Cottage food law & license in Fulton County, NY
What's in the Fulton County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Fulton County?
More Fulton County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Fulton County?
How to start in Fulton County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under New York cottage food rules in Fulton County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
New York cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Non-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable baked goods (all must be baked), certain jams, jellies, preserves, snack mixes, and similar low-risk foods are approved under the Home Processor Exemption. All products must be pre-packaged in the home and labeled. Sales are permitted at farms, farm stands, farmers markets, green markets, craft fairs, flea markets, via home delivery, and online, but only within New York State.). Fulton County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Fulton County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Fulton County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with New York disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free New York label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made in a Home Kitchen”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on New York county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
New York county rules quiz
Fulton County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the New York statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Fulton County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Fulton County cottage food rules with New York agencies?
Fulton County is a county in New York (pop. 53,280). Under New York's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with New York Department of Agriculture and Markets (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Fulton County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Fulton County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Fulton County is a rural county in the Adirondack foothills, historically known for glove-making. No county-specific cottage food rules found. NY's Home Processor Exemption is free and does not expire but is location-specific. All products must be baked (pathogen kill step required). Wholesale/indirect sales permitted which is unusual nationally. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Fulton County?
Tier: Good
New York has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
New York cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Fulton County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Fulton County
State baseline: N.Y. Agric. & Mkts. Law §251-z-4; 1 CRR-NY 276.4
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Shelf-stable, non-potentially hazardous baked goods (must be baked), specific jams/jellies/preserves, snack mixes, and similar low-risk foods. All products must have a pathogen kill step (baking). No refrigerated or TCS products. Registration with NY Ag & Markets (free, location-specific, no expiration). Sales within New York State only.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- No specific NY or Fulton County restriction identified.
- Water supply
- No specific requirement.
- Handwashing
- Standard good manufacturing practices.
- Food storage
- Shelf-stable products only. No refrigerated items, no no-bake items. All products must be pre-packaged in the home.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- NY Ag & Markets may investigate on complaint.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- NY Home Processor Exemption registration required (free, from NY Ag & Markets, location-specific). No routine county or local permit identified for Fulton County specifically. Fulton County is a rural Adirondacks-adjacent county. Contact Fulton County government in Johnstown for local zoning/home occupation requirements.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Sales permitted at farms, farm stands, farmers markets, green markets, craft fairs, flea markets, via home delivery, and online within NY State only. Wholesale/indirect sales also permitted (notable among states).
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in NY rules.
- Relevant code section
- N.Y. Agric. & Mkts. Law §251-z-4; 1 NYCRR Part 276; no Fulton County-specific ordinance identified
Fulton County is a rural county in the Adirondack foothills, historically known for glove-making. No county-specific cottage food rules found. NY's Home Processor Exemption is free and does not expire but is location-specific. All products must be baked (pathogen kill step required). Wholesale/indirect sales permitted which is unusual nationally.
What does the New York cottage food statute say?
New York Agriculture and Markets Law Article 20-C §251-z-4 (Exemptions); implemented through 1 NYCRR Part 276 Home Processor Exemption
Full New York License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt§251-z-4. Exemptions. In addition to the exemptions specified in subdivision three of section two hundred fifty-one-z-two, the commissioner may, if he determines that the protection of the consumers of the state as a whole will not be impaired by such action, provide by regulation for exemption from licensing of small food processing establishments when he finds that such exemptions would avoid unnecessary regulation and assist in the administration of this article without impairing its purposes. Regulations defining such exemptions may classify exempted establishments with respect to the volume and types of food handled, the types of processing involved, or with respect to any other factor or combination thereof which bear a reasonable relation to the purposes of this article. Such exemptions may be conditioned upon requirements relating to sanitation, record keeping and reporting as the commissioner may require.
Source: law.justia.com/codes/new-york/agm/article-20-c/251-z-4/ →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Fulton County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeFulton County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Fulton County, New York?
State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Fulton County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Fulton County?
State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Fulton County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Fulton County. Ask Fulton County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in New York?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Fulton County?
Apply through Fulton County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Fulton County, New York — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under New York cottage food law in Fulton County?
Non-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable baked goods (all must be baked), certain jams, jellies, preserves, snack mixes, and similar low-risk foods are approved under the Home Processor Exemption. All products must be pre-packaged in the home and labeled. Sales are permitted at farms, farm stands, farmers markets, green markets, craft fairs, flea markets, via home delivery, and online, but only within New York State. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by New York, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Fulton County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: NY Ag & Markets may investigate on complaint.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every New York report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeFulton County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Fulton County.
Download county reportFull New York License & Permit Guide (160 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Fulton County.
New York law pageFree email alerts
Fulton County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Fulton County, with New York statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Fulton County page based on?
Where to verify Fulton County rules
Fulton County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Fulton County This county | Montgomery County | Herkimer County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No specific NY or Fulton County restriction identified. | Not specified in state home processor rules. | No specific pet restriction in NY Home Processor rules. |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Conditional |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Sales permitted at farms, farm stands, farmers markets, green markets, craft fairs, flea markets, via home delivery, and online within NY S… | Sales allowed at farms, farm stands, farmers markets, green markets, craft fairs, flea markets, via home delivery, and online within New Yo… | Sales at farms, farm stands, farmers markets, green markets, craft fairs, flea markets, home delivery, online within NY State. Wholesale pe… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Conditional | Varies |
| Local business license | Varies | Varies | Varies |
| Restrictions | Shelf-stable, non-potentially hazardous baked goods (must be baked), specific jams/jellies/preserves, snack mixes, and similar low-risk foo… | All products must be baked (must have a pathogen kill step). Non-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable baked goods only. Products must be pre… | NY Home Processor Exemption requires free registration with NY Ag & Markets. All products must be baked (pathogen kill step required). Shel… |
| Food storage | Shelf-stable products only. No refrigerated items, no no-bake items. All products must be pre-packaged in the home. | Products must be non-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable, and pre-packaged. | Products must be shelf-stable, non-refrigerated, pre-packaged in the home. |
| Population | 53,280 | 49,624 | 60,293 |
What other New York counties can I compare?
Other New York counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Fulton County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to New York's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Fulton County bakers?
Fulton County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Fulton County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Fulton County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Fulton County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Fulton County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Fulton County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Fulton County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Fulton County
- Check with Fulton County business license office
- Check with Fulton County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
New York
- Selling to stores: check with New York Department of Agriculture and Markets
Fulton County
- Check with Fulton County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
New York
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with New York Department of Agriculture and Markets
Fulton County
- Check with Fulton County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
New York · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with New York Department of Agriculture and Markets.
New York · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with New York Department of Agriculture and Markets.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.