Cottage food law & license in Cleburne County, AR
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn the Library Pass
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn the Library Pass
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn the Library Pass
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. The Library Pass is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
Crosodo ladder · not a license
How the ladder works- 0Not selling
- 1Sell from home
- 2Stores & markets
- 3Commercial kitchen
Most bakers start here. Step 2: check your county.
What do you want to do?
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Library Pass unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Cleburne County?
All products in Arkansas →What's in the Cleburne County permit report


How to start in Cleburne County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Arkansas cottage food rules in Cleburne County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Arkansas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Producers may sell almost any nonperishable, non-potentially hazardous food directly to consumers, including baked goods, candies, condiments, dry goods, preserves, fermented foods, carbonated drinks, and snacks. Interstate sales are permitted and retail/wholesale channels are allowed as long as an informed end consumer is the final buyer.). Cleburne County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Cleburne County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Cleburne County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Arkansas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Arkansas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a private residence that is exempt from state licensing and inspection. This product may contain allergens.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Arkansas county rules quiz
Cleburne County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Arkansas statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Cleburne County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizCleburne County is a county in Arkansas (pop. 24,948). Under Arkansas's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Arkansas Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Cleburne County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Cleburne County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Arkansas Food Freedom Act (Act 1040 of 2021) expressly preempts county and municipal governments from prohibiting or regulating home food production (§20-57-506). No state registration, inspection, or food handler certification required. Business license may be required locally — some cities (e.g., Little Rock) require a license for home cake sales. No county-specific ordinances found that deviate from state baseline, as state preemption is explicit. Acidified foods require pH at or below 4.6. Foods cannot be sold to restaurants. ADH's July 2025 Homemade Food Guide confirms current rules. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
Cleburne County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Cleburne County.
Download county reportFull Arkansas License & Permit Guide (224 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Cleburne County.
Arkansas law pageTier: Freedom
Arkansas has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.
Arkansas cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Cleburne County
State baseline: A.C.A. §20-57-201 (Act 1040 of 2021)
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Must be produced at producer's private residence. Foods must be non-TCS (non-time/temperature control for safety). Labeling required: producer name, address, phone (or ID number), date produced, ingredients, and disclosure statement that product is not inspected. No state registration, license, or inspection required.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- No specific restriction under state law; standard food safety sanitation practices apply.
- Water supply
- Standard potable water; no specific water testing requirement under the Food Freedom Act.
- Handwashing
- Standard food safety practices strongly encouraged; no mandatory food handler certification required under the Food Freedom Act.
- Food storage
- Non-TCS foods only — must not require refrigeration to prevent pathogen growth. Acidified foods (pickles, salsas, sauces) require pH testing to confirm final pH at or below 4.6.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- Arkansas Department of Health may investigate complaints of adulterated or misbranded food and may inspect pop-up shop operations within third-party retail. No routine inspection of home kitchen.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- No state permit required under the Food Freedom Act. However, local city or county business licenses may be required — check with local city/county clerk. A.C.A. §14-140-101 limits charges against farmers/producers selling items produced on their property but may not apply in all situations. State law (§20-57-506) expressly preempts county and municipal jurisdictions from prohibiting or regulating home food production.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Yes
- Delivery / pickup
- May be sold in person, by telephone, or online. Delivery by producer, producer's agent, or commercial carrier. Sales allowed at farmers markets, county fairs, pop-up shops, from home/farm/ranch/office, or via third-party retail vendors. Cannot be sold to restaurants (not an approved source). Interstate sales allowed if seller complies with applicable federal laws.
- Max employees in home
- No explicit limit under state law; an agent (employee, friend) may deliver on behalf of the producer.
- Relevant code section
- A.C.A. §20-57-506 (preemption of county and municipal regulation); A.C.A. §20-57-201 et seq. (Food Freedom Act definitions and requirements).
Arkansas Food Freedom Act (Act 1040 of 2021) expressly preempts county and municipal governments from prohibiting or regulating home food production (§20-57-506). No state registration, inspection, or food handler certification required. Business license may be required locally — some cities (e.g., Little Rock) require a license for home cake sales. No county-specific ordinances found that deviate from state baseline, as state preemption is explicit. Acidified foods require pH at or below 4.6. Foods cannot be sold to restaurants. ADH's July 2025 Homemade Food Guide confirms current rules.
Arkansas Food Freedom Act (SB 248 / Act 1040)
Full Arkansas License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptSB248 - TO CREATE THE FOOD FREEDOM ACT; AND TO EXEMPT CERTAIN PRODUCERS OF HOMEMADE FOOD OR DRINK PRODUCTS FROM LICENSURE, CERTIFICATION, AND INSPECTION. Under the food freedom law, producers can sell their homemade food almost anywhere, including sales through grocery and retail stores. Even interstate sales are allowed. Producers can sell almost any type of nonperishable food, though producers who sell acidified foods (e.g. pickles) must follow additional requirements. There is no sales limit, and a producer does not need to get a permit from the health department. The food freedom law specifically prevents state and local governments from restricting home food producers. Products must be sold to an informed end consumer. For instance, a grocery or retail store could sell your products to their customers, who are end consumers and can see your product labels. If you want to sell pickles or other acidified foods, you must ensure that the final pH level of the product is 4.6 or below by doing one of the following: Use a recipe from an approved source; Get your product tested in a lab; Test each batch with a calibrated pH meter.
Source: arkleg.state.ar.us/Bills/Detail?ddBienniumSession=2021%2F2021R&measureno=SB248 →
Crosodo Library Pass — $15/mo
This page stays free. Cleburne County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in the Library Pass.
Get the Library Pass — $15/moCleburne County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Cleburne County, Arkansas?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Cleburne County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Cleburne County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Cleburne County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Cleburne County. Ask Cleburne County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Arkansas?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Cleburne County?
Apply through Cleburne County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Cleburne County, Arkansas — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Arkansas cottage food law in Cleburne County?
Producers may sell almost any nonperishable, non-potentially hazardous food directly to consumers, including baked goods, candies, condiments, dry goods, preserves, fermented foods, carbonated drinks, and snacks. Interstate sales are permitted and retail/wholesale channels are allowed as long as an informed end consumer is the final buyer. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Arkansas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Cleburne County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: Arkansas Department of Health may investigate complaints of adulterated or misbranded food and may inspect pop-up shop operations within third-party retail. No routine inspection of home kitchen.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Crosodo Library Pass · $15/mo or $99/yr
Every Arkansas report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Get the Library Pass — $15/moWhere to verify Cleburne County rules
Cleburne County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Cleburne County This county | Van Buren County | Stone County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No specific restriction under state law; standard food safety sanitation practices apply. | Not specified in state statute; good manufacturing practices apply | Not specified in state statute; good manufacturing practices apply |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Delivery / pickup | May be sold in person, by telephone, or online. Delivery by producer, producer's agent, or commercial carrier. Sales allowed at farmers mar… | Direct sales permitted; indirect sales through retail/wholesale allowed; interstate sales permitted | Direct sales permitted; indirect sales through retail/wholesale allowed; interstate sales permitted |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | No — state law preempts local restrictions | No — state law preempts local restrictions |
| Local business license | Varies | No — preempted by state law | No — preempted by state law |
| Restrictions | Must be produced at producer's private residence. Foods must be non-TCS (non-time/temperature control for safety). Labeling required: produ… | Must operate from a primary residence kitchen; commercial kitchen use is prohibited under the Food Freedom Act. State law expressly preempt… | Must operate from a primary residence kitchen; commercial kitchen use is prohibited under the Food Freedom Act. State law expressly preempt… |
| Food storage | Non-TCS foods only — must not require refrigeration to prevent pathogen growth. Acidified foods (pickles, salsas, sauces) require pH testin… | Safe food storage practices required; no separate storage room mandated | Safe food storage practices required; no separate storage room mandated |
| Population | 24,948 | 15,900 | 12,393 |
Cleburne County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Cleburne County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Other Arkansas counties
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Advertise here
Packaging, labels, baking tools, bulk ingredients, and equipment for cottage food operators. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Baking classes, cottage food business training, workshops, and food safety education. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise here
Product liability, home bakery, market vendor, and small food business insurance. Reach home bakers across the country.
crosodo.com/advertiseAdvertise in Cleburne County, Arkansas
Reach home bakers in Cleburne County, Arkansas. Supply stores, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, co-packer referrals, and bakery services are welcome.
Learn about placementsYour business here
Local cottage food listings, community kitchens, farmers market dates, and non-profit events can be submitted for review.
Post in the local discussionAds are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Arkansas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.