Crosodocrosodo
Get the Full Alabama Report Guide · 189 pages · $44 lifetimeFree county page ≠ full state guide
View sample pages
County · Seat: Prattville · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Autauga County, AL

Can I sell cottage food from home in Autauga County, Alabama?
Yes — Alabama allows cottage food sales under a Good-tier law (cap: None). Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required; home occupation permit required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Alabama Department of Public Health and the Autauga County health department before you sell.
Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101

Reviewed · Guide (PDF) emailed after checkout · Yours to keep

View sample pages
Stripe Checkout · $26 digital download

Autauga County Permits 101 for Autauga County, Alabama (68 pages). After you pay, you get lifetime access to premium dashboard features. Unlock the permit planning workspace on your dashboard.

Sample table of contents for Autauga County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Can I sell this in Autauga County?

Alabama cottage food — common first products

County zoning cannot expand a state ban. Check the product, then the local rules on this page.

Inside the permit report

What's in the Autauga County permit report

Permit Guide 101 cover for Autauga County
Cover
Permit Guide 101 table of contents for Autauga County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Autauga County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Alabama cottage food rules in Autauga County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Alabama cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment.). Autauga County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Autauga County: Conditional. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Yes. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Autauga County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Alabama disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Alabama label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer required by Alabama (exact wording may be set by statute or agency)

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Autauga County is a county in Alabama (pop. 58,761). Under Alabama's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Alabama Department of Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Autauga County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Autauga County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit required. Alabama requires county health department approval — Autauga County Health Dept. (Prattville office) should be contacted. Autauga County is in central Alabama near Montgomery. Acidified foods require pH testing. The 2021 amendment removed the prior sales cap and added online/in-state shipping. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Autauga County cottage food reports

What permits in Autauga County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Autauga County county cottage food report
Autauga County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Autauga County.

Download county report
Cover of Alabama cottage food law PDF report
Alabama state report

Full Alabama License & Permit Guide (189 pages). Statute, all counties, and official source links.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
State law applies

Tier: Good

Alabama has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Alabama cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Autauga County

State baseline: Ala. Code §22-20-5.1

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Alabama cottage food law (Ala. Code §22-20-5.1, amended 2021) requires completion of a state-approved food safety course and approval from local county health department. No sales cap. Direct sales only. Online and in-state shipping allowed.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific pet restriction in state cottage food law.
Water supply
No specific state cottage food water testing requirement.
Handwashing
No specific state cottage food handwashing mandate beyond food safety course training.
Food storage
Non-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable foods only.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection; county health department approves initial application.
Home occupation permit
Yes
Permit details
Autauga County Health Department approval is required before selling. Operators must complete a state-approved food safety course and submit proof of training, a sample label, and product list. Prattville is close to Montgomery — operators should contact the Autauga County Health Department for specific fee and application requirements.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Conditional
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct sales only. Home pickup, farmers markets, events, online sales, and in-state shipping permitted. No wholesale.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state statute.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Autauga County Health Department procedures (county health department approval required); no specific cottage food county ordinance identified.
Local notes

Alabama requires county health department approval — Autauga County Health Dept. (Prattville office) should be contacted. Autauga County is in central Alabama near Montgomery. Acidified foods require pH testing. The 2021 amendment removed the prior sales cap and added online/in-state shipping.

Alabama statute (state law)

Alabama Cottage Food Production Law

Citation: Ala. Code §22-20-5.1
Verbatim excerpt

(a) For purposes of this section, the following words have the following meanings: (1) COTTAGE FOOD. A non-potentially hazardous food that has been prepared in a person's home that does not require time or temperature control for safety to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation and that does not include meat, poultry, or fish. The term includes all of the following: a. Cakes, breads, Danish pastries, donuts, pastries, and pies. b. Jam, jellies, and fruit preserves. c. Candy. d. Dried and dehydrated herbs, herb mixes, vegetables, or fruits. e. Roasted coffee. f. Dried baking mixes. g. Fermented or preserved vegetables or fruit that do not result in the production of alcohol and that have an acidity level allowed by the department. (2) COTTAGE FOOD PRODUCTION OPERATION. A person operating out of his or her home who meets the following requirements: a. Produces cottage food for sale. b. Sells the foods produced under paragraph a. only directly to consumers, whether in-person, by phone, or online, in the state. c. Delivers the foods produced under paragraph a. directly to consumers in the state, whether in person, through an agent of the producer, or by mail. (b) A cottage food production operation is not a food service establishment and is not required to have a food service permit issued by the county health department. (c) Neither the State Department of Public Health nor a county health department may regulate the production of food at a cottage food production operation except as provided by this section.

Source: law.justia.com/codes/alabama/title-22/title-1/chapter-20/section-22-20-5-1/
Full Alabama License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Autauga County Permit Guide $26

This page stays free — the Autauga County statute, zoning notes, and official links. Permit Guide 101 is the paid packet (68 pages): the home cottage-food permit stack (zoning, health, and business license), the checklist, and the dashboard workspace. That packet is not on this free page.

Sample table of contents for Autauga County Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
See what's inside
Common questions

Autauga County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Autauga County, Alabama?

Home occupation permit: Yes. Autauga County Health Department approval is required before selling. Operators must complete a state-approved food safety course and submit proof of training, a sample label, and product list. Prattville is close to Montgomery — operators should contact the Autauga County Health Department for specific fee and application requirements. State cottage food registration may also apply — check the Alabama guide at https://crosodo.com/states/alabama.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Autauga County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection; county health department approves initial application.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

What foods can I sell under Alabama cottage food law in Autauga County?

Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Alabama, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Alabama?

Alabama state law lists cottage food sales at None. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits or zoning can still limit operations.

Do I need a home occupation permit in Autauga County?

Home occupation permit: Yes. Autauga County Health Department approval is required before selling. Operators must complete a state-approved food safety course and submit proof of training, a sample label, and product list. Prattville is close to Montgomery — operators should contact the Autauga County Health Department for specific fee and application requirements.

Stripe Checkout · $44 digital download

The free county page is the short version. This is the full Alabama License & Permit Guide (189 pages) — statute, every county we have researched, and official source URLs. Stripe checkout. Cover letter, paid receipt, and the guide (PDF) licensed to your address.

Sample table of contents from a Crosodo guide
What's insideSample table of contents — Fairfax County Permit Guide 101
Limited time $97 Unlimited Pass

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Alabama License & Permit Guide (189 pages).

Sample cover of an included Permit Guide 101
What's insideSample of an included Permit Guide 101 — Fairfax County cover
Quick comparison

Autauga County vs. bordering counties

RegulationAutauga County
This county
Chilton CountyDallas County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific pet restriction in state cottage food law.Not specified in state statute.Not specified in state statute.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupConditionalYesYes
On-site signageConditionalYesYes
Delivery / pickupDirect sales only. Home pickup, farmers markets, events, online sales, and in-state shipping permitted. No wholesale.Direct to consumer only within Alabama.Direct to consumer only within Alabama.
Home occupation permitYesVariesVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsAlabama cottage food law (Ala. Code §22-20-5.1, amended 2021) requires completion of a state-approved food safety course and approval from …Must produce non-potentially hazardous foods only (no meat/poultry/fish). Sales direct to consumer only within Alabama. Must complete ADPH-…Must produce non-potentially hazardous foods only (no meat/poultry/fish). Sales direct to consumer only within Alabama. Must complete ADPH-…
Food storageNon-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable foods only.Not specifically regulated.Not specifically regulated.
Population58,76145,14038,326
Crosodo Forum

Autauga County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Autauga County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Alabama counties

Alabama
Pop. 672K
Alabama
Pop. 414K
Alabama
Pop. 390K
Alabama
Pop. 233K
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Autauga County, Alabama

Reach home bakers in Autauga County, Alabama. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Alabama's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Autauga County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.