the Department of Health.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on New Jersey county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

New Jersey county rules quiz

Union County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the New Jersey statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Union County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Union County cottage food rules with New Jersey agencies?

Union County is a county in New Jersey (pop. 572,079). Under New Jersey's Poor-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 50000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with New Jersey Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Union County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Union County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit required. Same NJ state baseline as Monmouth and Ocean Counties. Union County is densely populated suburban county adjacent to NYC. 21 municipalities. State: CFPM certification, local zoning board approval, $100 fee, $50,000 cap, no pre-operational inspection, approved foods list. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Union County?
State law applies

Tier: Poor

New Jersey has a Poor-tier cottage food law — heavy restrictions on products, channels, or permits, often requiring inspections or a commercial-kitchen rental. The state baseline is the bottleneck more than the county.

New Jersey cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Union County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Union County

State baseline: N.J.A.C. 8:24-11 et seq.

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Must produce only non-TCS foods on state-approved list. Local zoning board approval required as prerequisite. $100 permit fee. Food protection manager certificate required.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific state cottage food pet restriction specified
Water supply
Proof of safe water required (water bill or well test)
Handwashing
Implied by food protection manager certification requirement
Food storage
Non-TCS shelf-stable foods; standard kitchen storage
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No kitchen inspection required under NJ cottage food law
Home occupation permit
Yes
Permit details
New Jersey requires local zoning board approval as prerequisite to state permit. Union County has 21 municipalities, each with its own zoning board. Contact local municipal zoning office.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct sales to consumers only. $50,000 annual sales cap. Approved foods list only. Online sales and delivery within NJ. No wholesale.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state law
Zoning code
Relevant code section
N.J.A.C. 8:24-11. Local zoning varies by municipality in Union County.
Local notes

Same NJ state baseline as Monmouth and Ocean Counties. Union County is densely populated suburban county adjacent to NYC. 21 municipalities. State: CFPM certification, local zoning board approval, $100 fee, $50,000 cap, no pre-operational inspection, approved foods list.

What does the New Jersey cottage food statute say?
New Jersey statute (state law)

New Jersey Administrative Code Title 8, Chapter 24, Subchapter 11 — Cottage Food Operator Permit (Sanitation in Retail Food Establishments, Food and Beverage Vending Machines and Cottage Food Operations)

Citation: N.J.A.C. 8:24-11 et seq.
Verbatim excerpt

§ 8:24-11.1 Requirement and procedure to obtain a Cottage Food Operator Permit (a) A person or entity that engages in the production, distribution, and/or sale of food to consumers shall: 1. Have a Cottage Food Operator Permit; or 2. Comply with applicable laws to retail food establishments. § 8:24-11.2 Authorized cottage food operator activity (a) A Cottage Food Operator Permit authorizes a holder thereof: 1. To produce cottage food products in the private kitchen of the operator's residence and at no other location; and 2. Subject to N.J.A.C. 8:24-11.5, to distribute cottage food products to consumers thereof without being subject to initial or periodic inspection by a health authority and other requirements applicable to retail food establishments pursuant to this chapter. § 8:24-11.3 Prohibited cottage food operator activity (b) The gross annual sales (that is, before deductions of taxes and operating expenses) that a cottage food operator generates from the sale of cottage food products shall not exceed $ 50,000. § 8:24-11.6 Application fees; permit duration; permit renewal (a) The fee to apply for a Cottage Food Operator Permit is $ 100.00. (b) A Cottage Food Operator Permit is valid for two years from date of issuance. (c) The fee to apply for renewal of a Cottage Food Operator Permit is $ 100.00. § 8:24-11.4 Cottage food point-of-sale notice, packaging, and labeling (c) A cottage food operator shall affix one or more labels or tags on cottage food that collectively state at least: the common name of the cottage food product; list of ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight; allergens statement; Cottage Food Operator's name and business name; Cottage Food Operator's Permit number; town or municipality and 'NJ'; and the statement: 'this food is prepared pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:24-11 in a home kitchen that has not been inspected by the Department of Health.'

Source: nj.gov/health/cottagefood/rules-resources/rules/ →
Full New Jersey License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Union County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Union County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Union County, New Jersey?

State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Yes. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Union County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Union County?

State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Union County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Union County. Ask Union County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in New Jersey?

$50,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Union County?

Apply via Union County environmental health (nj.gov). Official link: https://www.nj.gov/health/cottagefood/apply-renew. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.

What foods can I sell under New Jersey cottage food law in Union County?

Non-TCS (non-time/temperature-control-for-safety) foods prepared in the operator's private home kitchen are allowed, including: baked goods (bread, cakes, cupcakes, cookies), candy and brittle, chocolate-covered nuts and dried fruit, dried fruit, dried herbs and seasonings, dried pasta, dry baking mixes, fruit jams/jellies/preserves, fruit pies and empanadas (excluding pumpkin), fudge, granola/cereal/trail mix, honey and sweet sorghum syrup, nuts and nut mixtures, nut butters, popcorn and caramel corn, roasted coffee and dried tea, vinegar and mustard, waffle cones and pizzelles, and other non-TCS foods upon written application. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by New Jersey, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Union County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No kitchen inspection required under NJ cottage food law. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Union County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every New Jersey report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Union County cottage food reports

What permits in Union County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Union County county cottage food report
Union County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Union County.

Download county report
Cover of New Jersey cottage food law PDF report
New Jersey state report

Full New Jersey License & Permit Guide (69 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Union County.

New Jersey law page

Free email alerts

Union County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Union County, with New Jersey statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Union County page based on?
Quick comparison

Union County vs. bordering counties

RegulationUnion County
This county
Morris CountyHudson County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific state cottage food pet restriction specifiedNo specific state cottage food pet restriction specifiedNot specified; standard sanitation applies
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalConditional
Delivery / pickupDirect sales to consumers only. $50,000 annual sales cap. Approved foods list only. Online sales and delivery within NJ. No wholesale.Direct sales to consumers only. $50,000 annual sales cap. Approved foods list only. Online sales and delivery within NJ. No wholesale.Direct-to-consumer only. Online orders with in-person delivery. No mail/carrier. No wholesale. $50,000 annual cap.
Home occupation permitYesYesYes
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsMust produce only non-TCS foods on state-approved list. Local zoning board approval required as prerequisite. $100 permit fee. Food protect…Must produce only non-TCS foods on state-approved list. Local zoning board approval required. $100 permit fee. Food protection manager cert…Must be operator's private home kitchen. State permit required ($100, 2-year). Food Protection Manager certification required. Local zoning…
Food storageNon-TCS shelf-stable foods; standard kitchen storageNon-TCS shelf-stable foods; standard kitchen storageStandard food storage per N.J.A.C. 8:24-11
Population572,079508,816712,029
What other New Jersey counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other New Jersey counties

New Jersey
Pop. 953K
New Jersey
Pop. 860K
New Jersey
Pop. 853K
New Jersey
Pop. 712K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Union County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to New Jersey's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Union County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Union County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Union County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Union County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Union County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Union County, New Jersey?
Yes — New Jersey allows cottage food sales. $50,000 annual sales cap. State permit required. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required; home occupation permit required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with New Jersey Department of Health and the Union County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Union County?
Your Union County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Union County at a glance?
Official filing

File with Union County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.

Apply via Union County environmental health(nj.gov)
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Union County? State vs county rules and pets
New Jersey rule (statewide)Union County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Union County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Union County

    • Check with Union County business license office
    • Check with Union County zoning office about home pickup

    $100 state

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    New Jersey Department of Health — Cottage Food Operator FAQ

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    New Jersey

    • Selling to stores: check with New Jersey Department of Health

    Union County

    • Check with Union County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    New Jersey

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with New Jersey Department of Health

    Union County

    • Check with Union County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    New Jersey · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with New Jersey Department of Health.

    New Jersey · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with New Jersey Department of Health.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.