Cottage food law & license in Noble County, OK
What's in the Noble County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Noble County?
More Noble County resources
What's new for Oklahoma cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Noble County?
How to start in Noble County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Oklahoma cottage food rules in Noble County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Oklahoma cottage food rules control what you may make at home (The Homemade Food Freedom Act covers a broad range of homemade food products including beverages, baked goods, and any food produced and packaged at a residence, provided it is not an alcoholic beverage, unpasteurized milk, or cannabis product. Non-time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (non-TCS) foods with pH 4.6 or below or water activity 0.85 or below are fully exempt from licensing. Time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (TCS) foods are also allowed but require food safety training.). Noble County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $75,000. On-site / porch pickup in Noble County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: No. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Noble County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Oklahoma disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Oklahoma label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a private residence that is exempt from government licensing and inspection.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Oklahoma county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Oklahoma county rules quiz
Noble County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Oklahoma statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Noble County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Noble County cottage food rules with Oklahoma agencies?
Noble County is a county in Oklahoma (pop. 10,981). Under Oklahoma's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 75000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Oklahoma State Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Noble County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Noble County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Oklahoma Homemade Food Freedom Act (HB 1032, 2021) applies statewide. Noble County is a predominantly rural county. No county-level zoning ordinance or cottage food overlay identified for unincorporated areas. The City of Perry and any incorporated municipalities within the county have their own municipal zoning requirements that supersede county rules within city limits. State law expressly prohibits county ordinances from conflicting with or restricting the HFFA (2 O.S. §5-4.6). \$75,000 annual sales cap. TCS foods allowed with food safety training (ServSafe or equivalent). Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Noble County?
Tier: Freedom
Oklahoma has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.
Oklahoma cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Noble County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Noble County
State baseline: 2 O.S. §5-4.1 through §5-4.6 (Homemade Food Freedom Act)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Production must occur at producer's primary residence. Annual gross sales cap of $75,000. Non-TCS foods: no license, inspection, or registration required. TCS foods: must complete approved food safety training (ServSafe or ODAFF-approved, ≤8 hours) before selling. Labeling required on all products (producer name/address, ingredients, allergens, net weight, 'Made in a Home Kitchen - Not Inspected by the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry or the Oklahoma State Department of Health'). Voluntary ODAFF registration available ($15/year).
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state law; standard sanitation practices apply
- Water supply
- Not specified in state law; standard residential water supply assumed
- Handwashing
- Not specified in state law beyond standard sanitation practices
- Food storage
- Not specified in state law; standard food safety practices implied
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No routine inspection. ODAFF may investigate upon complaint of foodborne illness or labeling violation; may request proof of food safety training for TCS food producers
- Home occupation permit
- No
- Permit details
- Noble County is a rural county with no identified county-wide zoning ordinance for unincorporated areas. The City of Perry (county seat) may require a business license and home occupation permit for businesses within city limits. State law (§5-4.6) allows counties to adopt non-conflicting ordinances.
- Local business license
- No
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Sales allowed on-site (home), by delivery, at farmers markets, through cooperatives, and through membership-based buying clubs. Non-TCS foods may also be sold through third-party retail vendors (grocery stores, farm stands, farmers markets, craft fairs) if vendor displays required allergen/unlicensed disclosure placard. Producer or producer's agent may deliver in-state.
- Max employees in home
- No state limit on household members assisting; non-resident hired employees not specifically addressed in HFFA; local home occupation rules may restrict
- Relevant code section
- Not identified; state: 2 O.S. §5-4.1 through §5-4.6
Oklahoma Homemade Food Freedom Act (HB 1032, 2021) applies statewide. Noble County is a predominantly rural county. No county-level zoning ordinance or cottage food overlay identified for unincorporated areas. The City of Perry and any incorporated municipalities within the county have their own municipal zoning requirements that supersede county rules within city limits. State law expressly prohibits county ordinances from conflicting with or restricting the HFFA (2 O.S. §5-4.6). \$75,000 annual sales cap. TCS foods allowed with food safety training (ServSafe or equivalent).
What does the Oklahoma cottage food statute say?
Oklahoma Statutes Title 2, Sections 5-4.1 through 5-4.6, Homemade Food Freedom Act (formerly Home Bakery Act of 2013, as amended by HB 1032, eff. November 1, 2021)
Full Oklahoma License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptSection 5-4.1 This act shall be known and may be cited as the "Homemade Food Freedom Act". Section 5-4.2 As used in the Homemade Food Freedom Act: 1. "Home food establishment" shall mean a business on the premises of a residence in which prepared homemade food products are created for sale or resale at farmers markets, on site, at cooperatives, through membership-based buying clubs or for delivery, if the business has gross annual sales of prepared food of less than Seventy-five Thousand Dollars ($75,000.00). Gross annual sales includes all sales of prepared food produced by the business at any location; and 2. "Delivered" shall mean transferred to the customer, either immediately upon sale or at a time thereafter; 3. "Homemade food product" shall mean food, including a beverage, which is produced and, if packaged, packaged at a residence; provided, however, homemade food product shall not mean alcoholic beverages or unpasteurized milk or cannabis or marijuana products; 4. "Non-time- or -temperature-controlled for safety" shall mean food that does not require time or temperature control for safety to limit the rapid and progressive growth of infectious or toxigenic microorganisms, including foods that have a pH level of four and six-tenths (4.6) or below or a water activity (aw) of 0.85 or below. Section 5-4.3 A. A home food establishment may sell prepared food on site, by delivery, at a farmers market, through a cooperative, or through a membership-based buying club.
Source: oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/health/health2/aem-documents/protective-health/consumer-health-services/food-service/HB1032-ENR.pdf →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Noble County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeNoble County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Noble County, Oklahoma?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: No. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Noble County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Noble County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Noble County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Noble County. Ask Noble County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Oklahoma?
$75,000 annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Noble County?
Apply through Noble County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Noble County, Oklahoma — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Oklahoma cottage food law in Noble County?
The Homemade Food Freedom Act covers a broad range of homemade food products including beverages, baked goods, and any food produced and packaged at a residence, provided it is not an alcoholic beverage, unpasteurized milk, or cannabis product. Non-time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (non-TCS) foods with pH 4.6 or below or water activity 0.85 or below are fully exempt from licensing. Time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (TCS) foods are also allowed but require food safety training. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Oklahoma, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Noble County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection. ODAFF may investigate upon complaint of foodborne illness or labeling violation; may request proof of food safety training for TCS food producers. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Oklahoma report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeNoble County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Noble County.
Download county reportFull Oklahoma License & Permit Guide (239 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Noble County.
Oklahoma law pageFree email alerts
Noble County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Noble County, with Oklahoma statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Noble County page based on?
Where to verify Noble County rules
Noble County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Noble County This county | Pawnee County | Kay County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state law; standard sanitation practices apply | Not specified in state law; good sanitation practices implied | Not specified in state law; standard sanitation practices apply |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Sales allowed on-site (home), by delivery, at farmers markets, through cooperatives, and through membership-based buying clubs. Non-TCS foo… | Producer or producer's designated agent may deliver in-state only. Third-party delivery services not permitted for TCS foods. | Sales allowed on-site (home), by delivery, at farmers markets, through cooperatives, and through membership-based buying clubs. Non-TCS foo… |
| Home occupation permit | No | Varies | No |
| Local business license | No | Varies | No |
| Restrictions | Production must occur at producer's primary residence. Annual gross sales cap of $75,000. Non-TCS foods: no license, inspection, or registr… | Producer must reside in the home. Annual sales cap of $75,000. TCS foods require completion of food safety training prior to sale. Labeling… | Production must occur at producer's primary residence. Annual gross sales cap of $75,000. Non-TCS foods: no license, inspection, or registr… |
| Food storage | Not specified in state law; standard food safety practices implied | Proper food storage implied under sanitation requirements | Not specified in state law; standard food safety practices implied |
| Population | 11,561 | 16,577 | 44,880 |
What other Oklahoma counties can I compare?
Other Oklahoma counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Noble County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Oklahoma's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Noble County bakers?
Noble County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Noble County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Noble County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Noble County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Noble County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Noble County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Noble County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Noble County
- Check with Noble County business license office
- Check with Noble County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Oklahoma
- Selling to stores: check with Oklahoma State Department of Health
Noble County
- Check with Noble County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Oklahoma
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Oklahoma State Department of Health
Noble County
- Check with Noble County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Oklahoma · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Oklahoma State Department of Health.
Oklahoma · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Oklahoma State Department of Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.