crosodo
County · Seat: Phenix City · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Russell County, AL

Inside the permit report

What's in the Russell County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Russell County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Russell County
Table of contents
Your Russell County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Russell County?

All products in Alabama →
More Russell County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Russell County?
Start here

How to start in Russell County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Alabama cottage food rules in Russell County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Alabama cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment.). Russell County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Russell County: Conditional. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: Yes. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: Yes. Local inspection in Russell County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Alabama disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Alabama label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer required by Alabama (exact wording may be set by statute or agency)

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Alabama county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Alabama county rules quiz

Russell County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Alabama statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Russell County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Russell County cottage food rules with Alabama agencies?

Russell County is a county in Alabama (pop. 58,849). Under Alabama's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: Yes. Start with Alabama Department of Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Russell County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Russell County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit required. Alabama requires county health department approval — Russell County Health Dept. should be contacted directly. Phenix City is on the Georgia border near Columbus, GA. Acidified foods require pH testing. Freeze-dried foods require water-activity testing. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Russell County?
State law applies

Tier: Good

Alabama has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.

Alabama cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Russell County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Russell County

State baseline: Ala. Code §22-20-5.1

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Alabama cottage food law (Ala. Code §22-20-5.1, amended 2021) requires completion of a state-approved food safety course and approval from local county health department. No sales cap. Direct sales only. Online and in-state shipping allowed.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific pet restriction in state cottage food law.
Water supply
No specific state cottage food water testing requirement.
Handwashing
No specific state cottage food handwashing mandate beyond food safety course training.
Food storage
Non-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable foods only.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspection; county health department approves initial application.
Home occupation permit
Yes
Permit details
Russell County Health Department approval is required before selling. Operators must complete a state-approved food safety course and submit proof of training, a sample label, and product list to the county health department. Fees vary by county.
Local business license
Varies
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Conditional
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Direct sales only. Home pickup, farmers markets, events, online sales, and in-state shipping permitted. No wholesale.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state statute.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Russell County Health Department procedures (county health department approval required); no specific cottage food county ordinance identified.
Local notes

Alabama requires county health department approval — Russell County Health Dept. should be contacted directly. Phenix City is on the Georgia border near Columbus, GA. Acidified foods require pH testing. Freeze-dried foods require water-activity testing.

What does the Alabama cottage food statute say?
Alabama statute (state law)

Alabama Cottage Food Production Law

Citation: Ala. Code §22-20-5.1
Verbatim excerpt

(a) For purposes of this section, the following words have the following meanings: (1) COTTAGE FOOD. A non-potentially hazardous food that has been prepared in a person's home that does not require time or temperature control for safety to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation and that does not include meat, poultry, or fish. The term includes all of the following: a. Cakes, breads, Danish pastries, donuts, pastries, and pies. b. Jam, jellies, and fruit preserves. c. Candy. d. Dried and dehydrated herbs, herb mixes, vegetables, or fruits. e. Roasted coffee. f. Dried baking mixes. g. Fermented or preserved vegetables or fruit that do not result in the production of alcohol and that have an acidity level allowed by the department. (2) COTTAGE FOOD PRODUCTION OPERATION. A person operating out of his or her home who meets the following requirements: a. Produces cottage food for sale. b. Sells the foods produced under paragraph a. only directly to consumers, whether in-person, by phone, or online, in the state. c. Delivers the foods produced under paragraph a. directly to consumers in the state, whether in person, through an agent of the producer, or by mail. (b) A cottage food production operation is not a food service establishment and is not required to have a food service permit issued by the county health department. (c) Neither the State Department of Public Health nor a county health department may regulate the production of food at a cottage food production operation except as provided by this section.

Source: law.justia.com/codes/alabama/title-22/title-1/chapter-20/section-22-20-5-1/ →
Full Alabama License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Russell County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Russell County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Russell County, Alabama?

State permit required. Local home-occupation permit: Yes. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Russell County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Russell County?

State permit required. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Russell County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Russell County. Ask Russell County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Alabama?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Russell County?

Apply through Russell County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Russell County, Alabama — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Alabama cottage food law in Russell County?

Allowed foods include non-potentially hazardous foods such as baked goods (cakes, breads, pastries, pies), jams and jellies, candy, dried herbs and vegetables, roasted coffee, dried baking mixes, and fermented/preserved vegetables or fruit with an approved acidity level. Online and in-state shipping are permitted as of the 2021 amendment. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Alabama, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Russell County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspection; county health department approves initial application.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Russell County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Alabama report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Russell County cottage food reports

What permits in Russell County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Russell County county cottage food report
Russell County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Russell County.

Download county report
Cover of Alabama cottage food law PDF report
Alabama state report

Full Alabama License & Permit Guide (189 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Russell County.

Alabama law page

Free email alerts

Russell County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Russell County, with Alabama statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Russell County page based on?
Quick comparison

Russell County vs. bordering counties

RegulationRussell County
This county
Barbour CountyMacon County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific pet restriction in state cottage food law.Not specified in state statute; good practice recommended.No specific state restriction; standard sanitation best practices apply.
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupConditionalYesYes
On-site signageConditionalYesYes
Delivery / pickupDirect sales only. Home pickup, farmers markets, events, online sales, and in-state shipping permitted. No wholesale.Direct to consumer only; in-person, phone, or online within Alabama. Delivery by producer or agent to consumers within state allowed.Direct sales to consumers permitted in person, by phone, online, or via mail within Alabama. Delivery may be in person, by an agent, or by …
Home occupation permitYesVariesConditional
Local business licenseVariesVariesYes
RestrictionsAlabama cottage food law (Ala. Code §22-20-5.1, amended 2021) requires completion of a state-approved food safety course and approval from …Must produce non-potentially hazardous foods only (no meat/poultry/fish). Sales direct to consumer only (in-person, phone, or online within…Must complete a state-approved food safety course (e.g., ACES course, $25) before selling. Must file paperwork (food safety course certific…
Food storageNon-potentially hazardous, shelf-stable foods only.Not specifically regulated; non-PHF foods must maintain quality but no formal storage rules.Non-potentially hazardous foods only; must be shelf-stable and not require time/temperature control for safety.
Population58,84924,87719,198
What other Alabama counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Alabama counties

Alabama
Pop. 672K
Alabama
Pop. 414K
Alabama
Pop. 390K
Alabama
Pop. 233K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Russell County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Alabama's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Russell County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Russell County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Russell County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Russell County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Russell County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Russell County, Alabama?
Yes — Alabama allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. State permit required. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required; home occupation permit required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Alabama Department of Public Health and the Russell County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Russell County?
Your Russell County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Russell County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Russell County? State vs county rules and pets
Alabama rule (statewide)Russell County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Russell County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Russell County

    • Check with Russell County business license office
    • Check with Russell County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Alabama Department of Public Health — Cottage Food

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Alabama

    • Selling to stores: check with Alabama Department of Public Health

    Russell County

    • Check with Russell County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Alabama

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Alabama Department of Public Health

    Russell County

    • Check with Russell County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Alabama · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Alabama Department of Public Health.

    Alabama · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Alabama Department of Public Health.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.