crosodo
County · Seat: Hot Springs · Last verified

Cottage food law & license in Garland County, AR

Inside the permit report

What's in the Garland County permit report

Permit Guide cover for Garland County
Cover
Permit Guide table of contents for Garland County
Table of contents
Your Garland County startup packet · $15 one time, lifetime access

Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.

Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.

Buy the Report — $15 one time

One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.

Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist

Can I sell this in Garland County?

All products in Arkansas →
More Garland County resources
How do I start a cottage food business in Garland County?
Start here

How to start in Garland County

Permit, label, and local steps for selling under Arkansas cottage food rules in Garland County. Not legal advice.

  1. Confirm your menu under state law

    Arkansas cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Producers may sell almost any nonperishable, non-potentially hazardous food directly to consumers, including baked goods, candies, condiments, dry goods, preserves, fermented foods, carbonated drinks, and snacks. Interstate sales are permitted and retail/wholesale channels are allowed as long as an informed end consumer is the final buyer.). Garland County cannot expand a food the state bans.

  2. Map channels and local sales rules

    State sales cap: No cap. On-site / porch pickup in Garland County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.

  3. Local permits, tax, and home occupation

    Home occupation permit: No. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.

  4. Training, registration, inspection

    State registration: No. Local inspection in Garland County: No. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.

  5. Labels that match the state

    Print labels with Arkansas disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free Arkansas label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.

  6. Insurance and first sales

    Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.

Label checklist

What usually goes on the package

  • Product name (common or usual name of the food)
  • Business or producer name
  • Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
  • Ingredients in descending order by weight
  • Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
  • Net weight or quantity
  • Home-kitchen disclaimer: “This product was produced in a private residence that is exempt from state licensing and inspection. This product may contain allergens.”

Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.

Can I test myself on Arkansas county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
Crosodo Verified

Arkansas county rules quiz

Garland County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the Arkansas statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Garland County quiz.

Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.

Take the Crosodo Verified quiz
How do I verify Garland County cottage food rules with Arkansas agencies?

Garland County is a county in Arkansas (pop. 100,021). Under Arkansas's Freedom-tier cottage food law (sales cap: None), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: No. Start with Arkansas Department of Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Garland County health and planning requirements. Local notes for Garland County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. Hot Springs is a historic resort city in the Ouachita Mountains. Arkansas Food Freedom Act expressly preempts local regulation — one of the most producer-friendly legal structures in the country. No county-specific restrictions apply by law. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.

What practical tips help me start selling in Garland County?
State law applies

Tier: Freedom

Arkansas has a Freedom-tier cottage food law — sell almost anything direct to consumer with no sales cap. The state baseline is permissive, so local zoning is usually the main constraint to navigate.

Arkansas cottage food law →
County registration

Health department

Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.

Local zoning

Home occupation rules

The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.

What are the Garland County zoning rules for a home bakery?
County rules

Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Garland County

State baseline: A.C.A. §20-57-201 (Act 1040 of 2021)

Home kitchen
Home kitchen allowed
Yes
Restrictions
Arkansas Food Freedom Act (2021): No license, fee, registration, or inspection required. Producers must operate from a primary residence kitchen; commercial kitchen use prohibited. State law expressly preempts both state and local government restriction on home food producers. Interstate sales are allowed — unusual nationally. Prohibited: perishable baked goods, low-acid canned goods, nut butters, oils, meat jerkies. Acidified foods (pickles) require pH testing (final pH ≤4.6) and batch-number labeling with production records.
Separate dedicated kitchen
No
Pet restrictions
No specific state restriction in the Food Freedom Act.
Water supply
No specific state requirement for cottage food operations.
Handwashing
Standard food safety practices required.
Food storage
Almost all nonperishable, non-potentially-hazardous foods allowed: baked goods, candies, condiments, dry goods, preserves, fermented foods, carbonated drinks, snacks. Prohibited: perishable baked goods, low-acid canned goods, nut butters, oils, meat jerkies. Acidified foods require pH testing.
Inspection & permitting
Inspection required
No
Inspection trigger
No routine inspections. Arkansas Food Freedom Act expressly preempts local regulation.
Home occupation permit
No
Permit details
Arkansas Food Freedom Act (A.C.A. §20-57-201) expressly preempts both state and local government from restricting home food producers. No local home occupation permit required for cottage food operations.
Local business license
No
Customer-facing
On-site customer pickup
Yes
On-site signage
Conditional
Delivery / pickup
Interstate and in-state sales permitted. Retail/wholesale channels allowed as long as informed end consumer is the final buyer. Online sales, delivery, and all sales channels permitted.
Max employees in home
Not specified in state statute.
Zoning code
Relevant code section
Arkansas state law expressly preempts local regulation: A.C.A. §20-57-201 et seq. No Garland County code section applies to cottage food.
Local notes

Hot Springs is a historic resort city in the Ouachita Mountains. Arkansas Food Freedom Act expressly preempts local regulation — one of the most producer-friendly legal structures in the country. No county-specific restrictions apply by law.

What does the Arkansas cottage food statute say?
Arkansas statute (state law)

Arkansas Food Freedom Act (SB 248 / Act 1040)

Citation: A.C.A. §20-57-201 (Act 1040 of 2021)
Verbatim excerpt

SB248 - TO CREATE THE FOOD FREEDOM ACT; AND TO EXEMPT CERTAIN PRODUCERS OF HOMEMADE FOOD OR DRINK PRODUCTS FROM LICENSURE, CERTIFICATION, AND INSPECTION. Under the food freedom law, producers can sell their homemade food almost anywhere, including sales through grocery and retail stores. Even interstate sales are allowed. Producers can sell almost any type of nonperishable food, though producers who sell acidified foods (e.g. pickles) must follow additional requirements. There is no sales limit, and a producer does not need to get a permit from the health department. The food freedom law specifically prevents state and local governments from restricting home food producers. Products must be sold to an informed end consumer. For instance, a grocery or retail store could sell your products to their customers, who are end consumers and can see your product labels. If you want to sell pickles or other acidified foods, you must ensure that the final pH level of the product is 4.6 or below by doing one of the following: Use a recipe from an approved source; Get your product tested in a lab; Test each batch with a calibrated pH meter.

Source: arkleg.state.ar.us/Bills/Detail?ddBienniumSession=2021%2F2021R&measureno=SB248 →
Full Arkansas License & Permit Guide →
Next step

Cottage Pro — $15 one time

This page stays free. Garland County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Common questions

Garland County cottage food — FAQ

Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Garland County, Arkansas?

No state permit. Local home-occupation permit: No. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Garland County environmental health before you sell.

What cottage food path applies in Garland County?

No state permit. Follow the registration path listed on this page.

What is the cottage food permit fee in Garland County?

Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Garland County. Ask Garland County environmental health for the current cottage-food fee.

What is the sales cap for cottage food in Arkansas?

No annual sales cap. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.

Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Garland County?

Apply through Garland County environmental health. Crosodo does not have a verified application URL for Garland County, Arkansas — use the county environmental health / planning contacts on this page.

What foods can I sell under Arkansas cottage food law in Garland County?

Producers may sell almost any nonperishable, non-potentially hazardous food directly to consumers, including baked goods, candies, condiments, dry goods, preserves, fermented foods, carbonated drinks, and snacks. Interstate sales are permitted and retail/wholesale channels are allowed as long as an informed end consumer is the final buyer. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by Arkansas, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.

Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Garland County?

Inspection: No. Trigger: No routine inspections. Arkansas Food Freedom Act expressly preempts local regulation.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.

If you need more than Garland County

Cottage Pro · $15 one time

Every Arkansas report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.

Buy the Report — $15 one time
Free downloads

Garland County cottage food reports

What permits in Garland County?

Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.

Cover of Garland County county cottage food report
Garland County county report

Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Garland County.

Download county report
Cover of Arkansas cottage food law PDF report
Arkansas state report

Full Arkansas License & Permit Guide (224 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Garland County.

Arkansas law page

Free email alerts

Garland County Cottage Food Updates

Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Garland County, with Arkansas statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.

Free. Separate from Flaky Fridays. Unsubscribe any time.

Protected by reCAPTCHA. Google Privacy and Terms apply.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

What sources is this Garland County page based on?
Quick comparison

Garland County vs. bordering counties

RegulationGarland County
This county
Saline CountyHot Spring County
Home kitchen allowedYesYesYes
Separate dedicated kitchenNoNoNo
Pets allowedNo specific state restriction in the Food Freedom Act.No specific restrictions beyond standard sanitation under Freedom Act.Not specified in state statute; good manufacturing practices apply
Inspection requiredNoNoNo
On-site customer pickupYesYesYes
On-site signageConditionalYesYes
Delivery / pickupInterstate and in-state sales permitted. Retail/wholesale channels allowed as long as informed end consumer is the final buyer. Online sale…Arkansas allows direct and indirect sales; online, retail/wholesale, and interstate sales all permitted. No channel restrictions under the …Direct sales permitted; indirect sales through retail/wholesale allowed; interstate sales permitted
Home occupation permitNoNoNo — state law preempts local restrictions
Local business licenseNoNoNo — preempted by state law
RestrictionsArkansas Food Freedom Act (2021): No license, fee, registration, or inspection required. Producers must operate from a primary residence ki…Arkansas Food Freedom Act expressly preempts state AND local government restrictions on home food producers. Must operate from primary resi…Must operate from a primary residence kitchen; commercial kitchen use is prohibited under the Food Freedom Act. State law expressly preempt…
Food storageAlmost all nonperishable, non-potentially-hazardous foods allowed: baked goods, candies, condiments, dry goods, preserves, fermented foods,…Shelf-stable products; acidified foods require pH testing (pH ≤4.6) and batch records.Safe food storage practices required; no separate storage room mandated
Population100,021123,98833,129
What other Arkansas counties can I compare?
Related counties

Other Arkansas counties

Arkansas
Pop. 398K
Arkansas
Pop. 287K
Arkansas
Pop. 247K
Arkansas
Pop. 128K
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Classifieds

Resources for cottage food and home bakers

Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.

Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.

Is this Garland County page legal advice?
Important

Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to Arkansas's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.

Where can I talk with other Garland County bakers?
Crosodo Forum

Garland County baker discussion

53 public threads from bakers talking about Garland County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.

Open discussion →
Join the Garland County discussion

Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.

Can I sell cottage food from home in Garland County? (short answer)
Can I sell cottage food from home in Garland County, Arkansas?
Yes — Arkansas allows cottage food sales. No annual sales cap. No state permit. Locally: home kitchens are allowed; no health inspection required; no home occupation permit required. Last verified May 5, 2026. Confirm with Arkansas Department of Health and the Garland County health department before you sell.
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Garland County?
Your Garland County checklist

Steps to your first legal sale

  1. Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
  2. Zoning / home occupation: where you file
  3. Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
  4. Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
  5. House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro

Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.

What should I know about Garland County at a glance?
How does the Crosodo ladder work in Garland County? State vs county rules and pets
Arkansas rule (statewide)Garland County rule

Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works

  1. 0Bake for friends

    Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.

    Garland County

    • Nothing to file

    $0

    Taking money? → Step 1

    Crosodo ladder

  2. 1Sell from home

    Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.

    Garland County

    • Check with Garland County business license office
    • Check with Garland County zoning office about home pickup

    Want store shelves? → Step 2

    Arkansas Department of Health — Food Protection FAQ

  3. 2Sell to stores

    Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.

    Arkansas

    • Selling to stores: check with Arkansas Department of Health

    Garland County

    • Check with Garland County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen

    Want a storefront? → Step 3

  4. 3Commercial bakery

    Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.

    Arkansas

    • Commercial kitchen permit: check with Arkansas Department of Health

    Garland County

    • Check with Garland County zoning and building offices

    Renew permits every year

  5. Pets: do I need a door?

    Arkansas · Step 1

    Not verified yet

    Check with Arkansas Department of Health.

    Arkansas · Step 2 (home)

    Not verified yet

    Check with Arkansas Department of Health.

Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.