Cottage food law & license in Washington County, OK

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep
Washington County Permits 101 for Washington County, Oklahoma (70 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Oklahoma cottage food — common first products
County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.
What's in the Washington County permit report


How to start in Washington County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Oklahoma cottage food rules in Washington County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Oklahoma cottage food rules control what you may make at home (The Homemade Food Freedom Act covers a broad range of homemade food products including beverages, baked goods, and any food produced and packaged at a residence, provided it is not an alcoholic beverage, unpasteurized milk, or cannabis product. Non-time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (non-TCS) foods with pH 4.6 or below or water activity 0.85 or below are fully exempt from licensing. Time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (TCS) foods are also allowed but require food safety training.). Washington County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: $75,000. On-site / porch pickup in Washington County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Yes. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Washington County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Oklahoma disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Oklahoma label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a private residence that is exempt from government licensing and inspection.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Washington County is a county in Oklahoma (pop. 52,579). Under Oklahoma's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: 75000), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Oklahoma State Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Washington County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Washington County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit required. Oklahoma's Homemade Food Freedom Act (HB 1032, 2021) is highly permissive. City of Bartlesville requires both a Business License and a Home Occupation License for home-based businesses. Washington County-Bartlesville joint zoning regulations apply to unincorporated areas within the Metropolitan Planning Area. State law explicitly allows counties to enact non-conflicting ordinances. No county-level cottage food restrictions beyond the city/planning area zoning rules found. $75,000 annual sales cap applies statewide. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
Washington County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Washington County.
Download county reportFull Oklahoma License & Permit Guide (239 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Tier: Freedom
Oklahoma has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.
Oklahoma cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Washington County
State baseline: 2 O.S. §5-4.1 through §5-4.6 (Homemade Food Freedom Act)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Production at residence required. For non-TCS foods: no license, inspection, or registration required. For TCS foods: must complete approved food safety training (ServSafe or ODAFF-approved, ≤8 hours) before selling. Gross annual sales must not exceed $75,000.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- Not specified in state law.
- Water supply
- Not specified in state law.
- Handwashing
- Not specified in state law beyond standard practice.
- Food storage
- Not specified in state law; standard food safety practices implied.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- No inspection required. ODAFF may request proof of food safety training completion, verify gross sales, and ensure labeling compliance upon complaint.
- Home occupation permit
- Yes
- Permit details
- City of Bartlesville requires a Home Occupation License in addition to a Business License for home-based businesses within city limits. Washington County's Metropolitan Planning Area zoning regulations (for unincorporated areas within 3 miles of Bartlesville city limits or 0.5 miles of US Hwy 75) also contain home occupation provisions. State law (§5-4.6) allows counties to enact ordinances regulating home food establishments as long as they do not conflict with or restrict the Homemade Food Freedom Act.
- Local business license
- Yes
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Sales allowed on-site, by delivery, at farmers markets, through cooperatives, and through membership-based buying clubs. Non-TCS foods may also be sold through third-party vendors (retail/grocery stores, farm stands, farmers markets, craft fairs) if vendor displays required allergen/unlicensed disclosure placard.
- Max employees in home
- Not specified in state law; local home occupation rules may restrict.
- Relevant code section
- Bartlesville-Washington County Metropolitan Planning Area Zoning Regulations (Section 7.2 Home Occupations); 2 O.S. §5-4.1 et seq.
Oklahoma's Homemade Food Freedom Act (HB 1032, 2021) is highly permissive. City of Bartlesville requires both a Business License and a Home Occupation License for home-based businesses. Washington County-Bartlesville joint zoning regulations apply to unincorporated areas within the Metropolitan Planning Area. State law explicitly allows counties to enact non-conflicting ordinances. No county-level cottage food restrictions beyond the city/planning area zoning rules found. $75,000 annual sales cap applies statewide.
Oklahoma Statutes Title 2, Sections 5-4.1 through 5-4.6, Homemade Food Freedom Act (formerly Home Bakery Act of 2013, as amended by HB 1032, eff. November 1, 2021)
Full Oklahoma License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptSection 5-4.1 This act shall be known and may be cited as the "Homemade Food Freedom Act". Section 5-4.2 As used in the Homemade Food Freedom Act: 1. "Home food establishment" shall mean a business on the premises of a residence in which prepared homemade food products are created for sale or resale at farmers markets, on site, at cooperatives, through membership-based buying clubs or for delivery, if the business has gross annual sales of prepared food of less than Seventy-five Thousand Dollars ($75,000.00). Gross annual sales includes all sales of prepared food produced by the business at any location; and 2. "Delivered" shall mean transferred to the customer, either immediately upon sale or at a time thereafter; 3. "Homemade food product" shall mean food, including a beverage, which is produced and, if packaged, packaged at a residence; provided, however, homemade food product shall not mean alcoholic beverages or unpasteurized milk or cannabis or marijuana products; 4. "Non-time- or -temperature-controlled for safety" shall mean food that does not require time or temperature control for safety to limit the rapid and progressive growth of infectious or toxigenic microorganisms, including foods that have a pH level of four and six-tenths (4.6) or below or a water activity (aw) of 0.85 or below. Section 5-4.3 A. A home food establishment may sell prepared food on site, by delivery, at a farmers market, through a cooperative, or through a membership-based buying club.
Source: oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/health/health2/aem-documents/protective-health/consumer-health-services/food-service/HB1032-ENR.pdf →
Washington County Permit Guide $26
This page stays free — the Washington County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (70 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Washington County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Washington County, Oklahoma?
Home occupation permit: Yes. City of Bartlesville requires a Home Occupation License in addition to a Business License for home-based businesses within city limits. Washington County's Metropolitan Planning Area zoning regulations (for unincorporated areas within 3 miles of Bartlesville city limits or 0.5 miles of US Hwy 75) also contain home occupation provisions. State law (§5-4.6) allows counties to enact ordinances regulating home food establishments as long as they do not conflict with or restrict the Homemade Food Freedom Act. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Oklahoma guide at https://crosodo.com/states/oklahoma.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Washington County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: No inspection required. ODAFF may request proof of food safety training completion, verify gross sales, and ensure labeling compliance upon complaint.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
What foods can I sell under Oklahoma cottage food law in Washington County?
The Homemade Food Freedom Act covers a broad range of homemade food products including beverages, baked goods, and any food produced and packaged at a residence, provided it is not an alcoholic beverage, unpasteurized milk, or cannabis product. Non-time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (non-TCS) foods with pH 4.6 or below or water activity 0.85 or below are fully exempt from licensing. Time-or-temperature-controlled-for-safety (TCS) foods are also allowed but require food safety training. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Oklahoma, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma state law lists cottage food sales at 75000. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.
Do I need a home occupation permit in Washington County?
Home occupation permit: Yes. City of Bartlesville requires a Home Occupation License in addition to a Business License for home-based businesses within city limits. Washington County's Metropolitan Planning Area zoning regulations (for unincorporated areas within 3 miles of Bartlesville city limits or 0.5 miles of US Hwy 75) also contain home occupation provisions. State law (§5-4.6) allows counties to enact ordinances regulating home food establishments as long as they do not conflict with or restrict the Homemade Food Freedom Act.
The free county page is the short version. This is the full Oklahoma License & Permit Guide (239 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Oklahoma License & Permit Guide (239 pages).

Where to verify Washington County rules
Washington County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Washington County This county | Osage County | Nowata County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | Not specified in state law. | Not specified in state law; good sanitation practices implied | Not specified in state law; standard sanitation practices apply |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Sales allowed on-site, by delivery, at farmers markets, through cooperatives, and through membership-based buying clubs. Non-TCS foods may … | Producer or producer's designated agent may deliver in-state only. Third-party delivery services not permitted for TCS foods. | Sales allowed on-site (home), by delivery, at farmers markets, through cooperatives, and through membership-based buying clubs. Non-TCS foo… |
| Home occupation permit | Yes | Varies | No |
| Local business license | Yes | Varies | No |
| Restrictions | Production at residence required. For non-TCS foods: no license, inspection, or registration required. For TCS foods: must complete approve… | Producer must reside in the home. Annual sales cap of $75,000. TCS foods require completion of food safety training prior to sale. Labeling… | Production must occur at producer's primary residence. Annual gross sales cap of $75,000. Non-TCS foods: no license, inspection, or registr… |
| Food storage | Not specified in state law; standard food safety practices implied. | Proper food storage implied under sanitation requirements | Not specified in state law; standard food safety practices implied |
| Population | 52,579 | 47,431 | 10,130 |
Washington County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Washington County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Other Oklahoma counties
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Advertise here
Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise in Washington County, Oklahoma
Reach home bakers in Washington County, Oklahoma. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.
Learn about placementsYour business here
Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.
Post in the local discussionAds are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Oklahoma's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.