Cottage food law & license in Craighead County, AR
What's in the Craighead County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Craighead County?
More Craighead County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Craighead County?
How to start in Craighead County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Arkansas cottage food rules in Craighead County. Not legal advice.
Confirm your menu under state law
Arkansas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Producers may sell almost any nonperishable, non-potentially hazardous food directly to consumers, including baked goods, candies, condiments, dry goods, preserves, fermented foods, carbonated drinks, and snacks. Interstate sales are permitted and retail/wholesale channels are allowed as long as an informed end consumer is the final buyer.). Craighead County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Craighead County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: No. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: No. Local inspection in Craighead County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with Arkansas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Arkansas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a private residence that is exempt from state licensing and inspection. This product may contain allergens.”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on Arkansas county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Arkansas county rules quiz
Craighead County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Arkansas statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Craighead County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Craighead County cottage food rules with Arkansas agencies?
Craighead County is a county in Arkansas (pop. 111,038). Under Arkansas's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Arkansas Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Craighead County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Craighead County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Arkansas Food Freedom Act (Act 1040, 2021) preempts all local restrictions. State tier is 'Freedom.' Craighead County includes Jonesboro (pop ~80K), home of Arkansas State University. No county-specific URLs provided. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Craighead County?
Tier: Freedom
Arkansas has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.
Arkansas cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Craighead County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Craighead County
State baseline: A.C.A. §20-57-201 (Food Freedom Act, Act 1040 of 2021); no sales cap; no registration; no inspection; direct and indirect sales; state law expressly preempts local restrictions
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- Arkansas Food Freedom Act expressly preempts state AND local government restrictions on home food producers. Must operate from primary residence kitchen. Note: county_seat in input is blank but is Jonesboro.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- No specific restrictions beyond standard sanitation under Freedom Act.
- Water supply
- Potable water required; no specific county overlay.
- Handwashing
- Standard food safety practices; no formal requirement under Freedom Act.
- Food storage
- Shelf-stable products; acidified foods require pH testing (pH ≤4.6) and batch records.
- Inspection required
- No
- Inspection trigger
- Arkansas Food Freedom Act prohibits all local restrictions including inspections.
- Home occupation permit
- No
- Permit details
- Arkansas Food Freedom Act (A.C.A. §20-57-201) expressly preempts all local government restrictions including permit requirements.
- Local business license
- No
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Yes
- Delivery / pickup
- Arkansas allows direct and indirect sales including online, retail/wholesale, and interstate sales. No channel restrictions.
- Max employees in home
- No specific limit under Arkansas Food Freedom Act.
- Relevant code section
- A.C.A. §20-57-201 et seq. (preempts local rules)
Arkansas Food Freedom Act (Act 1040, 2021) preempts all local restrictions. State tier is 'Freedom.' Craighead County includes Jonesboro (pop ~80K), home of Arkansas State University. No county-specific URLs provided.
What does the Arkansas cottage food statute say?
Arkansas Food Freedom Act (SB 248 / Act 1040)
Full Arkansas License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerptSB248 - TO CREATE THE FOOD FREEDOM ACT; AND TO EXEMPT CERTAIN PRODUCERS OF HOMEMADE FOOD OR DRINK PRODUCTS FROM LICENSURE, CERTIFICATION, AND INSPECTION. Under the food freedom law, producers can sell their homemade food almost anywhere, including sales through grocery and retail stores. Even interstate sales are allowed. Producers can sell almost any type of nonperishable food, though producers who sell acidified foods (e.g. pickles) must follow additional requirements. There is no sales limit, and a producer does not need to get a permit from the health department. The food freedom law specifically prevents state and local governments from restricting home food producers. Products must be sold to an informed end consumer. For instance, a grocery or retail store could sell your products to their customers, who are end consumers and can see your product labels. If you want to sell pickles or other acidified foods, you must ensure that the final pH level of the product is 4.6 or below by doing one of the following: Use a recipe from an approved source; Get your product tested in a lab; Test each batch with a calibrated pH meter.
Source: arkleg.state.ar.us/Bills/Detail?ddBienniumSession=2021%2F2021R&measureno=SB248 →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Craighead County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeCraighead County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Craighead County, Arkansas?
No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: No. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Craighead County environmental health before you sell.
What cottage food path applies in Craighead County?
No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Craighead County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Craighead County. Ask Craighead County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in Arkansas?
No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Craighead County?
Apply through Craighead County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Craighead County, Arkansas — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.
What foods can I sell under Arkansas cottage food law in Craighead County?
Producers may sell almost any nonperishable, non-potentially hazardous food directly to consumers, including baked goods, candies, condiments, dry goods, preserves, fermented foods, carbonated drinks, and snacks. Interstate sales are permitted and retail/wholesale channels are allowed as long as an informed end consumer is the final buyer. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Arkansas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Craighead County?
Inspection: No. Trigger: Arkansas Food Freedom Act prohibits all local restrictions including inspections.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every Arkansas report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeCraighead County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Craighead County.
Download county reportFull Arkansas License & Permit Guide (224 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Craighead County.
Arkansas law pageFree email alerts
Craighead County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Craighead County, with Arkansas statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Craighead County page based on?
Where to verify Craighead County rules
Craighead County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Craighead County This county | Greene County | Mississippi County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No specific restrictions beyond standard sanitation under Freedom Act. | Not specified in state statute; good manufacturing practices apply | Not specified in state statute; good manufacturing practices apply |
| Inspection required | No | No | No |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Delivery / pickup | Arkansas allows direct and indirect sales including online, retail/wholesale, and interstate sales. No channel restrictions. | Direct sales permitted; indirect sales through retail/wholesale allowed; interstate sales permitted | Direct sales permitted; indirect sales through retail/wholesale allowed; interstate sales permitted |
| Home occupation permit | No | No — state law preempts local restrictions | No — state law preempts local restrictions |
| Local business license | No | No — preempted by state law | No — preempted by state law |
| Restrictions | Arkansas Food Freedom Act expressly preempts state AND local government restrictions on home food producers. Must operate from primary resi… | Must operate from a primary residence kitchen; commercial kitchen use is prohibited under the Food Freedom Act. State law expressly preempt… | Must operate from a primary residence kitchen; commercial kitchen use is prohibited under the Food Freedom Act. State law expressly preempt… |
| Food storage | Shelf-stable products; acidified foods require pH testing (pH ≤4.6) and batch records. | Safe food storage practices required; no separate storage room mandated | Safe food storage practices required; no separate storage room mandated |
| Population | 111,038 | 45,954 | 40,361 |
What other Arkansas counties can I compare?
Other Arkansas counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Craighead County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Arkansas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Craighead County bakers?
Craighead County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Craighead County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Craighead County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Craighead County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Craighead County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Craighead County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
Craighead County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
Arkansas
Craighead County
- Check with Craighead County business license office
- Check with Craighead County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
Arkansas
- Selling to stores: check with Arkansas Department of Health
Craighead County
- Check with Craighead County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
Arkansas
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with Arkansas Department of Health
Craighead County
- Check with Craighead County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
Arkansas · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with Arkansas Department of Health.
Arkansas · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with Arkansas Department of Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.