Cottage food law & license in Yolo County, CA
What's in the Yolo County permit report


Free page = the law. Permit Guide = the apply checklist and workspace.
Cottage Pro included: every other county guide and state report, plus the label packet, are the bonus — this county's packet is the reason to buy.
One payment. No subscription, nothing to cancel.
Reviewed · This page stays free · Cottage Pro unlocks the apply checklist
Can I sell this in Yolo County?
More Yolo County resources
What's new for California cottage bakers?
How do I start a cottage food business in Yolo County?
How to start in Yolo County
Permit, label, and local steps for selling under California cottage food rules in Yolo County. Not legal advice.
CDPH does not register CFOs
CDPH does not permit or register Cottage Food Operations. Class A registration and Class B permits go through the county Environmental Health agency. CDPH only maintains the approved cottage foods list. Class A is direct sales only (up to $75,000 gross a year). Class B is direct plus indirect (up to $150,000). 2026 CPI-adjusted gross annual sales limits (effective January 1, 2026): Class A $88,878, Class B $177,756. Statutory bases: $75,000 / $150,000, adjusted annually for inflation (Cal. Health & Safety Code §113758).
Confirm your menu under state law
California cottage food rules control what you may make at home (Only foods on the official state-approved foods list may be sold; this includes most non-perishable foods such as baked goods, jams and preserves, candies, chocolates, dried goods, and spices. Class A operations are limited to direct sales (including online and shipping within California); Class B operations may additionally sell through retail stores and restaurants.). Yolo County cannot expand a food the state bans.
Map channels and local sales rules
State sales cap: Tiered (see notes). On-site / porch pickup in Yolo County: Yes. Prefer markets or off-site pickup if residential customer traffic is restricted.
Local permits, tax, and home occupation
Home occupation permit: Conditional. Many places still need a general business license or tax certificate even when the state has no cottage food “permit.” Check planning, the clerk, and any HOA or lease before advertising your address.
Training, registration, inspection
State registration: Not with CDPH. County Environmental Health registers Class A (direct) and permits Class B (direct plus indirect).. Local inspection in Yolo County: Conditional. Finish food handler training early — markets often ask for a copy.
Labels that match the state
Print labels with California disclaimer and allergen rules before market day. Use the free California label page for the one-pager checklist and mockup.
Insurance and first sales
Farmers markets often require a certificate of insurance. Soft-launch with pre-orders, keep a sales log, and re-verify rules if you change products or venues.
What usually goes on the package
- Product name (common or usual name of the food)
- Business or producer name
- Producer address (or address alternative your state allows)
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major allergen disclosures (e.g. wheat, milk, eggs, soy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, sesame)
- Net weight or quantity
- Home-kitchen disclaimer: “Made in a Home Kitchen”
Planning checklist only. Confirm with state and local agencies before you sell.
Can I test myself on California county rules? (Crosodo Verified quiz)
California county rules quiz
Yolo County does not yet have enough verified local data for its own quiz. You can still take the California statewide quiz — clearly labeled as state rules, not a Yolo County quiz.
Crosodo Verified means this person passed Crosodo's county rules quiz. It is not a government license, permit, or food-handler certification.
Take the Crosodo Verified quizHow do I verify Yolo County cottage food rules with California agencies?
Yolo County is a county in California (pop. 217,141). Under California's Good-tier cottage food law (sales cap: Tiered (see notes)), home bakers must still clear local zoning and health rules in this county. Registration path: County EH — not CDPH. Start with California Department of Public Health (state cottage food page linked below), then confirm Yolo County health and planning requirements via the health department links on this page. Local notes for Yolo County: home kitchen allowed; inspection not required; home occupation permit not required. . Confirmed directly from yolocounty.gov official government source. Class A requires no inspection; Class B requires annual inspection. Food handler safety certificate required within 60 days of opening. Temporary Food Facility permit required for event/farmers market sales (separate from cottage food registration). Application fee amount not stated on page but contact EH at 530-666-8646 or [email protected]. Download the free reports below for a portable summary, and always re-check official sources before you sell.
What practical tips help me start selling in Yolo County?
Tier: Good
California has a Good-tier cottage food law — solid baseline with moderate restrictions, typically a high sales cap (often $50K+) and standard direct-to-consumer rules. Workable for most home bakers with reasonable scale plans.
California cottage food law →Health department
Many states delegate cottage food registration and inspection to the county health department. Contact theirs for the local process.
Home occupation rules
The county or city zoning code governs whether you can run a home-based food business — customer visits, signage, employees, floor area.
What are the Yolo County zoning rules for a home bakery?
Home kitchen, inspection, and zoning rules for Yolo County
State baseline: Cal. Health & Safety Code §113758
- Home kitchen allowed
- Yes
- Restrictions
- California two-tier system. Class A (direct sales only): requires registration with Yolo County Environmental Health, annual renewal, no routine inspection. Class B (direct + retail): requires permit from Yolo County Environmental Health, annual inspection. Both require: food handler safety certificate (within 60 days of opening), sample labels for each unique item, and application fee. Only state-approved low-risk non-TCS foods allowed. Sales cap: Class A ~$86,206/year; Class B ~$172,411/year (CPI-adjusted annually). State zoning preemption (GOV §51035) bars local restrictions on cottage food operations.
- Separate dedicated kitchen
- No
- Pet restrictions
- No explicit state-level pet restriction in California cottage food statute, though standard GMP practices apply.
- Water supply
- No specific private water testing requirement for California Class A cottage food operations. Class B permit requirements may include additional documentation.
- Handwashing
- Food handler safety certificate required (within 60 days of opening for business). Certificate demonstrates food safety training including hygiene.
- Food storage
- Only state-approved non-TCS foods allowed. Standard GMP safe storage practices. Products must be non-potentially hazardous.
- Inspection required
- Conditional
- Inspection trigger
- Class A: no routine inspection (registration only). Class B: annual inspection by Yolo County Environmental Health required. Both classes: inspection upon complaint.
- Home occupation permit
- Conditional
- Permit details
- California state law (GOV §51035) preempts local zoning restrictions on cottage food operations. Yolo County and municipalities (Woodland, Davis, West Sacramento) may still have general home occupation requirements for business registration. Contact Yolo County Planning or relevant city for home occupation details beyond the cottage food registration/permit.
- Local business license
- Varies
- On-site customer pickup
- Yes
- On-site signage
- Conditional
- Delivery / pickup
- Class A: direct sales from home (with appointment), at community events, farmers markets, and online with in-state delivery/shipping. Class B: same plus retail stores and restaurants within California. No out-of-state sales. Event sales (farmers market) may require a separate Temporary Food Facility permit.
- Max employees in home
- Only one non-family employee permitted under California cottage food law.
- Relevant code section
- Cal. Health & Safety Code §113758; Yolo County Environmental Health Division (cottage food registration); GOV §51035 (zoning preemption)
. Confirmed directly from yolocounty.gov official government source. Class A requires no inspection; Class B requires annual inspection. Food handler safety certificate required within 60 days of opening. Temporary Food Facility permit required for event/farmers market sales (separate from cottage food registration). Application fee amount not stated on page but contact EH at 530-666-8646 or [email protected].
What does the California cottage food statute say?
California Homemade Food Act (AB 1616, amended AB 1144/AB 831)
Full California License & Permit Guide →Verbatim excerpt(a) "Cottage food operation" means an enterprise that has no more than the amount in gross annual sales that is specified in this subdivision, is operated by a cottage food operator, and has no more than one full-time equivalent cottage food employee, not including a family member or household member of the cottage food operator, within the registered or permitted area of a private home where the cottage food operator resides and where cottage food products are prepared or packaged for direct, indirect, or direct and indirect sale to consumers pursuant to this part. A "Class A" cottage food operation shall not have more than seventy-five thousand dollars ($75,000) in verifiable gross annual sales. A "Class B" cottage food operation shall not have more than one hundred fifty thousand dollars ($150,000) in verifiable gross annual sales. The gross annual sales for a "Class A" or "Class B" cottage food operation shall be annually adjusted for inflation based on the California Consumer Price Index. (1) A "Class A" cottage food operation, which is a cottage food operation that may engage only in direct sales of cottage food products from the cottage food operation or other direct sales venues. (2) A "Class B" cottage food operation, which is a cottage food operation that may engage in both direct sales and indirect sales of cottage food products from the cottage food operation, from direct sales venues, from offsite events, or from a third-party retail food facility. (3) "Cottage food products" means nonpotentially hazardous foods, including foods that are described in Section 114365.5 and that are prepared for sale in the kitchen of a cottage food operation. (4) "Direct sale" means a transaction within the state between a cottage food operation and a consumer, in which the consumer purchases the cottage food product directly from the cottage food operation. Direct sales include, but are not limited to, transactions at holiday bazaars or other temporary events, such as bake sales or food swaps, transactions at farm stands, certified farmers' markets, or through community-supported agriculture subscriptions.
Source: leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=HSC§ionNum=113758 →
Cottage Pro — $15 one time
This page stays free. Yolo County’s apply checklist, every county guide, and the Verified badge are in Cottage Pro.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeYolo County cottage food — FAQ
Do I need a permit to sell cottage food in Yolo County, California?
County Environmental Health registers Class A / permits Class B — not CDPH. Local home-occupation permit: Conditional. Home kitchen: Yes. Confirm with Yolo County EHS before you sell.
Class A vs Class B cottage food in Yolo County?
Class B permit holders may sell indirectly through retail stores and restaurants statewide; Class A registrants are limited to direct sales only and may not sell through any retail or wholesale venue.
What is the cottage food permit fee in Yolo County?
Crosodo has not verified a published cottage-food fee for Yolo County. Ask Yolo County EHS for the current Class A / Class B charge.
What is the sales cap for cottage food in California?
Caps 2026: Class A $88,878 / Class B $177,756. There is typically no separate county sales cap, but local permits can still limit operations.
Where do I apply for a cottage food permit in Yolo County?
Apply via Yolo County EHS (yolocounty.gov). Official link: https://www.yolocounty.gov/government/general-government-departments/community-services/environmental-health-division. Crosodo is the checklist beside that filing site.
What foods can I sell under California cottage food law in Yolo County?
Only foods on the official state-approved foods list may be sold; this includes most non-perishable foods such as baked goods, jams and preserves, candies, chocolates, dried goods, and spices. Class A operations are limited to direct sales (including online and shipping within California); Class B operations may additionally sell through retail stores and restaurants. County zoning does not expand the state product list — if a food is banned by California, it stays banned. Verify with the state agency before selling.
Is a health inspection required for home bakers in Yolo County?
Inspection: Conditional. Trigger: Class A: no routine inspection (registration only). Class B: annual inspection by Yolo County Environmental Health required. Both classes: inspection upon complaint.. Non-TCS baked goods are often exempt from kitchen inspection under state cottage food law, but local rules can differ.
Cottage Pro · $15 one time
Every California report, every county Permit Guide, the label packet, and the dashboard — one subscription.
Buy the Report — $15 one timeYolo County cottage food reports
Home cottage-food permit stack — zoning, health, license, and what the state does not require.
Zoning, permits, health department rules, and local sources for Yolo County.
Download county reportFull California License & Permit Guide (189 pages). Statute and every county. Buy it further down only if you sell outside Yolo County.
California law pageFree email alerts
Yolo County Cottage Food Updates
Local rule changes and news for home bakers in Yolo County, with California statewide updates below the county news in every email. Every story links to its source.
What sources is this Yolo County page based on?
Where to verify Yolo County rules
Yolo County vs. bordering counties
| Regulation | Yolo County This county | Napa County | Sutter County |
|---|---|---|---|
| Home kitchen allowed | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Separate dedicated kitchen | No | No | No |
| Pets allowed | No explicit state-level pet restriction in California cottage food statute, though standard GMP practices apply. | Not explicitly prohibited in state statute; local health department may have requirements during inspection. | No specific state prohibition for cottage food, but good manufacturing practices recommend keeping pets out of food preparation areas. |
| Inspection required | Conditional | Yes | Yes |
| On-site customer pickup | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| On-site signage | Conditional | Conditional | Conditional |
| Delivery / pickup | Class A: direct sales from home (with appointment), at community events, farmers markets, and online with in-state delivery/shipping. Class… | Class A: direct sales only (home, farmers markets, events, online within CA). Class B: also permits retail stores and restaurants. All sale… | Class A: direct sales only (home, farmers markets, events, online within California, in-state delivery). Class B: also allows retail stores… |
| Home occupation permit | Conditional | Yes | No |
| Local business license | Varies | Yes | Varies |
| Restrictions | California two-tier system. Class A (direct sales only): requires registration with Yolo County Environmental Health, annual renewal, no ro… | Class A (direct sales only, annual cap ~$86,206 CPI-adjusted): no home kitchen inspection required. Class B (direct and indirect sales, ann… | California two-tier cottage food system: Class A (direct sales only, up to ~$86,206/year as of 2025) and Class B (direct and indirect sales… |
| Food storage | Only state-approved non-TCS foods allowed. Standard GMP safe storage practices. Products must be non-potentially hazardous. | Only approved state CFO food list items allowed. Non-potentially hazardous, no refrigeration required for finished products. Stored in food… | Only non-potentially hazardous shelf-stable approved foods; must prevent contamination and labeling must be accurate. |
| Population | 217,141 | 137,384 | 99,101 |
What other California counties can I compare?
Other California counties
Can I list my bakes in the Crosodo classifieds?
Resources for cottage food and home bakers
Supplies, courses, insurance, farmers markets, kitchen rentals, and local services. To advertise here, visit crosodo.com/advertise. Browse all classifieds.
Ads are paid placements. Crosodo does not endorse listed vendors. Verify all product, service, course, insurance, and legal information independently.
Is this Yolo County page legal advice?
Cottage food law and municipal zoning interact in non-obvious ways. Before investing in equipment or marketing, talk to California's department of agriculture, your local health department, and your county or city's planning office. Crosodo is a clothing brand for cottage bakers, not a law firm.
Where can I talk with other Yolo County bakers?
Yolo County baker discussion
53 public threads from bakers talking about Yolo County — permits, zoning, markets, and what's selling. Read along or sign in to post.
Local bakers discuss zoning, permits, top sellers, sourdough, farmers markets, and more in the Crosodo forum.
Can I sell cottage food from home in Yolo County? (short answer)
What are the steps to my first legal sale in Yolo County?
Steps to your first legal sale
- Which permit you need — local names like HBB, MHO, CFO Class A
- Zoning / home occupation: where you file
- Local health Class A/B path when the county runs itIn Cottage Pro
- Fee schedule — published amount only, blank if noneIn Cottage Pro
- House pickup vs off-site — what zoning already saysIn Cottage Pro
Steps 1–2 are free on this page. Cottage Pro is the full apply checklist, every county report, and the dashboard workspace.
What should I know about Yolo County at a glance?
File with Yolo County — Crosodo is the checklist beside this site.
Apply via Yolo County EHS(yolocounty.gov)How does the Crosodo ladder work in Yolo County? State vs county rules and pets
Crosodo ladder · not a license · How the ladder works
- 0Bake for friends
Give it away: gifts, potlucks, the office tray.
California
Yolo County
- Nothing to file
$0
Taking money? → Step 1
- 1Sell from home
Sell shelf-stable bakes straight to the person who eats them.
California
Yolo County
- Check with Yolo County business license office
- Check with Yolo County zoning office about home pickup
Want store shelves? → Step 2
- 2Sell to stores
Sell to shops, cafés and resellers from an inspected kitchen.
California
- Selling to stores: check with California Department of Public Health
Yolo County
- Check with Yolo County zoning office about an inspected home kitchen
Want a storefront? → Step 3
- 3Commercial bakery
Bake in a commercial kitchen. Sell from your own shop.
California
- Commercial kitchen permit: check with California Department of Public Health
Yolo County
- Check with Yolo County zoning and building offices
Renew permits every year
- Pets: do I need a door?
California · Step 1
Not verified yet
Check with California Department of Public Health.
California · Step 2 (home)
Not verified yet
Check with California Department of Public Health.
Save your county and take the 2-minute Crosodo Verified quiz. Crosodo is a research guide, not a government agency. Not legal advice.