crosodo
Elmore County Permit Guide $26 $13
County · Seat: Wetumpka · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Elmore County, AL

Can I sell cottage food from home in Elmore County, Alabama?
Yes — Alabama allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. State permit required. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Alabama Department of Public Health and the Elmore County health department before you sell.

Crosodo ladder · not a license

How the ladder works
  1. 0Not selling
  2. 1Sell from home
  3. 2Stores & markets
  4. 3Commercial kitchen

Most bakers start here. Step 2: check your county.

What do you want to do?

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz.

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Permit Guide · $13 today

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Table of contents for the Elmore County Permit Guide
What's insideElmore County — table of contents

Reviewed · This page stays free · Permit Guide PDF after checkout

Can I sell this in Elmore County?

All products in Alabama →
Inside the permit report

What's in the Elmore County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Elmore County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Elmore County
Table of contents
Start here

How to start in Elmore County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Alabama cottage food rules in Elmore County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Alabama cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment.). Elmore County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Elmore County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Varies. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Elmore County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Alabama disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Alabama label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer required by Alabama (exact wording may be set by statute or agency)

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Elmore County is a county in Alabama (pop. 87,694). Under Alabama's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Alabama Department of Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Elmore County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Elmore County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Elmore County is in the Montgomery metro area and follows the standard Alabama cottage food framework. No county-specific overrides identified. The review form must be submitted to the Elmore County Health Department. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

Free downloads

Elmore County cottage food reports

What permits in Elmore County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Elmore County county cottage food report
Elmore County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Elmore County.

Download county report
Cover of Alabama cottage food law PDF report
Alabama state report

Full Alabama License & Permit Guide (189 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Elmore County.

Alabama law page
State law applies

Tier: Good

Alabama has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Alabama cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Elmore County

State baseline: Ala. Code §22-20-5.1

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Same as all Alabama counties: production from home kitchen, non-PHF foods only, approved food safety course required, cottage food review form submitted to Elmore County Health Department. Direct sales within Alabama only (in-person, phone, online).
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific state-level pet exclusion requirement in Alabama cottage food law.
Water supply
No specific statutory requirement beyond standard potable water.
Handwashing
No specific statutory requirement; standard food safety practices.
Food storage
No specific statutory requirements.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No food service permit required. County health department may not regulate production beyond the review form process per §22-20-5.1(b)-(c). Investigations may occur upon complaint.
Home occupation permit
Varies
Permit details
Elmore County (near Montgomery) and its municipalities (Wetumpka, Prattville area, Millbrook, Elmore) may have home occupation permits. No specific Elmore County cottage food ordinance identified. Producers should check with Elmore County Commission or municipal planning offices.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct sales within Alabama only: in-person, by phone, or online with in-state delivery.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state law.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
No Elmore County-specific cottage food ordinance identified. Ala. Code §22-20-5.1 governs.
Local notes

Elmore County is in the Montgomery metro area and follows the standard Alabama cottage food framework. No county-specific overrides identified. The review form must be submitted to the Elmore County Health Department.

Alabama statute (state law)

Alabama Cottage Food Production Law

Citation: Ala. Code §22-20-5.1
Verbatim excerpt

(a) For purposes of this section, the following words have the following meanings: (1) COTTAGE FOOD. A non-potentially hazardous food that has been prepared in a person's home that does not require time or temperature control for safety to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation and that does not include meat, poultry, or fish. The term includes all of the following: a. Cakes, breads, Danish pastries, donuts, pastries, and pies. b. Jam, jellies, and fruit preserves. c. Candy. d. Dried and dehydrated herbs, herb mixes, vegetables, or fruits. e. Roasted coffee. f. Dried baking mixes. g. Fermented or preserved vegetables or fruit that do not result in the production of alcohol and that have an acidity level allowed by the department. (2) COTTAGE FOOD PRODUCTION OPERATION. A person operating out of his or her home who meets the following requirements: a. Produces cottage food for sale. b. Sells the foods produced under paragraph a. only directly to consumers, whether in-person, by phone, or online, in the state. c. Delivers the foods produced under paragraph a. directly to consumers in the state, whether in person, through an agent of the producer, or by mail. (b) A cottage food production operation is not a food service establishment and is not required to have a food service permit issued by the county health department. (c) Neither the State Department of Public Health nor a county health department may regulate the production of food at a cottage food production operation except as provided by this section.

Source: law.justia.com/codes/alabama/title-22/title-1/chapter-20/section-22-20-5-1/ →
Full Alabama License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Elmore County Permit Guide — $26 $13

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

This page stays free. One-time $26 · this county’s PDF + workspace · add other counties free

  • Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  • Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  • Local health Class A/B path when the county runs it
See what's inside
Common questions

Elmore County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Elmore County, Alabama?

State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Varies. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Elmore County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Elmore County?

State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Elmore County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Elmore County. Ask Elmore County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Alabama?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Elmore County?

Apply through Elmore County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Elmore County, Alabama — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Alabama cottage food law in Elmore County?

Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Alabama, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Elmore County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No food service permit required. County health department may not regulate production beyond the review form process per §22-20-5.1(b)-(c). Investigations may occur upon complaint.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Elmore County

These two are only if you also sell in other counties.

Full state guide · $44 $22

Full Alabama PDF (189 pages) — not just Elmore County.

Alabama License & Permit Guide sample cover
What's insideAlabama guide — sample cover
Unlimited Pass · $48.50 today

Unlimited Pass. Your journey to getting permitted for cottage food sales. Premium dashboard tools, unlimited state and county reports, and the 50-state label report. Lifetime access. Includes the full Alabama License & Permit Guide (189 pages).

Sample cover included with the Elmore County Unlimited Pass
What's insideElmore County — included guide
Quick comparison

Elmore County vs. bordering counties

RegulationElmore County
This county
Autauga CountyChilton County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific state-level pet exclusion requirement in Alabama cottage food law.No specific pet restriction in state cottage food law.Not specified in state statute.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesConditionalYes
On-site signageConditionalConditionalYes
Delivery / pickupDirect sales within Alabama only: in-person, by phone, or online with in-state delivery.Direct sales only. Home pickup, farmers markets, events, online sales, and in-state shipping permitted. No wholesale.Direct to consumer only within Alabama.
Home occupation permitVariesYesVaries
Local business licenseVariesVariesVaries
RestrictionsSame as all Alabama counties: production from home kitchen, non-PHF foods only, approved food safety course required, cottage food review f…Alabama cottage food law (Ala. Code §22-20-5.1, amended 2021) requires completion of a state-approved food safety course and approval from …Must produce non-potentially hazardous foods only (no meat/poultry/fish). Sales direct to consumer only within Alabama. Must complete ADPH-…
Food storageNo specific statutory requirements.Non-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable foods only.Not specifically regulated.
Population87,69458,76145,140
Crosodo Forum

Elmore County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Elmore County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Related counties

Other Alabama counties

Alabama
Pop. 672K
Alabama
Pop. 414K
Alabama
Pop. 390K
Alabama
Pop. 233K
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

National
Supplies

Advertise here

Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Courses

Advertise here

Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Insurance

Advertise here

Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.

crosodo.com/advertise
Local

Advertise in Elmore County, Alabama

Reach home bakers in Elmore County, Alabama. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.

Learn about placements

Your business here

Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.

Post in the local discussion

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Alabama's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Join the Elmore County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.